We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 183
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Elba Sara(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 420
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Broncemar Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bungalows Castillo Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Caleta Dorada(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Castillo Beach(Caleta de Fuste)
US$ 38
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
636
235
72
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
235
72
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub premiumhot tubpremium restaurantpremium guestspremium areala perlitabarcelo castillolevel restaurantlevel guestslevel receptiondunas pool barpool areabreakfast and dinnerbrought roundrestaurant elon arrivalfruit kebabs
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 974 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Just returned after a 3 night stay at Barcelo Royal Level with 3 friends.
We stayed in one of the rooms which faced the sea which was amazing. I cannot fault the hotel, it was perfect, clean rooms, comfortable beds and such an amazing choice of food. The customer service most definitely does not live up to the 5* resort, I found alot of the staff, especially those on reception to be rude and uninterested in looking after their guests. Other then that. Nothing to fault.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Cecely J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success

Thank you for acknowledging our great location, We are also particularly happy to read that you find the room cleand all times and thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds.

Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Denise Esposito
Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This March 2018 was our third stay at the Royal Level all-inclusive Barceló Castello on the island of Fuerteventura. Although this is a large mainstream 4 star hotel, we have previously enjoyed our stays and the high quality of service at the Royal level (Previously called Premium) However, regrettably our most recent visit fell well below the standard that we have previously enjoyed. Here’s some of the challenges we had throughout our 6 night stay.

- Children in the Royal Level self-service El Ancla restaurant placing half eaten lollypop sweets in the ice cream toppings and using their fingers rather than tongs to pick up food. The staff seemed to be unconcerned and failed to speak to parents to address this serious hygiene concern.

- There were insufficient staff in the restaurant El Anlca to clear plates of an evening or reset tables after use. Starter plates remained on tables even when the mains had been eaten. Drinks were only offered once meaning the All Inclusive was not worth the money paid.

- The selection of freshly cooked food in El Ancla had been reduced significantly since our previous visit……this seems so be now like a normal 4 star large hotel standard buffet offering.

- Unlike in previous years in March, there was no music/DJ in El Faro bar making the venue lack atmosphere.

- The maid service was poor with limited restocking of soaps etc. We twice had to ask for additional bathroom supplies only for these to be removed from our wash bags by the maid. It is unacceptable for a maid to go into a guests wash bag and remove complimentary toiletries that were given to us by reception due to her lack of attentiveness.

- My same sex partner and I were addressed as Mr and Mrs in both information letters from the hotel, this is offensive and unacceptable in modern times, especially as we provided all our passport information and also have different surnames. No attention to any detail was taken by the hotel.

- The late afternoon “turndown” service appears to have stopped as we received no chocolates or light cleaning.

- The suite in block 4 was generally tired and the balcony door did not lock and needed to be repaired. There was an open plug on the wall which would have been very dangerous if children were in the suite!! The suite was cold at night and the air conditioning heat setting did not work. We had to request a portable heater, however this continuously tripped the power off to the suite if we had a few lights on and the heater at the same time! (Photos attached) . The lock on the bathroom door was broken and kept falling off, the sink plug was also broken and the bath was chipped and rusty around the plug (Photos attached). There was also lack is piping hot water of an evening.

In summary, the quality and service of the Royal Level at this location was disappointing and fell below the high standards that we have come to expect from Barceló in previous visits and to other Barceló hotels.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Minibreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Had booked 14 days at Royal Level Suite with Sea View All Inclusive.
Check in / check out Was very long-lasting and a nightmare. There was only one person to serve the Royal Level guests. The front desk had only 2-3 people to serve the other many other guests and it took ages. Poor service and lack of English speaking staff in general at the entire resort. The area is a little boring after a week’s stay. The beach area is great and with plenty of sun beds. Thallasso Spa and Gym are very nice but too far away from Royal Level exclusive. However, I missed a small cafe in the area. It’s not possible to use all facilities throughout the resort even though you have purchased Royal Level Exclusive all-inclusive which should be a luxury level.
It’s restricted to a small area despite the rest is the same hotel / resort concept. Very disappointing. The supermarket is above all criticism and really poor service. If you want to collect the points you can have for buying there, be sure to do it on one passpoint card. I was accused for that those 3 cards I had were not mine, so I did not get the present for my grandchildren. We had to go after two woman were shouting and threatening me. The gift shop opposite the supermarket has only opened a few hours a day. There are only a few restaurants available that covers All Inclusive option and the food is the same everywhere. Lack of varied restaurants with healthy diet lacking. Noray, Sportscafe and La Coleta cafe took ages before serving the customers. The El Castillo buffet restaurant had a wide range of food, but the bufé was very disorganised and difficult to get around due to lack of space and a lot of traffic by guests who were going in and out of the outdoor area. The noise level and acoustics are awful, so find space outside instead. La Ancla restaurant denied us a 6 man table though we were 5 people. Had to sit on a small 4 man table so it was cluttered with room for all of us. The service was often poor regarding to cleaning up tables, constant dirty service, lack of cutlery to take the food in the bowels, and too often there was not enough food in the buffet. The positive - Plenty and good selection of fruit. Carrussel was never available, so a big disappointment for children. Poor children's entertainment in El Puerto Teatro and poor out play opportunities for children in particular. Bad foreclosure down to the harbor area, so children could easily fall into the water. Pool area in Royal Level block 4 was ok, but very dirty around sundbeds and very exposed to wind. Snack bar had only drinks, beer, water and soft drinks and some boring dry sandwiches. It was not possibility to book lunch from Noray sports cafe or other cafes for delivery to the pool. An improvement would be nice. JuanFran and lifeguards were very friendly to all guests. A plus to Juan whom could speak very good English. Royal Level rooms are definitely not luxury at all I consider it more as common Standard level but a large room with a balcony and sea view. Satellite TV that did not work at all. The beds were ok but lack of extra blankets the days it was cold. Lack of kleenex in bath. Daily cleaning was ok. Lack of towel, detergent and a sponge in the kitchen. Welcome gift I had to discuss with staff to get handed out as it was missing on arrival. Got a free minibar. Lack of drinking water in the rooms. Gym was poor. Royal Level only had a daily yoga / Pilates opportunity that was held by an inexperienced instructor. The heated children's and adult pool inclusive pool towels were a positive experience. Generally it's a cozy area, but a week is enough. Not a place I would go to again. The luxury I thought I paid for was simple standard quality. Renting a car would probably be recommendable so you can experience some of the area. The hotel could not offer guided tours it was only possible for guests whom had booked through a travel agency.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elisabeth Wetke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience with us. I was extremely disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We take your comments seriously and will certainly look into the root causes for these shortfalls.

We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you experienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones.

We would like to point out that our Royal Level guests have a free access to all facilities of our hotel: 5 swimming pools, minigolf, two gyms and the guests that stay with us one week have a free day pass for the water therapy circuit in the Spa.
The Royal Level guests with all-inclusive package can enjoy two buffet restaurants, a sport bar, a lounge bar, three pool bars, an ice cream bar and a pizzeria-snack bar. We are working to provide a better healthy food offer as we know that nowadays it is becoming more and more important.

We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our Noray and Goleta. our barmen shifts are studied to ensure an impeccable service throughout the day and are reinforced during peak hours.

About the comment on the buffet restaurant el Castillo, be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître to prevent these kinds of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Although your comments about the service in the Ancla buffet restaurant do not seem to quite match with the usual feedback that we receive both on this support and onsite, for a future stay, please do not hesitate to voice your concerns and approach the management team to inform us of the service imperfection you report on your review, we will be more than pleased to assist for you to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

We would like to highlight that the supermarket, the carrousel, the Spa and the gym in the Spa are not under the management of our hotel. Nevertheless, we will inform them about your comment to provide a better service for all them customers.

Our entertainment staff works every day to keep our guests entertained by preparing shows that appeal to our guests of all ages and nationalities. we deeply regret reading that their efforts could not meet your expectations. As family resort, is available, a miniclub for all the kids from 4 years old. It has a daily program with every day a thematic experience. For the night time there is mini disco, available for all the children. Our resort is provided by 2 playgrounds and a bouncy castle.

We will bring your remarks about the cleaning of the pool area to our housekeeping department. The cleaning is a must for Barceló and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels.

Regarding the offer in the Dunas bar, there are available for all our guests not only soft drinks and beer but also alcoholic drinks, with different type of brand. We will review the possibility to add more option regarding the food. We have a restrict policy regarding the food in the area around the pool of the 4000 block, as it is a small area.

As It is a small area and it is very close to the rooms we do want create disturbances to our guests. For this reason, we provide few relaxing activities near the pool. We always explain that it is a member of the entertainment team who gives the classes with the only goal to entertain and give to our guests a relaxing experience with a magical atmosphere near the sea.

At the Royal Level is included the cleaning of the kitchen and of all utensils, pots, plates and glasses for this reason we do not provide the sponge and the detergent but thank you for your comment, so we can improve the service in the room.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the welcome gift in the room.
About the water in the room, we provide free welcome minibar for all the Royal Level guests and daily water for all the My Barceló Intense and Unique guests. This information is available on our web page on the My Barceló program. We apologize if nobody from the reception gave you the correct information.

Finally, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your kind words toward our bartender at the pool bar, Juan Fran as he strives to deliver an excellent service always to ensure our guests fully enjoy their experiences among us.

Our main commitment is our guests' satisfaction and our goal, their preference for our hotels year after year, this is why the management team together with all departmental managers, check regularly our installations, revise restaurants' menus and products, undertake regular service trainings so as to ensure the compliance of our high standards of quality as a distinctive feature of our brand; this is why we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Fuerteventura and encourage you to point out any imperfection if any appears, we commit to do our utmost to make sure that you have a fantastic holiday experience among us. 

Best regards,

Denise Esposito
Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

loved this hotel for the family, would def go again. loved everything from the welcoming staff to the swimming pool and breakfast. the kids enjoyed there stay. i would offer just a bit more variety for dinner all inclusive but other than that excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank LucaBria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Room: Advertised and priced as premium Royal Level “exclusive suites”. The room (4115) was clean but in a fairly shabby state of repair in places, considering this was supposed to be one of the top end rooms in the hotel. No working air conditioning! Pealing and cracking paint work and plaster in several places within the room. Patches of mould in bathroom shower. Bathroom poorly finished and not family/child friendly as incredibly slippery tiles and very sharp edges to the bath tub. Very poorly made sofa bed in lounge which one of our children slept in, would be totally unsuitable for an adult as it folded itself back up when a regular sized adult tried to use it.

Check-in and Check-out was incredibly slow at Royal Level, staff did not seem to care about creating an enjoyable customer experience. Nobody at the Royal Level check-in desk when we arrived after a long day of travelling at 8pm, and despite there being plenty of free reception staff at the regular check-in; we were told we had to wait for the only member of staff that was able to check in “Royal Level” guests. We waited another 20mins while this staff member finished checking in another family, with no acknowledgement or apology for the wait. Check-out was similarly unnecessarily slow, with poor customer service and no interest in even asking “how was your stay?”

Our major concern with this resort is the lack of care shown to us when we needed medical help in an emergency. Our 2-year-old son required urgent treatment to stitch a bad cut on his chin, as a result of slipping in the hotel bathroom on the first day. The reception staff could not offer any help! We arrived at reception with our bleeding and upset son, and politely asked for urgent help on where we could find a local Dr. The reception staff claimed to not know of any local doctors and rather dismissively sent us to a pharmacy 15 -20min walk away as “they may have a Dr there". Absolutely appalling, considering when we set out ourselves we found 3 local private Doctors surgeries open within a short walk of the hotel and were able to get our son urgent treatment and stitches he needed. We heard nothing from the hotel until 2 days later when they knocked on our door and provided a tiny, frankly pointless, non-slip rubber mat for our bathroom. What a joke! They didn't care that our son was badly hurt or make any attempt to help us at the time, a poor show of customer service for what was supposed to be “Royal Level” service. To not know where a local Dr was located is frankly unforgivable for any hotel/resort or member of reception staff.

Other small annoyances included:

Heated pools were still far too cold for young children! Please heat your pools sufficiently if you are going to advertise that they are heated and claim on your website that your Royal Level is “family friendly”.

It was not at all clear that I had a discount voucher to use during my stay as a result of booking directly with the hotel. The hotel let me know on my last day! Why was I not told at check-in? I had no opportunity to fully use the 97Euro voucher. Some of my room charges were used against the voucher at check-out but no way near the value I was entitled to had the reception staff told me about the voucher.

The positives about this resort are:

Excellent beach front location with plenty of independent local restaurants and a lovely marina setting. The beach is fantastic, huge and immaculately clean. Superb “La Frasquita” seafood restaurant on the beach.

The Royal level half board food option is very good indeed. Fresh, healthy food for Royal Level guests at the El Ancla restaurant for both breakfast and evening meal. Excellent waiters, quality wine and a beautiful varied buffet restaurant for Royal Level guests. Restaurant staff and chefs at El Ancla were truly fantastic!!

Shame the Royal level experience of the El Ancla restaurant and food doesn’t extend to the reception staff and quality of the Royal level rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiran79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcastillorrpp, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Castillo Royal Level, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our Barceló Castillo Royal Level and we apologise if you experienced any inconsistency in our service, we have read your review with our utmost attention and will take note of your constructive remarks.

It is with great concern that we have read your comments on our reception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the reception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; About the credit voucher, we explain all the benefits for being My Barceló Member during the check in. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned.

We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough we work daily to provide the best possible service. We always explain to our guests that in the city of Caleta de Fuste there is a private doctor. We inform to our guests that he can also come in the room and that there is the option to go in emergency, in the hospital of Puerto Del Rosario.
Our Guest Experience were trying to call you in the room for checking how your child was but unfortunately she had no answer. She spoke with you at the main reception, asking for him.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in your review, all rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion and we regret not being immediately informed at reception so as to be able to intervene in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay in our hotel, for a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact the reception desk for anything you may need, the team will do its utmost to find an immediate solution for you.

The Royal Level pool is a heated pool with the temperature accorded to the actual policy.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you liked the location of our hotel.

We greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denise Esposito
Royal Level Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews