We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING & UNHYGIENIC”
Review of Camden Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden Motor Inn
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Owner (Patricia) insisted on charging my cc for the "holding fee". My card hadn't been activated and I had to ring the bank, I also forgotten my PIN (at this point in time she said "I haven't got time for this") so she had to do it manually & charged me a $2 fee for it. She was very abrupt & rude to me about the whole thing.. She belittled me when she spoke to me, told me to "pack my things and go away so I can serve this man". My card was charged $100 INSTEAD of just placing an authorization request, the $100 was credited back to the cc after we left! We were then given the key with a list of rules to follow :/ The carpet was very old, worn and VERY stained. Some of the bathroom tiles were loose and lifted off when you walked on them, one was missing half of it, a lot of the grout was missing between them. The toilet did not flush properly. The shower rail is rusty and there is mould on the roof, the shower head leaked that badly, had no pressure and water temp kept changing, the window screen above the shower is thick with dust. There was no complimentary items such as soap or shampoo/condition in bathroom, no tissues anywhere. The tea/coffee/sugar bowl had some empty packets in it and there were two spits of milk - so had to go and buy some more. The a/c has mould in it. The ceiling fan is old & rusted and only has 1 speed - full on. We stayed two nights and the reception was closed for the WHOLE day and the pool/spa was "closed for cleaning". The room was not serviced. Avoid this place the only good thing about it was the location.

Room Tip: Don't bother - Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lenora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Camden Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed there for one night. Location of the motel was very convenient with shops and restaurants around. Room was clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable. Patricia the owner of the motel was friendly and helpful. The only thing we did not like was the entrance of parking was narrow so parking was a bit difficult. Overall a pleasant motel to stay with.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EP008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Stayed on a (too) brief visit to the area. The room was clean and conveniently located to dining, shopping and beaching. We were able to walk to nice restaurants, a bottle store, and a dairy (convenience store).

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank geebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

If you are after a comfortable bed and a quiet location, the Camden Motor Inn would suit your needs. Located close to shops, cafes and bus stop this small block of units is not far from the beautiful Mermaid Beach. The manager is friendly and made us feel very welcome. Would be happy to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

This motor inn is in such a great spot. The room was spotless and the beds comfortable. Better than your average motor in. Staff also vey friendly. I wouldn't bother spending a fortune on a Gold Coast resort when you can get this kind of value. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
2.2 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 16 in Broadbeach
8,018 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
#8 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
85 reviews
0.5 km away
Classic Motel
Classic Motel
#4 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
58 reviews
1.5 km away
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
#2 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Motor Inn

Address: 2371 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,902 - ₹ 11,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camden Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Motor Inn is nestled in the heart of Mermaid beach just metres from the famous Mermaid Surf Beach. With shops and restaurants at your our doorstep. Transport to the theme parks right outside the door. Sparkling Salt Water Pool and Heated Salt Water spa. Come in a just have a relax.... or see the sights.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Camden Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Motor Inn Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing