We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
393
68
27
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
393
68
27
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu the main house michelin star special occasion classic menu the kitchen petit fours scallops manor house matching wines veal for pre dinner drinks dining room from start to finish modern bathroom superb food background music
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable lunch from start to finish. From the welcome at the door, the service, the meal, the staff. All top notch.

We dropped in for lunch on our anniversary. Wonderfully beautiful grounds and building. Welcomed at the door by service staff and shown to a seat in the comfortable lounge. Aperitifs on the sofas with nibbles whilst we had the menus explained and given time to choose. We had a choice of the lower priced two to three course menu with a couple of choices for each or the Autumn Tastes menu - a tasting range of plates showing off the kitchens talents. I am a sucker for a tasting menu and we chose the latter. Sadly were driving so couldn't opt for the accompanying matched wines, but still had a class of 2011 Margaux from the extensive and reasonably priced wine list.

Seated in the quiet and comfortable dining room what followed was a masterclass in service. That style where they are there for you exactly when you need them, but never fussy or overbearing leaving you to enjoy the food when eating. Perfect. What followed were a range of courses that took us on a great journey. Amazing pumpkin soup with swiss cheese, wonferful wine soused figs with the liver pate with pistachios, a granite made from fig leaf (who knew fig leaf was edible!). Though the star of the show was the shorthorn beef with parsley. That was to die for.

Post lunch retirement and back to the lounge for excellent coffee and petit fours.

A wonderful visit, and made to feel valued and special throughout by the helpful, but not overbearing service staff.

We WILL come back. Highly recommended, and worthy of their Michelin Star.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for the positive feedback following your visit to Fischer's Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We were on a walking holiday in the Peak District with friends and we decided to tag on an extra day and test ourselves to a night at Fisher’s Baslow Hall, it was so worth it, the double room we had was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. But the highlight was defiantly the food, we had taster menu that evening with matching wines, was a fabulous experience and the staff were very attentive. The breakfast the following morning was fab to, we could not fault it and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for the positive feedback following your visit to Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

It was our wedding anniversary and after a disappointing top class restaurant earlier this year, we decided to try out Fischers to retrieve our love of top class dining experiences. It was incredible. From arrival, and the spacious parking available which being in the countryside is a must, to the welcome and beautiful lounge next to the dining area, to the lovely smart uniforms of the staff, the care and attention we received to the food, it was a wonderful experience. We had the taster menu which was outstanding and special mention must go to the pumpkin soup, scallop, mullet and beef courses. We were also treated to chocolates and an anniversary message. Customer delight indeed! Thank you to everyone at Fischers for a wonderful evening.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LucyBCBarnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent visit to Fischer's Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Right from the start being met at the door. Lovely canapés and a nice little cosy lounge to have an aperitif and look at the menu. Had a 3 course Sunday lunch. The service was of a high standard and I couldn’t fault a single thing with the food. Everything was beautifully presented and seasoned to perfection. I can’t wait to go back again. Well done Fischer’s, we will see you again soon.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for the positive feedback following your visit to Fischers Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The garden suites are well appointed and well serviced.The Hall itself is traditional and the welcome from all the staff superb. The restaurant is also traditional and take you back a century or so. The food is superb - particularly the goose liver (Foie Gras for the pretentious) and the venison, well presented and a wonderful blend of textures and flavours , and the dessert taster selection stunning as it is served sequentially over several minutes allowing the calories to disappear between dishes...? Not cheap but worth the indulgence!

Room Tip: Check the website?
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnadamsengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback following your visit to Fischers Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews