We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gasthof Zuwalder-Stuble(Oberharmersbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Freihof(Oberharmersbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
Gasthaus Zur Linde(Oberharmersbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
Pension Kempfenhof(Oberharmersbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
Haus Rose(Oberharmersbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
36
47
34
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
47
34
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tourchurch bellssatellite tvannexshearingscheese
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Stayed here whist on a Christmas Market tour with Shearings. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were friendly and pleasant. The rooms were cosy and the beds comfortable. Our room was overlooking the local church and the bells rang loudly during the day but not all night.
As usual when abroad the food was aimed at German customers which caused a few of our fellow travellers to have a whinge.( My answer to that is always "if you want British food then stay at home"). We always like to sample the local cuisine and felt that the food here was OK. It was St Nicholas day whilst we were there and on that morning every guest received a chocolate Father Christmas and in the evening a small Bear (Baeren means bear in German). We found the restaurant staff were friendly but service was a bit slow at times probably due to the large amount of guests. the lady in the bar was very friendly and service was speedy.
There was entertainment most evening, the best being an Oompah band who were very enthusiastic and funny. All the songs were in German but the leader of the band apologised for his poor English and did hid best to tell us Brits what each song was about.
The hotel is situate in a small village which is picturesque and the locals friendly and was decorated for Christmas which added to its charm. The local bakery also served some very tasty calkes.
Last but by no means least is a big thank you to our drivers, Ian and Julie, who did their best to ensure a good time was had by all.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Our experience was very upsetting we were ignored by waitresses who when they did arrive claimed they did not understand our language refusing to serve us a jug of water despite being asked 3 times we eventually asked the courier to order it for us but they still refused saying if we wanted water then we pay despite serving jugs at other tables saying that we had to buy wine to get a jug of water even though we had already done so!!! This continued throughout the stay service was poor we shall certainly not be going back

Room Tip: Rooms adequate some noisier than others guest were moved to other accommodation away from main hotel not good
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesleypshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Our group have stayed here on 3 occasions and have always had excellent service, lovely food, traditional entertainment and great value for money.
The setting is perfect, beautiful and well placed for lots of Christmas Markets.
The staff were very helpful beforehand, recommending excursions, booking things for me and generally just being nice people!
The village is pretty, and the small Christmas market is wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LenSylviaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Good welcome but twin room had both beds together, could not pull them apart. On complaining someone came and made up the bed setter as second bed. Room was the most dismal I have stayed in. Very dark, had to use a torch to see into the wardrobe. Bathroom small and dismal, all brown tiles and old fashioned. It would help if they used decent light bulbs rather than the energy ones. Even those don't brighten when left on. Food good and plenty of it served by helpful staff.
A major problem is the smoke. Reception and the Bar out of the question for non smokers also for anyone in a room above the front or rear doors.
Another major problem is that there is nowhere to sit. As our room was so dire we wanted somewhere to sit and read our books, and hopefully have a drink. This was not possible as the reception area (which only had four seats) was out of the question due to people playing cards and or smokers.
All in all a disappointing visit.

Stayed: December 2015
3  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Good value for the price we paid. Our first continental coach trip and I have to say it will be our last. Far to much travelling and very little sightseeing. The Hotel was clean and the room we had was a good size, with a lovely balcony. Good shower and the water was hot. Bed Linen and towels were changed regularly. Food was plain but plentiful. Breakfast was rather a struggle but hey its continental. The Hotel Bar was unusable for us as non-smokers, it was horrible with thick smoke. We found another Bar to use and enjoyed this venue very much. The staff were very overworked during the Christmas period due to the amount of guests.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews