We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Amazing'”
Review of Awatea Homestay

Awatea Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awatea Homestay
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Our weekend at Awatea was grounding and enriching, full of enjoyable moments. A weekend away from the weekday stimulus of technology and a time to connect sharing thoughts and ideas.
Our room was perfect in every way. The outdoor bath was a memorable highlight, amazing relaxation....will have to return to do this again!
Linda pointed us to Artrio, where our coffee needs were sated, this coffee house is great. We perused the antique and craft shops where I had a wee find.
Breakfast with our hosts was delicious with just fabulous conversation full of connections and sharing of ideas. Amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful afternoon of music in the garden at Awatea. Erin sang to an attentive and appreciative audience. We have stayed with Rob and Linda and have been treated to the luxury of a wonderful reflexology session, a thoroughly enjoyable home-cooked gourmet meal and a relaxing outdoor bath. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: No preference on rooms - all are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My Husband and I were in Waimate and we booked this weekend away so that we could spend time together and relax. Well we were not disappointed. This was the most amazing weekend we have had in a long time. We were able to relax and enjoy the scenery, food and hospitality. The outdoor bath was a highlight.
I was able to have a reflexology experience..... This I absolutely loved and would highly recommend.
Linda and Rob are just the most delicious hosts...... Nothing is a problem, we felt completely at home. If you need a weekend away then this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at Awatea Homestay recently and loved it! The peace and tranquility there is fantastic after a long drive. The outdoor baths are so unique and the house itself feels so homely. Food was fantastic as well.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I was down in Waimate overnight for a business meeting and had chosen this homestay for its location and atmosphere. I wasn’t disappointed! Linda personally greeted me and showed me about. I had the outside room which was very comfortable and suited me in being able to come and go from the place without disturbing anybody else. Dinner was fresh fish caught that day by Rob and a delightful light desert. The evening was closed out relaxing and chatting with Rob. A lovely home cooked breakfast was shared with Linda and Rob and a couple who were staying for a friend’s wedding.
Linda and Rob were terrific and very easy to talk with. They made me feel just like a member of the family. If or when I get to travel south, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. A delightful experience. Thank you Linda and Rob.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Awatea Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Homestay

Address: 217 Mill Road, Waimate 7978, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waimate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Waimate
Price Range: ₹ 4,483 - ₹ 7,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Rob Schofield established their Bed and Breakfast/Retreat 'Awatea" in 2008.Guests experience delicious country style breakfasts and dinner (by arrangement) where the food is home grown and locally sourced. Guests can experience aromatherapy baths under the stars, an infra red sauna, reflexology or the pamper package. For the more adventurous guests guided fishing and surfing experiences are available. Pampering both body and soul is their motto, it’s all about treating yourself.Subtly sophisticated, the three guest suites are complimented with luxuries. The ensuite and private bathrooms have underfloor heating, ecologically friendly and personalised toiletries and the finest towels and bathrobes. Guests are pampered in an environment of tranquillity and privacy and rooms with breathtaking views.If you are seeking relaxation in luxurious surroundings, then look no further. Just minutes from Waimate township, you will find Awatea. This spacious and homely two storied boutique B&B offers spectacular views of the hills and sea, leaving you reluctant to leave and eager to return, whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing