We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great concept for a relaxed weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gams
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bezau
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great concept for a relaxed weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed with my fiancee at this place for two nights. It surely did meet/beat our expectations and will certainly consider coming back! We were looking for a nice and relaxed romantic getaway, and therefore stayed at the "Kuschelsuite" in the new building (completed 2009), which was truly worth the upgrade (featuring balcony, and private whirlpool). We also had the 5 course dinner, which delivered on its promise (scored 15 points with Gault Millau). Service was very good and inline with what you expect with a 4 star superior hotel. We also booked full body massage, which was done very well by professional staff. When we stayed there, there were mostly couples between 25 - 55 years old, so no surprises there.The interior design of the rooms, wellness area and bar had many nice little features, not overwhelming but very nicely done to support the concept of a romantic getaway. The outdoor wellness area, although not very big was very nice. They had 4 saunas/steams (one not working) and 3 pools (2 indoor/1 outdoor), a public whirlpool, and diverse shower options. Although none of the saunas/rooms/pools is particularly large, they are large enough for all the guests, where we did not find any problem during our stay. The sauna was not particularly hot though, which also other guests noticed, while it was labeled as a 95 degrees, I guess it was about 80 the most. It did not bother us, but if you go there for sauna therapy, you may find it not hot enough.

I read other reports posted here of complaining about the lobby and bar bein smoking areas, which oddly enough is true, but when we were there not many people did smoke and it did not bother us (despite we are both strict non-smokers).

The only issues we faced (and being the reason of not rating our experience "excellent") was the TV/DVD equipment, which was rather outdated (no flats) and did not work properly (which the front desk was unable to fix during our stay). While the bed was optically pleasant, it was kind of a little short and the bedding was small too (I'm a big guy), so ok for two nights but would have been nice to have it king-sized.

What we liked best:
Fantastic athmosphere, design of new parts of the hotel and the dinner.
Rooms for improvement:
TV/DVD equipment, low temperature in sauna and undersized mattress/bedding.

Do not go there:
If you expect 5 star 24/7 service availability, or a huge waterpark.
Just right:
If you and your partner worked too much and are looking for a nice treat for actually a very good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    66
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
215
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed the 2nd time in this hotel. The recent upgrade even increased the experience and it is one of the best places I have ever been to. Especially if you look for some time with your partner, you will find yourself perfectly treated and you can really relax.
We for sure will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

We found this hotel by accident as we were looking into a quiet wellness hotel for our honeymoon. So couples only. First impression: The website is very well presented and gives you sufficient and accurate information about the hotel. The pictures shown on the web are exactly what it is like.

Arriving: a warm welcome with a friendly smile and a handshake, followed by a check-in procedures with a glass of Prosecco.

We decided to stay for 6 nights in the “Bluetenschloss“ building. The room is incredible spacious, has a bio alcohol fired fireplace, a big shower, a lovely comfy king size double bed and of course a fantastic Jacuzzi for two (and a working safe). If you happen to get bored by too many sauna visits or swims in the pool go for a beauty treatment. We had a chocolate treatment – which meant we ended up fully covered in 75% cocoa, brilliant.

Another highlight was the extraordinary fine, tasty and beautifully presented five-course dinner with amazing food of e.g. swordfish cappacio, game, duck, beautiful ice cream variations with rosemary or rose together with sugar cannelloni filled with chocolate, lovely local cheeses etc. just wonderful. The service personnel had been incredible friendly, helpful and efficient if that is appropriate to say. For all those who don’t want to get up too early to make sure not missing breakfast, don’t worry, breakfast is from 7.30 to 12.00. And if you are still not bothered, order your breakfast to your room – we had the biggest and loveliest breakfast I have ever been served to a room.

Overall this was an unforgettable experience for our second week of our honeymoon. Worth a visit and a must for couples no matter how old you are, and no matter how long you are together.

  • Liked — comfy bed, open fire place, great view, jacuzzi
  • Disliked — there is no but for this place
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2006

Hotel Gasthof Gams is in Bezau, a pretty little village nestling in the Vorarlberg valley. Bezau offers plenty of interesting walks and biking opportunities. The restaurant for hotel guests offers and interesting and varied menu as part of the half-board arrangement with adequate choice for non-meat-eaters.

We spent two very pleasant days at the hotel enjoying both the surrounding countryside and the well-maintained wellness facilities. The rooms in the new "Blütenschloss" are very spacious with a modern wet-room and whirlpool bath integrated in the bedroom. All rooms have a balcony overlooking the gardens and the pool area.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bezau
0.3 km away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#2 of 4 in Bezau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
9.4 km away
Gasthof Hotel Hubertus
20.7 km away
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hirschegg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Sonne Lifestyle Resort
0.2 km away
die Sonnigen - Hotel, Appartements und Familienspass
5.0 km away
Hotel Gasthof Hirschen Schwarzenberg - kunst.hotel nach waelder.art
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gams? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gams

Property: Hotel Gams
Address: Platz 44, Bezau 6870, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Bezau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bezau
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,732 - ₹ 11,344
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gams 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel straight out of a fairytale: guests at the Hotel Gams sleep in a cocoon of flowers and bathe in cream, chocolate, and honey. And couples are given plenty of cuddle time just for the two of them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Gams Bezau, Vorarlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing