We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but..,”
Review of Chac Mool Cafe

Chac Mool Cafe
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Chacala
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Mexican, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chac mool its a beach club restaurant on the hart of Chacala Nayarit, Mexico we are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. come and enjoy a truly traditional mexican gourmet food from this pacific ocean with our particular twist.
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Chat Mool is reliable in that the food will be good, it's usually open and the service will be poor. Decent margaritas and one of the few restaurants in Chacala with a wine list makes the near intolerable wait worth it. Went there several times during our 10'day visit and only walked out once (lol). If you are in Chacala, you will go to this place at least once and, if prepared for the wait, you won't be disappointed.

Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

By far the best pizza that I have found so far in Mexico. The atmosphere at this location is very relaxed, how could it not be since it sits on the beach overlooking the bay and on out into the Pacific. The service is top notch and most employees speak English, limited in some cases but you are in Mexico so please try to speak Spanish as a courtesy. Their breakfast is fantastic as is their coffee. Glad I found this restaurant, I will happily return.

Thank JHolzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Gerente at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you it is a pleasure to have you in our place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We didn’t eat there because whenever we were nearby it seemed the kitchen was closed. We did take advantage of the bar on a couple occasions and for that reason alone they get a 4 star review from me. The cocktails were meticulously crafted and very very generous with the pour. Freshest most delicious strawberry margarita I’ve ever had, even the husband enjoyed the one sip I shared with him.

Thank Vanisland_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for sharing we appreciate the good moments and experience.

Hope to see you shortly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We had dinner/lunch at Chac Mool several times over the course of 2 weeks. Every time the service was slow (30 minutes to even get a menu). Food was ok, but nothing special. It is also much more expensive than other restaurants in town. The Christmas dinner was incredibly expensive, for what we received.

The last night we were there, there were at least 4 waiters working, but the service was the worst we had received. We won't be return :(

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Sorry to hear that, we will fix it ASAP.

Hope next time, make you change your mind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We tried to eat there at 6:30 on a Saturday nite. There were 4 other tables seated. After we sat down- it took 20 minutes to get menus- one waiter was sweeping the floor- 3 others ignored us completely. The waiter sweeping the floor finally came over - but told us to give him our drink order now as he had “other things to do”- we declined as we were not quite ready- no one ever came back- after another 20 minutes we left
-had a lovely meal at las brisas with good service
Our friends who stayed said it took an hour to get their food.

Thank GailM2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chacalacafe, Manager at Chac Mool Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

thank you for your comments this will help us to make it better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chac Mool Cafe also viewed

Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Chac Mool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing