We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mangrove Oriental Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hippocampus Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Slam's Garden Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tepanee Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Evolution Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$ 41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Thresher Cove Dive Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 56
US$ 46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Malapascua Budget Inn(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vida Resort & Spa(Malapascua Island)
US$ 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
12
10
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
10
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachother guestsmangrovesresortmalapascuaphilippines
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived and noticed immediately that the room we had booked was completely different from the one on the website. This room was horrible in a pale greenish color and glasswindows of red that looked like blood.
The bathroom was heavily infested with mold and smelled like something died in there.
The air condition was so loud that we could barely sleep and it sounded like a jet engine.
The beach was only nice a few hours per day as most of the time the ocean had sucked the tide back and what was left was a very unromantic view of sea weed and rocks 150 meters.
The place is far away from the restaurants, diving or action and one has to walk for 20 minutes to get to the other side, across the poor district.
We found cheaper and way better hotels along bounty beach and will never come back to this place.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Emelie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed at a beach cottage that was beautifully decorated. Old wooden furniture and colored umbrellas on the roof part made it beautiful. There is no WIFI connection in the room, but at the lobby/restaurant it is ok and there's a breeze as well. No outdoor fans at the rooms so it can be quite hot to sit outside in front of the room/cottage. The service was good and the food was ok. The resort is located at the outer part of the busy area. It is built on a hill which gives great views from the lobby/restaurant and some hiking exercise.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CrazyDutchAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Great place to stay. Their rooms are modest but clean. Cool quiet air conditioning. The breakfast is regular Filipino fare. Its advisable to order the night before so you have breakfast on time if you're going on an early morning dive. Dinner is cozy. Even if the dining area is not air conditioned, its cool and windy because the resto is on the highest part of the property, where it catches the breeze.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Mangrove resort is located in a wonderful position, between 2 beaches that are really nicest.
The main building is still showing the disaster caused by the Typhoon that struck the island 2 years ago. People managing the place are kind, and I could see they are making their best effort to keep the place clean, even if the 2 beaches are still showing some rubbiish around. The cottages where we stay were too humid, may be we were there under an heavy rain, but inside the cottage it was really not nice beacuse the humidity. Another bad point of the resort is that is a little bit too far from the restaurants of Bounty Beach, and as you go back in the night you just walk in complete darkness among the houses of the native people, too easy to lose your way.

Room Tip: Better to avoid the cottage and stay in the room that look not so humid.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank enzo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Since New Years is the very peak of the high season , we could only find vacancy here. We booked the beach front rooms.

Once we arrived , we got absolutely no Information about the hotel or the island , they just sent us to our room. The Room were very very small, not properly cleaned and had the smallest double bed I've ever seen , and you got a very small quilt to share. No cleaning of the rooms was done during our two night stay.

The beach by the resort was cramped with rocks and see weed . It could actually had been a nice beach , but nothing was done to make this happen.

Definitely not worth the 80 euro per night .

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews