We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Open-plan living area with woodburning stove Open-plan living area with dining table (seats 6)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Open-plan living area with woodburning stove
Open-plan living area with dining table (seats 6)
Master bedroom ensuite
Open-plan living area with kitchen in background
Twin room
Cottage with sunroom and large gravel outdoor area
Single room
Culdaff Bay
View from around cottage down to Culdaff Bay
Sea view within walking distance of the cottage
View of cliffs a short walk from the cottage
View of nearby headland
Sunrise from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Culdaff, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leah K
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Three of us travelled from Co Down for a relaxing girls weekend; we were looking to spend some time on the beach, barbecue, read and chill out- and we got exactly that! We arrived to a fire lit, fresh eggs and cookies on the table, as well as two lovely dogs sitting outside to greet us! The beach is beautiful and you could easily spend all day there if you get the weather, we would also recommend McGrory's pub where we had Sunday lunch. There isn't a huge amount to do in the surrounding area but we had a great time and would definitely recommend the cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIgirl01
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Booked this cottage for a girly getaway..and it was absolutely perfect. The owner, Alan, was very friendly and the fresh eggs and home baked cookies were a lovely touch. Plenty of room in the cottage and plenty of space outside for parking and enjoying the sun. Cottage was equipped with everything you could possible need. Already missing the dogs Mia an cindy :( 2 of the most beautiful and well behave dogs I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. The location is perfect for exploring the inishowen peninsula but a car is essential. Culdaff itself is a cracking wee village..some great bars (mcgrorys and mcguinesses) the food in mcgrorys was top noch. The beach in culdaff is one of the nicest beaches I've ever seen. We will definitely be back..infact we think we will make an annual thing of it. Thanks Alan, Mia and Cindy for making out break away so good :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FifeHelen
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect quiet cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just back from this beautiful cottage. The place is perfect if you like peace and quiet.
Alan & Jennifer are perfect hosts. We were met by Alan who talked us through what we needed to know about the place. You are on their farm but far enough away that you wouldn't think it.
The views are spectacular. You need a car as you have to explore the beautiful surrounding area.
We were visiting relatives in Effishmore and Carndonagh which was a 15 minute drive.
We ate most nights at Simpsons bar in Carndonagh where the food is superb and reasonably priced.
A local taxi driver took us there for a good price and returned when he asked to take us back to the cottage.
We also visited Moville & Culdaff beach where we had agreat time.
Thanks again Alan & Jennifer for a wonderful stay.We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish_Ang...
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Didn't Want To Leave!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I am just back from a brilliant 3 days at the cottage. We were met by Alan and 2 very friendly dogs. We were shown around and had been left fresh eggs & homemade cookies. The cottage is very well laid out, with 3 bedrooms. The fire was going for us and we had been left a basket of logs to burn that night. There is a small games room facing cottage with table-tennis, pool table and a punch bag.

The views from the cottage are spectacular!! It is quite isolated from the village so a car is definitely needed. In the village there is a small garage that does whatever you need, a chippy, and a few pubs not far away.

We will 100% be back!! Thank you Alan & Jenifer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueCanoe...
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning views from a cozy cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

What an amazing find! We spent 6 comfortable nights here in October and never got tired of the stunning view!

Davenport's Cottage is really the best of both worlds -- we felt like we were at the edge of Ireland but within a 10 minute drive we could be sitting in McCroy's Pub in Culdaff, having a pint and listening to a music session. Hard to beat!

Jennifer handled our booking and was always quick to respond to any questions. Alan met us upon our arrival and showed us around the cottage. The dining table had fresh cookies, and the fridge was stocked with eggs from their farm. They were always available to answer any questions we had and Alan even brought us some "2014 turf" from a friend later in our stay and we managed to get an authentic Irish turf fire going in the stove.

The cottage is 200 years old, but has been renovated and decorated very tastefully. The kitchen was well stocked and the bed was comfortable. The newly installed clothes dryer in the shed was a welcome sight since the weather didn't cooperate for drying clothes outside and being mid-way during our trip, laundry was a must.

There is wifi in the cottage, but at times it was weak but it was never a major problem. We found if we connected in the sun room or down the hallway facing the Norris's house that would do the trick.

It was fascinating to us that the cottage sits on a working farm and yet we were basically unaware of this during our stay. The only "noise" was the comforting sounds of chickens from time to time. And one day, we did have the excitement of watching some escaped sheep nibbling at the apple trees off the back patio.

This location is definitely remote and might not appeal to everyone, but it was a PERFECT place for us to unwind during a rainy, chilly October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view.
Liked least: Metered heating -- making sure we had enough euro coins.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing