We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
29
23
8
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
23
8
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine james villas villa holiday lovely villa private pool welcome pack villa azalea bbq area big supermarket air con double bed tom's bar quiet location great holiday half term lovely area bars restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed in Villa Elena (called by thomas Cook, but seems to be named something different) in September 2014 for a weeks stay.

We arrived at the airport and picked the car up and all was good, weather was great.

However once we arrived at the villa we were disappointed to find it in a poor state.

The floors were filthy and nothing seemed to be clean, so on the first day of our holiday, we cleaned. On holiday.

The bed linen, towels and the cushions on the sofa felt damp,oily and dirty.
The kicthen had the essentials you needed although it was all dirty and tarnished.

A small amount of washing up liquid and a cloth was all that was left. There was a dirty mop left outside but that's all we could find.
Everything was rusty and had seen better days.

We used one bathroom, the shower was quite powerful but that's the only good thing, the curtain didn't keep water in and the whole room could of done with a good scrub.

In the bedroom the cupboards smelt like damp so couldn't keep clothes In there and one crumbling wall was being held up clearly by some sort of woven wooden material.

One bin liner was provided for us. Once that was filled came the ants, which was the low point of the holiday mid week.
We awoke one morning to thousands of ants every in the villa. I can't describe the amount, it was insane. The whole bin was full of them, all over the kitchen in every cupboard, over food and even managed to get in some food. They had made a trail through the villa to a back room and out the back door. Outside the kicthen window they were pouring in and were all over the grass outside again making a trail to the front gate. They were all over walls outside too. It was horrendous. We emptied the bin and cleaned up as much as possible, then had to go to the nearest shop to buy bin liners and ant killer. I spoke to Thomas Cook and asked for more bin liners but was told to go buy some and killer. (People were very rude in the supermarket)

So we spent another day cleaning and killing all the Ants, meaning we had to stay out the villa due to the fumes.

We had no idea where to put rubbish either.

The rest of the week it rained pretty much making it even more miserable for us.

The pool boy came once and did an awful job at cleaning the pool.
No one came and gave us fresh sheets or towels. We got bitten a fair few times during the nights, which we think was from the bedding.

We drove round the entire island during the week due to the weather, again there wasn't much to see. We went up the highest point/mountain in menorca and the views were nice, otherwise a pretty boring place.

We did some horse riding in Mahon and that made this a little more exciting.

The only good thing I can say about the holiday was the sunsets at night. They were really lovely.

I'm not picky but one thing a house or villa should be is clean. And it was not clean. I obviously took a few chances with it due to the poor amount of reviews online, but never expected any of it.

Won't be returning and sad to write such an awful review but I think maybe others should be warned before booking to stay in any villa in Cala en bosh (cap d'atructx)

Room Tip: Just don't book these villas
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a great holiday at this villa on Cala n Bosch. Family and friends. Plenty of room, great pool. Closest supermarkets 5 minute walk and main harbour 10 mins. Villa excellent and clean in great location. Will return

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank CLCWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

The airport experience with Owners Direct was atrocious. We waited for 2 hours in the 'express' queue to get the car keys. I was very unimpressed. But all good since then. Villa Clavel holiday is fab. We are loving it here. There were only 2 of us and I imagine with 6 it would be cosy. but it has everything you'll need. Comfy loungers. Pool is 1.90 at one end so be careful! Quite private, we were lucky with quiet neighbours. I imagine that's not always the case. Pool man came once and rep came once. Towels changed once per week. The welcome pack is ok but if your flight is early in the day go to the supermarket first. We went to Lidl near Ciutadella - fresh stuff was really good price as was beer. We did a big shop but there are 3 reasonable supermarkets near the villa too. Welcome pack included all the things they listed plus some liquid soap?maybe they ran out of washing up liquid? There are two hairdryers here. Washing line and pegs Plenty of wardrobe space and the kitchen was well equipped with the basic utensils. Decent sized fridge, small freezer. TV takes a bit of persistence to work and no BBC. Shock! Wifi isn't bad. Aircon wasn't perfect but better than none - we didn't really need it in early June. The breeze picks up around lunchtime every day -this seems to be a regular thing and we were grateful for it. The walk to the marina (and bars and restaurants) is about 25 mins by the coast road and about 15-20 mins through the rest of the area. You pass Marinda Gardens and a hotel or two but mainly this is Villa land. There are some bars by the local supermarkets which is about 10 mins walk? There's a karaoke bar ...the poor villas near to that! Bicycles for hire at one supermarket. Bus stop tI Ciutadella is just round the corner 1.90 euro per adult. It's a round trip so get on it there and it takes half an hour. Coming back getting on at the main square in Ciutadella and it takes 10 mins. Ciutadella is an absolute must. Fabulous place. This was our first villa holiday and it was great. Loved the freedom to do our own thing.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alyfenSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the villa antonia (Thomas Cook Villas Maui) at the beginning of October. I was a little bit worried to say the least as I couldn't find any reviews on it. Antonia is a lovely 3 bed villa with everything you could need, beds were really comfortable, all mod cons (except air con). If I was going to be picky the sofa was a bit uncomfortable, ants were a bit of a pain but they provide you with spray, you are a little bit out of town (20 mins walk) and the pool is not really suitable for children who cannot swim as there is no shallow end. There is a spar just up the road and they were really helpful & friendly, they stocked pretty much all the basics you could need (their daily fresh cooked croissants were amazing). We ate regularly at a restaurant just up the road called La Oca, they did a really reasonable 3 course menu and the food was plentiful and hot, they had a parrot, aquarium and ride on toys to occupy the kids. Staff were very friendly. The road train that takes you around the area is really unreliable and the driver was just rude. We went to the small beach (apparently there is more then 1), they charge ALOT for sunbed rental, be careful as they have absolutely loads of small stinging jellyfish, I lost count after 30, was a bit of a nervous wreck with a 3 year old in tow so definately recommend jelly shoes for a paddle tho that won't help if your swimming. Cigarettes/tabacco was not very easy to come by. A few restaurants sold them in coin machines, I only found 1 proper shop that sold them and it was in the main Cala n Bosch town (20 mins away). Overall loved the area, loved the locals, loved the villa, would go back in a heartbeat, my son burst into tears on the when we landed in England as he wanted to go back, we all did! Would recommend car hire, we didn't as non of us were keen driving in a country we didn't know but the roads are quite safe and they didn't drive like maniacs so I would hire one if I went again. Fab Villa fab holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannahc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Stayed here for a week at the end of October booked through thomas cook. The villa name is actually Voramar but thomas cook choose to list it as Elena. No idea why. The villa has fantastic views overlooking Majorca and cuitudella and is in a great location and easy to find. It is about 20-30 minutes walk to the beach though so a car would be best in our opinion. It's a 3 bedroom villa but is in need , in our opinion , of some tlc. Hence we wouldn't return until the following were fixed. The front bedroom has reeding on the wall to hide the fact the wall is crumbling under it. The kitchen needs an overall. The fridge is rusting, the cutlery tarnished and the crockery an array of different plates etc but not a full set of 6 settings. The villa is clean but could do with a lick of paint. The pool area also could do with a good clean and general update. The toilet in the second bathroom is glued together and the paint has peeled off above the shower. In the main bathroom the bath and the shower need an overall. The shower head won't fix to the wall properly and the bath is showing signs of rust.
The room behind the master bedroom also needs looking at as it makes an horrendous noise all day and night. It was reported but they failed to fix it. The villa has ceiling fans , no air con and no pool heat. It does have wifi .
It's a beautiful villa in a stunning location but needs attention and would be the perfect villa if the above were sorted out.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank mexy1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews