We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,841)
Filter reviews
2,841 results
Traveller rating
862
1,090
529
200
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
1,090
529
200
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews geranios suites junior suite pool bar sea view self catering large balcony free safe salt water spa hotel smaller pool on tap reception staff evening entertainment cleaned every day building work salad separate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 2,841 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We were definitely underwhelmed by this hotel. I have given the hotel an opportunity to address our issues, by emailing them two weeks ago. But have not received a response.

To put some perspective on this review, when we booked the hotel was the geranios suites, and came highly recommended. Also we holiday 4-5 times a year, mostly in the canaries, often in caleta, sometimes all inclusive and when we go all inclusive always choose 4* as generally you know the food and service will be good.

Unfortunately the las salinas fell way short of our expectations.

The rooms are lovely, and a definite positive for the hotel, cleaned daily, and with a partial sea view.

The location, right on the beach front is amazing and close enough to the centre to enjoy the town and far enough to not be bothered by it.

HOWEVER, the all inclusive side is not 4*. Breakfast is good, good selection, and good quality food. The snack bar however was terrible!! Cheese and ham toasties, that you toast yourself in the slowest toaster ever, a selection of four cold ‘salads’ from the night before, and later on a selection of 3/4 hot dishes. That are at best luke warm and soggy due to be covered with clingfilm, which once used was hard to reseal, leaving it open to the elements - eg the birds, who enjoyed the snack bar far more than us. You could argue that the restaurant is open too, however we prefer the relaxed and more convenient nature of a snack bar. In the end I did go to the restaurant to make a sandwich or we ate out - not 4*

Evening meals, you cannot fault the quality of the food (all bar the quick fry cheap steak) of the food, but the variety was minimal - not 4*

The pool bar closes at 5.30, far to early for the canaries, when often it’s cloudy until 12-1pm then sunny until way past 7.

Then you could go to the waiting room known as the lobby bar, where they serve you’re vodka, but you have to add your own mixer - not 4*.

If you fancy a drink at the bar overlooking the beach, don’t bother as it’s filthy and not open, so you have to get a drink from the pool bar or lobby bar. Then enjoy the little black flies jumping into your drink - not 4*.

The sunbathing areas are not cleaned down regularly, as are the sunbeds. They all needed a really good hose down.

This was a very disappointing stay. And I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ChillaxxIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with three friends for a long weekend and we booked one of the villas on an all inclusive basis. The villa was great, clean and comfortable with plenty of space for 4 adults. Having our own private pool was lovely too, very peaceful with views of the beach.

All inclusive was great for our short break. Plenty of choice in both food and drink.

Staff friendly and helpful, we had to wait about 20 minutes at reception to check put and book a taxi as there was only 1 receptionist and she was busy checking in a big party so my only feedback would be another receptionist or someone available would be handy for when there is a queue.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Me & my wife stayed here 10 days 30th May - 9th June really like this area and have stayed before at the Barcelo hotel
Best thing about the hotel is the size of the suite , has a roomy feel about it ,was cleaned every day , a bit of a walk from reception to room 384 , the pool areas are pretty good kids pool one level and pretty shallow , adult 1m45 deep
Hotel looked modern yet a bit bland and soulless
Poor points for us were food , all inclusive drinks choice and entertainment, also poor is that the lobby bar is attatched to main entertainment area so you don't get a choice if you want a quite drink without having to listen to mini disco or the less than average entertainment. There is an outside bar area which unfortunately wasn't open,
Biggest disappointment was the food at the pool bar , 1 toasty machine for the whole hotel ! really ?, a few trays of what looked like leftovers covered with cling film which when opened were left to the mercy of the local birds " not hygienic to say the least"
This review might sound bad but as in the title the hotel could be so much better with a little more thought around pool bar , all inclusive and entertainment , the hotel seamed to be understaffed although they did work very hard and a few who were quite friendly and helpful.
On checking out at reception not even a thanks or did you enjoy your stay.
We will come back to caleta but unfortunately not to this hotel

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile


Restaurant/Food
Food was ok, average buffet food. We had breakfast there every morning, big selection sometimes not very warm tho so best to get there first thing or heat it up. Dinner and lunch we had occasionally but due to being quite bland we tried to eat out as much as we could, but the times we did have dinner it was a different selection each time and sometimes was nice.

Hotel/Reception
Massive hotel but very clean and maintained everyday. Always some one on reception very friendly / helpful spoke good English. Lovely lounge area, good WiFi here and games room was helpful when weather was a bit cooler.

Room
Very happy with the room, so spacious! Separate kitchen, no kettle or iron but we asked just the once and they was bought up straight away.
Bathroom, twin sinks, fresh towels everyday.
Two single beds pushed together but very comfortable, two patio doors from bedroom and lounge leading on to the balcony which is lovely, balcony is massive and we had a sea view room which is a great view definitely recommend upgrading if you get the chance.
Rooms were cleaned everyday but sometimes varied on the time, could be done when you get back from breakfast or they can come in at 4.30pm when your in the room.

Bar/ Entertainment
Bar opened at 5.30 til 11, help yourself to Amstel on tap or fizzy drinks/ wine. But for named spirits etc it’s an extra cost.
Entertainment isn’t great, same sort of thing most evenings and not always on but aimed at young children not sure if it’s different during peak times.

Spa
Very expensive for what you get, 20 Euro’s per person & no discount for staying at the hotel. We spent about an hour in there as not much else you can do in the spa, treatments at an extra cost but we didn’t have any.

Hire tennis / squash court for free if staying at the hotel but a small cost to hire the bats / balls.

Pool area
2 fairly big pools, not heated so freezing when you first get in. Small bar area which serves drinks and snacks at a certain time, ice creams at an extra cost. I agree with some of the comments about the hotel having no real character but you get what you pay for and exactly what you look for in a 4* hotel.

Would return but maybe in peak time when weather is guaranteed.

Some lovely restaurants near by, there’s a place just outside the hotel where you can hire single / double scooters mopeds which are fun 15 Euro’s per hour, but you can explore a little bit more, we found a market and another little area with lots of shops/ restaurants and bars.

Go along to the harbour, book a boat trip or a glass bottom boat for the younger ones, and more bars and a lovely restaurant on the end ‘el Carote’ which was very nice food.

Thank you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Epsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Pro's : great location on beach, clean, staff friendly and helpful, good pool, beds large and comfortable, powerful shower, table tennis provided which we loved

Con's : poor quality of drinks at the pool bar (particularly when you're paying for all inclusive - we soon tired of amstel), would have loved better coffee and some more veggie friendly cooked brekkie options! A little lacking in atmosphere and liveliness/buzz.

All in all, we were satisfied with our stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveller001m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews