We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thatch End Cottage

Front of house and lane leading to Chatsworth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house and lane leading to Chatsworth
Bedroom 1 Bedroom 1 with room for additional beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front of house and lane leading to Chatsworth
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 with room for additional beds
Bedroom 3 - cosy!
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 1
Dining room with entrance to Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra B
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in this cottage, we had a lovely time in a very warm comfortable cottage. It is well equipped and is in a great location. It is one of the best cottages we have rented for a holiday it has everything that you need. Thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie L
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home . Can't wait to go back !”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location . Chatsworth house on the door step . My children loved the farm and adventure play ground at CH . The cottage is very well equipped with everything a young family needs . So much to do in the neighbouring towns and villages . Will defiantly be returning one day !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, real home from home!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really loved our stay at Thatch End Cottage; extremely well equipped and furnished throughout, a real home from home!

We felt very comfortable straight away on our arrival and the cottage is ideally situated for walks on the Chatsworth estate.

We came across the cottage when we were staying Park Cottage just around the corner and have to say we found Thatch End superior in every way.

We are looking forward to returning later on this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil J
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the Best 5 stars all the way”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What a fabulous quality cottage.Superb space and quality furnishings especially kitchen,bathrooms,bedrooms.Spotlessly clean throughout , this cottage was a home from home for us during our short stay. Congratulations Polly on providing a really stunning quality cottage. Bed linen ,towels etc all thoughtful and of quality. Also great to find a cottage accepting of dogs. With hard floors downstairs our 2 Labradors were made to feel welcome and at home immediately and settled down in front of the wood burner.
So impressed with our stay we tried again to book in November but could not get in, so plan in advance! We have booked again in Jan 2014 and look forward to a home from home that is simply lovely.
Others take note...this cottage is the best in Derbyshire that we have found. With Chatsworth on your doorstep literally, and Baslow to explore ( recommend Charlie's for brunch) and Bakewell a few miles away there is more than enough to do in the area and then return home to enjoy the comfort and quality of Thatch End.
Others should take note..this cottage sets a new standard in quality and service.
A hidden gem in Derbyshire ...you will not be disappointed and look forward to reading others experiences of this 5 stars cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah w
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is situated in a great location, a 5 minute walk & you are on the Chatsworth estate. Its also great just for watching the world go by.
The cottage was a lovely place to stay, plenty of room for 3 generations to live for the week. Plenty of pubs & restaurants to try out & all in walking distance. We loved not having to use the car to go places because it was all on our doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: Not being able to find the tea pot!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing