We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location away from madness of Surfers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location away from madness of Surfers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family have just got back from spending 7 days at the Grand Apartments. Overall we enjoyed it there. The location is great, just across the road from a manmade lagoon which the kids enjoyed daily. Being in Labrador means it is a lot less hectic than Surfers, but only a short drive from there.

Very close to the theme parks if that is your thing.

Started off on the third floor, just above the bar. A bit noisy there so we got a transfer to level 12. Much better for sound though not as nice an apartment. However it was spotless and comfortable for our stay. Overall we thought the level of cleanliness was good throughout the complex.

There is a bit of a design flaw with the rooms in that the second bedroom does not have a full wall but has louvered shutters that stop short of the ceiling leaving a gap at the top. This means that lounge light and sound go straight into the second bedroom which can disturb those sleeping there.

Staff on reception were very nice and helpful, very welcoming.

Yes there were loud (mainly drunk) people in the carpark across the road at night but as this has nothing to do with the apartments (Its a public carpark for the boatramp and local fish shop) there is nothing that can be done about that.

I'd stay here again, for the location more than anything. Make sure you go for a room on a higher floor with an ocean view.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    19
    8
    15
See reviews for
74
25
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and we were impressed back then as it was fairly new. Went back last week and were pleasantly surprised. Beautifully looked after, reception staff very friendly and heard no noise that others have previously mentioned as we were on the 12 th floor. Magnifcent location with everything on the doorstep. Highly recommend ..

Room Tip: Book on one of the higher floors as noise could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have 2 young children 10 and 9 years old. We were there for new years so I did not want to be right in Surfers Paradise. We had a 2nd floor apartment above the nightclub and pub. After reading the reviews I was really worried I had booked something that was going to be trouble. This was not the case at all. It is a beautifull place with very kid friendly surroundings and only a short drive to broadbeach for a surf. The noise was not an issue and we were facing the road looking over to the beach. Not much a view from the 2nd level but we had a huge balcony wich we loved. Very spaceous unit that was modern and clean. We loved it and will go there again.

Room Tip: The ocean views are spectacular. From level 3 facing the ocean is a good view and only gets better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Travelled here with a business colleague to meet some clients. We arrived after a flight from New Zealand at around 6.30pm and had not been previously advised that there was no reception after 5pm so it took us a while to locate the correct entrance.

We got to our room very tired and extremley hot only to find that the airconditioning was not working. It took three phone calls to the answering service before the manager actually arrived to sort the problem which was very frustrating. (It ended up just needing new batteries for the remote and she was helpful when she eventually turned up).

We had rung prior to our arrival to clarify where our clients could wait for us but were not told that the actual reception is on the second floor and you need a swipe key to get in from the gound floor. The staff on reception were helpful during the day.

The 9th floor apartment was adequately furnished and as a light sleeper I found it reasonably quiet. The carpet was badly stained in places and the shower tiles looked as though they could do with a good scrub but otherwise the cleanliness was OK.

There is a lovely choice of restaurants less than five minutes walk (turn to the right of the property). We tried the Lazy Lobster and the new Italian restaurant. We were also told by locals that the place across the road has the best fish and chips on the Gold Coast. There is also a nice cafe with good coffee and breakfast choices along from the icecream parlour and a small 7/11 to buy water/milk etc.

It is a great location but if I returned to Labrador I would try another one of the properties along the road first.

Room Tip: Lovely view from the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank us2kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The venue is fantastic staff friendly service prompt. The facilities were great and clean. Rooms large roomy and fantastic views from the higher levels. Close to the theme parks and across from the beach with a lagoon for the kids to safely swim in.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are better for views and away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDoylesCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
3.8 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
0.9 km away
Windsurfer Resort
Windsurfer Resort
#3 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.4 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
7.1 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.2 km away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Apartments

Property: The Grand Apartments
Address: 352-360 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,574 - ₹ 15,025
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the magnificent Gold Coast Broadwater, the Grand Apartments have uninterrupted views of the Gold Coast Skyline and lush tropical hinterland. The spacious one and two bedroom apartments are perfect for families as well as longer staying guests looking for a contemporary home away from home on the Gold Coast. Conveniently located in a tranquil beachfront position, just north of Surfers Paradise, the Grand Apartments are just a short drive or bus ride to the Gold Coast’s famous surf beaches, theme parks, attractions and major shopping centres. Within strolling distance of the resort is a myriad of cafes and restaurants, scenic beach side boardwalks, parks and an all-season swimming lagoon. But you don’t have to leave the grounds for a great holiday experience. The Grand Apartments feature a breathtaking infinity-edge swimming pool with heated spa, decorative waterfall and stunning Broadwater views. There’s also a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna, steam room and games room for the children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
Grand Apartments Labrador
Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
The Grand Apartments Labrador, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing