We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
46
3
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
3
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents owners and staff nature reserve horse riding pony jacuzzi zebra safari game bush drive activities accommodation kids braai chalet
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We stayed here two nights in one of the safari tents. A great experience. The safari tents and bungalows are situated on a mountain and can be reached via a 4.5 km gravelroad. A 4x4 vehicle is useful, otherwise they bring you up the mountain to your accommodation. Breakfast is served at the Zebra café that is within walking distance of your tent. Dinner is served in the restaurant down the mountain, so you need to take that into account. The food is great and very tasteful. Nathalie is a very good cook. Cute pets that accompany you on your walks. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matmax32, Responsable relations publiques at Thaba Pitsi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear Annelies,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your husband as our guest. Indeed Patate is our best tour guide at Thaba Pitsi ;)
We hope to see you soon at Thaba Pitsi Nature Reserve.
Kind Regards,

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Ndabele chalet.

Beautiful location, friendly and charming owners / staff.

However we experienced the following issues:

- facilities are out dated and in desperate need of maintenance
- room decor is tired and doesn't come close to meeting its 4 star rating, for eg old bed linen, squeaky bed, noisy toilet / geyser throughout the night and no toilet door
- bathroom lights didn't work
- charming outdoor shower but no water in the morning ( staff were quick to fix this )
- game vehicle was broken so we had to stand at the back of a 4x4 with other people (7 people in the back, not very safe)
- dinner was limited to one option which although delicious was not up to 4 star standards

With a couple of adjustments and more reasonable pricing this would make for a great value 3 star experience. However priced at R2800 for the night (2 ppl, breakfast, dinner and game drive included), this experience fell short.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matmax32, Responsable relations clients at Thaba Pitsi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Good day,
Thank you for the feedback, we are taking your comments seriously and we understand your frustrations. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment at your recent stay at Thaba Pitsi.
We take the full responsibility for the showers, the noise, geysers, etc... The game vehicle broke down just before the game drive, we couldn't expect this mishap...
In your confirmation, we specified the set menu for dinner.
We are not graded as a four star Lodge but as a Eco Lodge, we are not member of TGCSA anymore since 2014 as we disagree with new standards (TV, etc..).
We will make sure that all the issues that you have mentioned will not happen again.
It is always our highest priority to us to ensure that our guests leave Thaba Pitsi satisfied at all times.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We stayed at the Eco Lodge with my family for a weekend break. The hosts graciously allowed us to book out the entire lodge for the family. We had a delicious meal at the restaurant on the Friday night and then we had our own braai on the Saturday night.

The venue is great and has a real African feel. We stayed in chalets and tent which are very comfortable. The pool area was a welcome relief from the heat.

To note: the country lodge is at the entrance to the property which is more "farm style" than African bush. The Eco-lodge is 3km away on the other side of the farm property - in the bush and on the ridge. You need a high ground clearance to drive to the eco lodge or Martin will take you in the game viewing truck.

We went for a view walks and saw giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, impala and eland. There are no large (dangerous) animals on the property.

For a relaxing family weekend, we really enjoyed it and the property is not too far out of Bela Bela.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank juzreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matmax32, Responsable réception at Thaba Pitsi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Hi there, I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our Lodge with your family. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon at Thaba Pitsi Nature Reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

It is a lovely get away which is very close to joburg and Pretoria. You can walk around freely in the reserve which is a big plus if you are coming from Joburg or Pretoria and deprived of walking around freely.

We ended up there on a quiet weekend which added to the charm of the place. Had a pool to ourselves on the top of the hill with fantastic views. The outdoor showers inside the rooms is also something I enjoyed a lot during the heat of the day.

The hosts are absolutely wonderful and add to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WB-Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matmax32, Responsable relations publiques at Thaba Pitsi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Hello there, thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you have appreciated the accommodation and the facilities. We hope to see you again soon at Thaba Pitsi Nature Reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

What a wonderful experience at the Thaba Pitsi Nature Reserve. It was our first holidays in South Africa, and thanks to this hotel, for sure we will come back. The tents completely exceeded our expectations. The horse riding excursion was outstanding: We have been able to get very close from animals, this was a magical moment. The meals at the restaurant of the hotel were extremely fine and delicious. The Thaba Pitisi Nature Reserve is an idillic place.
Thank's to the Thaba Pitsi team for this incredible stay.
See you very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank guillaumeb241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matmax32, Responsable réception at Thaba Pitsi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Dear Guillaume, I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our Lodge. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon at Thaba Pitsi Nature Reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews