We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tick Tock Cottage

Tick Tock Cottage - contemporary luxury
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tick Tock Cottage - contemporary luxury
Spacious lounge with comfortable leather sofas Open plan to dining area and breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Tick Tock Cottage - contemporary luxury
Spacious lounge with comfortable leather sofas
Open plan to dining area and breakfast bar
Luxurious superking beds available for both bedrooms
Stainless steel kitchen is fully equipped
Two metre long single beds available in both bedrooms
Magnificent Chatsworth House Estate a short walk away
Bakewell town gardens in summer splendour
Market town of Bakewell with 14c stone bridge
Tick Tock Cottage is located on Gorse Bank Lane
Tick Tock view across the valley to Chatsworth farmland
Monsal Trail has illuminated tunnels now open to cyclists and walkers
Brown trout in local rivers
Lea Gardens noted for azalea and rhododendrons
Derwent and Howden
Gritstone edge near the cottage
Crich tramway museum for a fun day out
Freindly pubs and good beer
A typical limestone dale
Spring is just around the corner
Peak District winter view with limestone walled fields
Moorlands and gritstone edges
Sunset view from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colette J
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is our 3rd visit to Tick Tock cottage and I am sure we will be back. Lovely quiet scenic location. Very well equipped, warm and comfortable. The beds and bedroom are a good size and downstairs is lovely open planned so even when cooking we are all together. We always relax and re-charge when we come to Tick Tock. Angus is really smashing,there if you need him but does not bother you. My 2 children always look forward to coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohdear_8
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“WELL EQUIPPED COTTAGE”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this very well equipped cottage over the New Year period, it has everything you could possibly need and more, a real home from home. There is ample room for four people with an open plan area downstairs and 2 roomy bedrooms upstairs. The beds are comfortable with good quality bed linen and there are plenty of decent sized towels. It's in a quiet location with walks from the door and it's within walking distance of the Chatsworth estate and house. There are several pubs, restaurants and a café in Baslow so not far to walk for a meal or a coffee. The only disappointment was that the cottage is on the same plot as the owners house and visitors are unable to park outside the cottage to unload as the owner parks on the drive, however we were helped with our luggage and the owner was very respectful of our privacy and we'd certainly visit again during the colder months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosy interior of the cottage and the beds
Liked least: The cottage is very close to the owners house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, great location for exploring Derbyshire”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a week here end of Sept, the weather was excellent, which always helps. Cottage is excellent, very we'll equipped, if slightly too little kitchen cupboard space. Good open plan ground floor and large bedrooms. Great location for all areas of Derbyshire, walks and cycle tracks within easy reach. Plenty of great places to eat in Baslow. Will definitely be back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and open plan space
Liked least: Quite close to owners property,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penguinbo...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and relaxing week away”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Review a little overdue as stayed a few months ago but it's a review that needs writing as the welcome and helpfulness of the owner was second to none. To cut a long story short we had to take our child to hospital on the way up and didn't arrive at the cottage until 3am. Clear instructions were given as to key location etc and lights left on for us in the cottage. It was nice to have these subtle touches when we were worried about getting there so late. Once recovered from the late night the cottage was lovely and we had a wonderful holiday. We loved the big comfy bed! A couple of minor points, we liked to eat in and the oven wasn't the greatest and could have done with a good clean and little fingers kept finding dust under the sofa! This is being quite picky though and we would happily return and recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob-HL
Kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peak Perfect”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Excellent and quiet cottage with all facilities/amenities in a great location. Very helpful and friendly owner who also respects your privacy - thanks Angus. Two superb restaurants (Charlies and Rowleys) plus good local pubs and craft/gift shops in the village within 10 mins walk; Spar shop for suplies only 5 mins walk. Baslow is right on the edge of the Chatsworth estate and at the base of Baslow Edge, 10 mins drive to Bakewell, 20 mins tro Chesterfield, etc.

All in all a 5 star stay in a 5 star cottage - so good we're going back in April.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing