We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF STAYING AT TREASURE ISLAND RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF STAYING AT TREASURE ISLAND RESORT”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

After seeing on tripadvisor that this resort was top rated I decided to go their website and book the 2 nights accommodation out of 5 night stay in Gold Coast at this resort. I did a search on their site 2 adults, 1 child and 1 infant and the dates we required. Up came a list of different available cabins, villas etc. Being on a tight budget we decided to book the ensuite cabin and paid online and put in the notes if they had cots to hire (to see if we needed to bring our own) but since they had the option of choosing infant on the search I just assumed that the accommodation that came up would be fitting. We got a reply to the cot request saying yes and told the extra cost to hire it and the confirmation of booking.

When we arrived to check in, we are told sorry but the accommodation you booked is too small for you to have a cot and we would have to stay in a more expensive extra $50 per a night accommodation and then the reception lady said it was my fault because I should of rang to make the booking and not booked it online and my partner being furious with listening to this ridicious ridicure said we wanted to go stay somewhere else then and was told that we would have to forfeit the money we had paid for the accommodation if we did so. So in the end we had to pay the extra costs.

We got to our cabin and we did notice a mouldy smell and ants in the kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms but we decided not to let it bother us at first since we just arrived and already feeling down hearted after the receptionist was so rude and then we went to setup the cot we hired and it was broken, dirty and had baby vomit inside it which of course we complained and asked for a clean cot, which they obliged, the second cot was clean but more difficult to setup than others ive used in past. The bed was not very comfortable and ants kept crawling on us. We liked the facilities had to offer on the website but you had to pay extra to use the spa, golf etc. We thought we were meant to be staying at a 4 star accommodation but it was more like a 1-2 star.

Our remaining 3 nights were spent at the atrium in biggera waters not far from treasure island we stayed in a 2 bedroom spa apartment for almost half the price per a night and there was no bad staff attitudes or bad smells, no ants, was absolutely beautiful and clean with amazing views and twice the size of the cabin and the facilities including spa and sauna were free to use etc. Definately will not be recommending or staying at Treasure Island Resort again was a huge let down and way too overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank PerthStar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    263
    67
    32
    19
See reviews for
898
70
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed here every year for a long time. It is a caravan park and as such if you are aware of the advantages and disadvantages of a caravan park then you are not going to be disappointed or any surprises.
It is ideal for families - free activities for the kids without spending a cent i.e. they make friends, swim, play putt putt (cost involved), tennis ((cost involved) but generally you wouldnt need to leave the park.
Theme parks are only 10 mins away same as Gold Coast and heaps of restaurants to eat out.
There are also heaps of take away chain stores right next door!
Harbour Town for the adults wanting a bargain.
My kids started there as early as 8 y.o. and now 16 y.o.++ and still luv it.
Im getting old and cranky and so get angry at other parents who let their kids run riot after say 9pm at night or early (5.30am) in the morning, but that is common in all kid friendly caravan parks and resorts.
If you are a couple in school holidays - maybe not. If you are a family - great! (Do me a favour though - be considerate of others who may want to sleep in or relax at night!)

Room Tip: If staying in a cabin - I stayed in a standard cabin but would pay a little extra for the next one u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TombRaider62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I had high hopes for this 'resort'. We chose it for it's facilities and past reviews. We didn't wish to stay in a high rise apartment for our Gold Coast leg of our holidays, so chose the 'resort' for the main reason for the facilities it offered.

I'll start with the good points. Location is great... about 20 minutes to the heart of Surfers and 10-15 mins to the theme parks, easy driving too. Check-in was fairly quick and painless. We booked a Pandana unit, paying the extra $$ to ensure good quality for our stay. The cleanliness was spot on. It was nicely appointed with all that you need.

Unfortunately, there are a few negatives to the 'resort'. I use the term 'resort' loosely as it is definitely more a caravan park than a true resort. The issue of having to pay extra for everything was a bit irksome. Unbelievably you had to pay to use the spa - and then it is limited time in them. The pools are deceptively photographed and are substantially smaller than they appear. If it had been peak period and hot weather I'm guessing it would be shoulder to shoulder in them.

The Pandana units are supposed to be the high end of their options of accommodation. However, you have limited use of airconditioning. There is an override switch that turns off the aircon automatically after 4hrs. This was not explained in the room info book as to why we firstly couldn't get the aircon to work and why it kept switching off when we did figure it out. When I questioned the desk - it is because of 'eco' awareness of the park. Luckily for us the nights were cool enough, but had it been humid during the evenings it would have made sleeping unpleasant. Big bad tick for this! NOT advising prior to booking the conditions of the facilities... another bad tick. Had this been advised you can guarantee we would NOT have stayed at the resort.

On our first morning we had no hot water in one of our showers... they did promptly come and check it out - which was good service - he couldn't explain the reasoning, but it came back on. It happened a second time we were staying there. Other problems we had : remote controls to tvs & dvds did not work, the light in the main dining room never worked, there was a terrible stink coming up from the bathroom drains (smelt like septic or rotting vegetation), the fan in the main bedroom squeaked - especially noticeable whilst sleeping as the aircon ended up turning off, and the couch... we dubbed this the "world's most uncomfortable couch". After schlepping around theme parks with the kids all day, we would have loved to be able to lay back and put our feet up... not on this thing you couldn't! I would have forgone the second bathroom in trade of a decent couch.

When I mentioned the little things that needed fixing to reception on leaving... her response was -not sorry, but simply that I should have come and told them earlier in our stay .... I'm sorry, but I'm on holiday... it's not my job to report every second something is not up to par or not working... we did report a few issues, but it is disruptive and annoying to have to keep doing this. Some of these issues could have been avoided.

I'm sure this holiday park is lovely for a camp get away as the facilities are of such a standard as you would find in a caravan park... but as billed as a Resort... skip it and look elsewhere. For the money we paid, I feel a bit let down. The linen is not of 5 star (barely 4 star) standard, the towels are thin and small, unlike other resorts. When they refreshed our linen part way through the stay, they didn't even bother to hang the towels etc up... just dumped a pile of them in the middle of our bed...

The restaurant was below standard also. We ordered breakfast one morning and seriously, I don't think the guy had made scrambled eggs before, they were shocking. He also grumpily advise me that it was his first shift of doing breakfasts and they hadn't bothered to tell him what anything was... sorry, not my problem!

The park has its positives, but unfortunately for us, we ended up experiencing several negatives. It won't be an option for us to stay if we ever return to the gold coast.

A tip for the park - when someone checks in on a Saturday night, it might be more prudent to give them the park activities sheet for the upcoming week - not the one that will be finishing the next day. An idea may be to print these out for people already checked in before the new week & to deliver them to the units like other Big4 holiday parks do.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We thank the reviewer for taking the time to provide feedback on their recent stay with us.

Our property is independently rated 4 ½ stars by AAA Tourism in the category of Tourist & Caravan Park. As you might agree, the facilities on offer for guests at Treasure Island are on par with those of many “resorts”, even surpassing the level of facilities and activities available in some. There is a small fee on some of our facilities and activities however the vast majority are free, such as: 3 swimming pools, tennis court, 18 hole mini golf, kids playground, jumping pillow, just to name a few..

It is disappointing you think our photos are deceptive, as they truly represent what we offer. Our images, taken by professional photographers, are shot on location at our property to ensure we accurately display our product and facilities available.

Re any “negative” issues you experienced, had you come to see us during your stay, we would have gladly addressed all concerns and rectified them immediately to your satisfaction.

As with everything there is always room for improvement and we would like to discuss your comments further. Please contact our manager directly on +61 7 5500 8612, his name is Brendan.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards
Danella
Senior Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashtonfield
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

we stayed 4nights with our camp trailer the ammenities camp kitchen and grounds were fantastic we had a great time .The park is a good central base for surffers paridise and surrounding theme parks we wouuld highly recconmend this park for future stays

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay, it was an amazing break. All members enjoyed the activities and we're already planning our next stay. There are plenty of things to do or alternatively beautiful surroundings to relax in. Would recommend for a family with school age children, as there is lots to keep them entertained.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
8.0 km away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
5.2 km away
Meriton Suites Southport
11.5 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
8.8 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,531 reviews
8.5 km away
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park

Property: NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Address: 117 Brisbane Rd, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia (Formerly NRMA Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,599 - ₹ 12,114
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate family holiday on QLDs fabulous Gold Coast with a stay at BIG4 NRMA Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park. Close to all major theme parks, Harbourtown Shopping Centre & the Broadwater, its central location provides easy access to all Gold Coast highlights. There is a great range of self-contained accommodation to choose from at Treasure Island. From 1 and 2-bedroom units, cabins and villas, to 3-bedroom 2-storey townhouses we can cater for all needs and budgets. For those travelling with their own caravan, RV, motorhome or camping equipment, we have a range of powered sites which are superbly located close to amenities and park facilities. Discounted theme park tickets can be purchased at reception and our helpful staff can assist you with tour bookings and other arrangements. Whether you are after a relaxing family break or an action packed adventure holiday, Treasure Island is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park Hotel Biggera Waters
Treasure Island Resort And Holiday Park
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park Biggera Waters, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing