We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mangrove Oriental Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived and noticed immediately that the room we had booked was completely different from the one on the website. This room was horrible in a pale greenish color and glasswindows of red that looked like blood.
The bathroom was heavily infested with mold and smelled like something died in there.
The air condition was so loud that we could barely sleep and it sounded like a jet engine.
The beach was only nice a few hours per day as most of the time the ocean had sucked the tide back and what was left was a very unromantic view of sea weed and rocks 150 meters.
The place is far away from the restaurants, diving or action and one has to walk for 20 minutes to get to the other side, across the poor district.
We found cheaper and way better hotels along bounty beach and will never come back to this place.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Emelie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed at a beach cottage that was beautifully decorated. Old wooden furniture and colored umbrellas on the roof part made it beautiful. There is no WIFI connection in the room, but at the lobby/restaurant it is ok and there's a breeze as well. No outdoor fans at the rooms so it can be quite hot to sit outside in front of the room/cottage. The service was good and the food was ok. The resort is located at the outer part of the busy area. It is built on a hill which gives great views from the lobby/restaurant and some hiking exercise.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CrazyDutchAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Great place to stay. Their rooms are modest but clean. Cool quiet air conditioning. The breakfast is regular Filipino fare. Its advisable to order the night before so you have breakfast on time if you're going on an early morning dive. Dinner is cozy. Even if the dining area is not air conditioned, its cool and windy because the resto is on the highest part of the property, where it catches the breeze.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Mangrove resort is located in a wonderful position, between 2 beaches that are really nicest.
The main building is still showing the disaster caused by the Typhoon that struck the island 2 years ago. People managing the place are kind, and I could see they are making their best effort to keep the place clean, even if the 2 beaches are still showing some rubbiish around. The cottages where we stay were too humid, may be we were there under an heavy rain, but inside the cottage it was really not nice beacuse the humidity. Another bad point of the resort is that is a little bit too far from the restaurants of Bounty Beach, and as you go back in the night you just walk in complete darkness among the houses of the native people, too easy to lose your way.

Room Tip: Better to avoid the cottage and stay in the room that look not so humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank enzo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Since New Years is the very peak of the high season , we could only find vacancy here. We booked the beach front rooms.

Once we arrived , we got absolutely no Information about the hotel or the island , they just sent us to our room. The Room were very very small, not properly cleaned and had the smallest double bed I've ever seen , and you got a very small quilt to share. No cleaning of the rooms was done during our two night stay.

The beach by the resort was cramped with rocks and see weed . It could actually had been a nice beach , but nothing was done to make this happen.

Definitely not worth the 80 euro per night .

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.7 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
575 reviews
0.5 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
260 reviews
0.8 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
429 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Celtis Resort
Hotel Celtis Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
39 reviews
0.8 km away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Oriental Resort

Address: Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: ₹ 1,913 - ₹ 4,719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Oriental Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mangrove Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Oriental Hotel Malapascua Island
Mangrove Oriental Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing