We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
46
3
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
3
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents owners and staff nature reserve horse riding pony jacuzzi zebra safari game bush drive activities accommodation kids braai chalet
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed in one of the luxury tents on top of the mountain. This one of the few stays that we have had where the luxury tent really was luxury. The tent consisted of an undercover patio area, a large double bed, shower and ablutions and a small fridge. There was also complimentary water, coca-cola and tea and coffee facilities. The view was of the bush and the only sound we could hear was the twittering of birds.

We found the hosts incredibly welcoming, nothing was a bother. Breakfast was delightful and cooked on top of the mountain in the little restaurant close to the tents. The first night we had dinner at the bottom of the mountain. We were transported down to the restaurant and up afterwards. Food was excellent.

The second night a braai was provided at the top of the mountain in the boma which is great for conversation with the other guests.

The pool is lovely, we did swim although it was a bit chilly. There is also a spa, fitness room and a jacuzzi.

The only activities that we tried was hiking (only saw two zebra) and horse riding which was great and saw lots of game activity.

We had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay and would recommend Thaba Pitsi to those who want a peaceful and relaxing time away from the rat race.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Dinner & breakfast were delicious. The staff very friendly and payed a close attention to us
A lot of animals to watch during game drives or alone for a walk.
A lot of activities proposed to enjoy the stay.
Accommodations need refurbishment but tents were awesome !
Peaceful place to take a break !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank zoupyzoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Spent a night at Thaba Pitsi last weekend. Small nature reserve with lots of non predators ( no big cats) accommodation was good, but the tented lodge at the top of the reserve is where I'd book next time. Looks great. By far the best experiences were both the great attention and service from owners and staff (the nature reserve has recently been taken over by the neighboring game farmer) as well as the great dinner at the restaurant, cooked in parts by all of the above. Set meal, but the steak and sauce was as good, if not better than most I've had in Johannesburg. Great place to go to relax and chill.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HomerSimpson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

It was our first time at Thaba Pitsi and what an amazing stay it was... I took my little boy Owen with me to explore nature in all it's beauty and it was truly a blessing to behold. The staff of Thaba was very friendly and accommodating, warm smiles all the way and truly went out of their way to make me and Owen feel welcome.It is not often one has the honor to meet kind hearted people. Thank you Matilda for teaching Owen how to ride horse, Nathalie, Julie and Martin thank you for all your help, friendliness and hospitality. I hope to return soon for a longer stay. God bless xoxo

Room Tip: I thoroughly enjoyed staying in the Rondavel close to the Restaurant and next to the horses.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ShereenJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Our rooms were luxury tents up high, Road up steep. Adds a bit of adventure.
Meals superb. Not a lot of variety but so delicious.Owners and staff could not have looked after us better. Darling good-natured little horse, just right for the youngest of riders.
A delightful experience.

Room Tip: No wifi in the tents. Wifi in restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roselwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews