We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent resort in Malapascua, nicely located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangrove Oriental Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Mangrove resort is located in a wonderful position, between 2 beaches that are really nicest.
The main building is still showing the disaster caused by the Typhoon that struck the island 2 years ago. People managing the place are kind, and I could see they are making their best effort to keep the place clean, even if the 2 beaches are still showing some rubbiish around. The cottages where we stay were too humid, may be we were there under an heavy rain, but inside the cottage it was really not nice beacuse the humidity. Another bad point of the resort is that is a little bit too far from the restaurants of Bounty Beach, and as you go back in the night you just walk in complete darkness among the houses of the native people, too easy to lose your way.

Room Tip: Better to avoid the cottage and stay in the room that look not so humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank enzo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Since New Years is the very peak of the high season , we could only find vacancy here. We booked the beach front rooms.

Once we arrived , we got absolutely no Information about the hotel or the island , they just sent us to our room. The Room were very very small, not properly cleaned and had the smallest double bed I've ever seen , and you got a very small quilt to share. No cleaning of the rooms was done during our two night stay.

The beach by the resort was cramped with rocks and see weed . It could actually had been a nice beach , but nothing was done to make this happen.

Definitely not worth the 80 euro per night .

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

Been with my gf 11 days there in a room in the Annex . Smell inside mould. Only fun and cold water for 1.400 pes /night. The staff give best. The manager is a gardener and repair the nice garden after the typhoon from 6. Dec. 2014. The partner, lady Windy is not a helper and the guest are like disturb the calm in this resort. In our 11 days only 2 guests coming for one night. If the owner, a English man not realized that he needs a hotel manager, that guests can come and feel well, I recommend to all, stay away from this resort. You only lost money for nothing and have to look to find food in the village ca. 10 min walk from resort.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

I booked via travelbook and fully paid the room rate. However, when I reached the resort around 5pm, no one there, neither the staff nor the guests. I waited there over 1 hour and tried everything to figure out how can I got in touch with the resort manager, but failed. Finally, I have to leave in the dark and find somewhere else to stay for the night. Now no one refund my money back!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yysyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Clean room, good size, there's a small safety box. Clean sheets and towels. No TV or WiFi. They will provide a pickup from Cebu airport to the island like all the resorts around.
I was the only guest due to the typhoon i guess or the other were smarter then me. the resort is not really damaged like some other in the island.there's no fridge in the rooms so you have to claim the stairs up to the restaurant to get anything to drink and it's warm because the owner is sooo cheap to buy his own generator as the electricity work only from 6pm to 7am so good luck napping in the afternoon. Note for divers there's no dive shop at the resort so you have to drag your gears for about 8min walk. Once you done diving you will be back to sleep only as there's no TV in the rooms or wifi and there was only one staff member in every shift which is useless because there's nothing they can do for you. The owner should be honest and not accepting any booking since he's not ready instead of charging P4200 for a room and breakfast oh and there's no refund so defo not gonna stay there again and I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends or any diver. But the dive experience is worth visiting the island.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank ramsey_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.7 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
575 reviews
0.5 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
259 reviews
0.8 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
127 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Celtis Resort
Hotel Celtis Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
38 reviews
0.7 km away
Cocobana Beach Resort
Cocobana Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Malapascua Island
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Oriental Resort

Address: Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: ₹ 1,914 - ₹ 4,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Oriental Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mangrove Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Oriental Hotel Malapascua Island
Mangrove Oriental Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing