We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our 2 bed apartment”
Review of Peppers Broadbeach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Broadbeach
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have stayed at the Sofitel and many hotels in Surfers. My whole family much prefers Broadbeach to Sufers. So much cleaner, less hustle and bustle, lots of great restaurants, quieter beach.

Peppers is new. It is clean. The room was fantastic. It rained the whole time so we had to stay indoors a lot. However, the 2 bed apartment provided just enough room for 2 adults and 3 kids.

Staff were very friendly. Parking was easy. No hassles at all.

The negatives. Well, think of it as an apartment hotel rather than a resort. You dont have big outdoor pools with waterfalls and beach areas. There's no onsite restaurant (but who needs one when so many are just out the front door). You just dont have the overall facilities of a resort. If you think of this as a luxury apartment then you will be happy. At least we were

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTravelJunkkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear FamilyTravelJunkkie,

Thank you for your review of Peppers Broadbeach following your recent stay with us in a Two Bedroom Suite.

We constantly get feedback on the size of our rooms. With two bedrooms, two bathrooms, lounge and dining area, full kitchen, laundry and balcony, I am glad to hear you found the same.

I am sorry to hear that the weather wasn't at its best during your stay, but it sounds as though you had a good time regardless.

We will indeed be getting a restaurant in the near future. This will be based in the lobby of Tower One and will service in-room dining as well as all-day dining in the restaurant.

I hope to see you again on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,963)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Broadbeach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,541 - 2,545 of 2,964 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here in May 2012, after reading rave reviews about the place. We even decided that the upgrade to Ocean View Suites was worth it .
The Good.....Great location...not too far from the beach, great play area near the beach perfect for the kids, Max Brenner Cafe just downstairs, Farmers Market on Sundays on a road between the two towers (Peppers has two towers Tower 1 and Tower 2 , which are not interconnected..you need to come out of one tower and after a short walk you reach the other tower.....also guests in one tower can't access the facilities in the other tower) , close to Oasis Centre and a lot of great eating places...Thai, Italian etc...Bang opposite is the Pyramidal Jupiter's Hotel which has a fairly amazing Buffet dinner. Most of the staff at Peppers are great especially Angie who was efficient and friendly .
Rooms had a great view of the Ocean, drapes were great at filtering out any sunlight which might wake you early in the morning, rooms were comfortable , well equipped and everything worked well (almost). Fridge, microwave, Dishwasher, Washing machine, Dryer, hot Kettle etc..
Plenty of power points in the apartment..however if you are from abroad carry an adapter specific to your devices as the plug points here (and everywhere else in Australia) are not like the ones back home.

The Bad: Housekeeping was satisfactory to good...we had a different team coming in on all days and we could actually make out the difference , some days the room was spic and span ...some days it could have been better. Nobody informed us that we were supposed to run the dishwasher ourselves...in fact the housekeeping said they would take care of everything...but we always wondered why the stains and food particles from used dishes were still there despite finding the dishes in the dishwasher. Much later we found out that they hadn't been washed at all ....Most of the amenities were present but when we requested dental kits and shaving kits some one at reception said they would cost us A$15 per kit...which prompted me to ask them if they were made of gold. We obviously said we didn't want them.Later when we spoke to Maya another nice lady at the reception, she seemed as shocked as we were and sent us a few kits free of cost.
They give you free access to the internet but the access is limited if you use your own device and is unlimited if you use the free ipad they give you (subject to a refundable deposit of A$300), kind of strange. The Pool, Gym , games room etc.. are adequate and Peppers does have the facility of booking you for dinner wherever you'd like to go, calling a cab for you as well as getting you tickets to the various attractions around the Gold Coast for free.
Check out time is check out time unfortunately and the staff comes in even if you're still in the room and starts cleaning up as if you don't exist anymore once you are past check out time.

Normally we used to interact with the reception in Tower 2 (for some strange reason Tower 2 is the busier one and is round the clock, while Tower 1 has someone only till 5 pm) as we never saw any staff in Tower 1 (where we were staying as that's closer to the beach and has the best view of all) but the day were checking out there was this lady in Tower who was either plain dumb or was pretending to be dumb and she gave us a hard time unnecessarily ...i forgot her name. Finally I simply walked over to the other tower and spoke to the Manager Maria who made the whole process a lot easier.
Yes, one more thing, if you have kids and want to have the minibar cleared (so that nothing is inadvertently eaten or broken by the kids) they charge you A$20 to clear it and then A$20 as restocking charges (so that's A$40 in all to make sure you don't consume anything from the minibar...)

On the last day most of the lifts going to our floor had a technical problem and it was hell getting to our floor and out. Probably due to the design of the buildings the towers have some lifts servicing floors G to 29 and some 30 and above (if I remember conrrectly)...I finally used the fire escape stairs to go up and down even though we were on the 19th floor...however they weren't well maintained and were rather dirty and messy.

On the whoe it was a mix of good and not so good...although I might come back again...but more prepared ;-)

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and sea facing if possible and ask for a room with a larger balcony as even same...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mannubhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Mannubhai,

Thank you for your most in-depth review of your recent stay with us.

I am please to read that you found the suite comfortable , enjoyed the ocean views, and found the location to be prime.

I am sorry to hear of the few other incidents that caused a bit of confusion. I assure you that each detail will be relayed to the relevant departments and addressed with the teams so that the teams learn and grow in their knowledge and efficiencies.

In keeping with our green star rating, dishwashers are stacked and turned on when they are full. If there is only a couple of items in there, they are stacked but not turned on to allow a saving of water and electricity on our environment.

In relation to check out, unfortunately when we are busy there will be a guest due to go into that suite from 2pm. As most hotels have four hours between departure and arrival times, we only allow ourselves three, giving guests that extra time to spend sleeping in and allowing them to take their time. Often guests arrive from 8am onwards and spend several hours waiting for their suite to be ready. Departure at 11am allows our teams to get in and clean (two and three bedroom apartments can take up to two hours), address any extra cleaning, conduct carpet shampooing if needed, or perform any maintenance work required. After this it all needs to be thoroughly checked and cleared and any issues addressed before the new arrival. This process is repeated for up to 100 arrivals a day, delivering a five star product at the check in time of 2pm. As you would have read from other reviews, if occupancy allows we are more flexible with departure times.

I do hope we are able to see you again in the future, and as always, please feel free to contact myself or one of the team if you have any concerns.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I love this hotel, the service was great at check in, the facilities are great. I rooms were pretty big and spacious. Had great time location is excellent walk to everything , shops restaurant casino . Pool is fabulous gym was good. Great views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUSSIEAGENT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Aussieagent84,

Thank you for such a lovely review. I appreciate the time and effort taken to post this.

I am thrilled to hear that your experience from check-in, right through to the end, exceeded your expectations.

The property truly is a beautiful space, and we try hard to ensure the service we deliver justifies the high quality of the facilities and accommodations.

I hope to see you again on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The one bed room apartment was very spacious and nicely decorated. The room was clean, tidy with spectacular views. This is by far the best apartment on Broadbeach. Walking distant to shops and nice restaurants. Comfortable bed and thick towels. Will go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tweedie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Tweedie888,

Thank you so much for posting this review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you were happy with the accommodation and the service and facilities on offer.

It is great to hear that you will be returning to us. I look forward to welcoming you back then.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

In fairness to Peppers, I can only comment on the facilities of the property itself because I booked through STAYZ in a 3-bedroom sky tower with media room. Despite that, I was offered full use of the facilities of peppers, which are seriously nothing to write home about.

I stayed in Tower 1 which is closest to the beach and I presume gives the best beach views. Tower 1 has access through two entry points, but they closed one off most of the time, which meant you had to walk further in the rain to get in.

The games room is fairly average. Pay a dollar or two here and there and have a limited amount of fun. Bad luck when the machine takes your money and you don't get to play - there's no-one around to complain to anyway. I'd say 50% of the machines are the ones that you try to win a fluffy toy with the hook device.

Over to the guest lounge. What a huge disappointment! There's a pool table, but you have to walk over to Tower 2 to hire the cues and balls, sign various forms, and then walk back over to return them. The guest lounge is set up as one big sterile lounge otherwise, and at the time was in dire need of a clean. The audio was completely turned off, and a few small TV Monitors showed Ellen Degeneres in the background - how thrilling.

The pool area is pleasant, but the tepenyaki and barbecue areas are unprotected by the wind and rain, and the heat wouldn't work, so we gave up.

The theatre is a great feature, but the attraction is limited. They only offer three different "four-hour" slots of times (morning/afternoon and evening), and you have to book it, inform reception of your readiness and wait for porters to let you in and set it up. You are allowed to eat and drink in there.

The parking is a complete nightmare.

Do not book an apartment on the higher levels - the wind will make it impossible for you to open the balcony doors to enjoy the view; and any rain floods the balcony floors and comes inside.

I would never recommend staying at peppers broadbeach, either as a guest of peppers or in a stayz apartment.

Room Tip: Tower 1 offers the best views, but is mostly neglected in terms of reception service.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank victoria_454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Victoria_454,

I am very sorry to read of your disappointed review - even though you did NOT stay with Peppers.

I must say, in over 400 reviews I think yours is the only review that manages to place a negative spin on every part of the property.

My feeling is that you were not happy having rented through an external agency. I can understand this as this poses many inconveniences:
- You must check in a couple of blocks away at another agent's office
- There is no staff 24/7 to look after your needs
- There are no free inclusions such as wi fi, movies, iPad to enjoy
- You are left to your own device to find your parking - our guests are escorted by our staff
- You are left to fend for yourself in the rain - our guests are taken on our own buggy, plus there are umbrellas in all units for guests
- Your suite is not serviced daily, not allowing you to feel totally relaxed while on vacation
- If there is a problem with your suite, or if you are locked out, you do not have someone on site 24 hours a day to rectify the issue

I do believe it says a lot where over 380 out of 400 Peppers guests rate their experience as 'very good' or 'Excellent'.

Perhaps next time you would like to experience the true Peppers service?

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.3 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 16 in Broadbeach
8,021 reviews
0.2 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
3.2 km away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,297 reviews
0.5 km away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#6 of 16 in Broadbeach
1,782 reviews
4.0 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Broadbeach

Address: Corner Surf Parade & Elizabeth Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Broadbeach
#2 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range: ₹ 12,821 - ₹ 32,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Broadbeach 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Broadbeach includes two towers that soar high above Broadbeach only 25 minutes drive from the Gold Coast Airport, and offers luxurious one and two bedroom suites. All suites boast exceptional interior design with European appliances and imported stone featured throughout. Signature features include a pillow menu and gourmet mini bar with local and organic products. The on-site facilities are endless including Zen gardens, tai chi lawns, private cinemas, guest lounges, teppanyaki barbecues, steam rooms, saunas and lap, plunge and resort pools. On the doorstep you will also find over 100 alfresco restaurants offering cuisines from all over the world and within a short walk are attractions such as The Star Gold Coast, the Gold Coast Convention Centre and Pacific Fair. *Please Note: Complimentary internet access provided for one device per room per night. Important information: Please note resort check in is conducted at Tower 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach Gold Coast, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing