We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing location, quaint little restaurant !”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Charlie who owns the restaurant had to fight a long drawn battle with powers to be for the right to run his business in what is essentially a national park where all forms of commercial activities are banned. The restaurant also has a small section with collection of books and one of the books is Mata Gouri which chronicles his struggles and ultimate success against all odds. He also runs the helicopter service which does the helicopter hikes of Mt.Cook glacier.We finished the hike (2 of the most memorable hours one gets to spend on planet earth in no exaggeration), we were ravishingly hungry and had veg pizza and pastas for lunch both of which were excellent.
Highly recommended place, and so far as we could see not many other options around here!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank satishsatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Well, it was Charlie and Mary who had the battle, the book is Matagouri and Other Pricks, the Journey to Aoraki Mount Cook, written by Mary, as well as the other books, and both Mary and Charlie own the restaurant. Charlie doesn't run the helicopter service, but he would like to have one of those too! He does own several guiding companies here in the National Park and he is one of the most experienced and senior guides in New Zealand. He is a UIAGM mountain and ski guide though and runs heli-hikes on the glacier as well as skiing, heli-skiing and snow shoeing and could well have been the one to have taken you to the airport as well. Delighted to hear that you loved the food and hospitality and thank you for your wonderful review! Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2019

This place was amazing. Very cozy, very welcoming and nice and warm food. We had the pumpkin soup and a pizza and a few other snacks and they all tasted perfect. We topped them off with some Kapiti ice creams sitting by the glass, surrounded by mountains. The "experience" was surreal and very very memorable :) Five stars!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Divya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! So glad that you had such a great time with us! That is awesome! Just how we like it! Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

We loved this place, wish we had found it sooner during our stay at Mount Cook.

Great Gluten free options, fresh made food. Pizzas were a great size, and the service was great. This is our pick for Mount Cook.
If staying at the Hermitage, they wont tell you about this place, but well worth a visit. AMAZING VIEW and the coffee was great too!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank MeganR1572
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Thank you SO much for your lovely review. It made our day. Thanks for taking the time to write and let us know. Wishing you a wonderful holiday. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019

Great place to sit and enjoy the scenery of Mt Cook whilst enjoying breakfast and a coffee, or maybe lunch or dinner. The scrambled eggs and coffee are good, very helpful and friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dellakriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Oh that's great news! Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful words. So appreciated. travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2019

Great place for a family breakfast or lunch. The staff are extremely friendly and the view of the mountain range from the restaurant is really great.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SandeepSkydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Thank you so much for letting us know. We really do appreciate this. So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing