We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abisko Lodge and Apartments(Methven)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
US$ 82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 83
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Big Tree Lodge Methven(Methven)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
US$ 45
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 39
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Time(Methven)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Lodge(Methven)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge(Methven)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
12
16
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
16
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmt huttkitchenetteshowerheaterhosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

One night's stay here. Very happy with our room. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Spacious room and very clean. Located to nearby amenities. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ralbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

The welcome we received was ok.

Had an upstairs unit. Room was nice and big and offered iron, ironing board and hairdryer etc.

Room had a spa bath (normal sized bath with jets) which was a bonus.

Location was good - just a few mins to walk into town.

Downside was that there were black hairs in the bath and bathroom from previous occupant. Not a biggie but not nice.

If you have children, suggest you ask for a downstairs unit - bathroom window flips open fully and is quite low. Easy for inquisitive child to fall out.



Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Safarinjema2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

No dishwasher, but we had to do our own dishes. I hope the person before us had washed them well??? TV old but worked, though after reading all the information available we couldn't find sky sport and assume it wasn't available, though we could watch the rugby delayed on Prime. Shower very low pressure (possibly the new style save water type) but just not a great shower, and with 6 of us in a 7 bed apartment trying to have fast showers we ran out of hot water. Only toilet is in the bathroom so had to wait for people to shower to use it. Main bed was uncomfortable. Fridge was not turned on when we got there which we didn't notice till the next morning (not something I would have thought to check). On the plus side we got a great recommendation from them for dinner, and the apartment was a great size with ample towels, dishes and such. Heaps of extra blankets and heaters.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We were down for a family event Easter weekend and stayed here for three nights. It also coincided with the Dubliner Mountain Thunder bike racing event which boosted the volume of people staying. We found the hosts to be very friendly and inviting and our room was spacious, clean, warm and for the most part quiet. We had read a lot of negative comments prior to booking and as we have always been ones to make up our own minds, booked based on locality, room size and photos. Neither my wife nor I were disappointed. Yes the TV is a little dated and the channels limited but do you really go away to watch TV. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: A bit of noise can be herd from inconsiderate people thumping around up stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We are a young couple who wanted a nice place to stay while skiing at Mt Hutt for the week. Methven Motels did not disappoint.
We chose an Executive Studio w/ Spa Bath because it housed a small kitchenette. On arrival we were upgraded to a Two Bedroom Apartment due to another couple wanting to stay on in the Studio.
Our room was upstairs, was very warm and had a fairly nice view of the mountains. The kitchenette was the perfect size for the two of us; it had a decent sized fridge-freezer, two gas elements, big pantry and plenty of pots, pans, plates & utensils. Bathroom was spacious & clean and having under-tile heating was a bonus.
Bed was comfy and the heat-pump made sure we were never too cold.
TV was small but we weren't there to watch movies all day anyway. There were 3 Sky channels (Movies/Sport/Disney) and plenty of DVDs to choose from in reception for free.
Staff were lovely and chatty.
Only downsides were the Wi-Fi was expensive (guest book said $5 for 100MB), and the Pub menu's, also in the guest book, were very out of date; we were rather sad when we got to the Brown Pub and they no longer did Pork Belly or Blue Cod!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahrX5108SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksey, Owner at Methven Motels & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Thank you for staying and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I wish you had asked about the wi fi as people who book direct I give for free as I am not loosing commission to anyone. When I am asked about places to eat I tell people the menus are only a guide line as they are out of date. Some of the places are not very good at keeping us up to date with there menus. You were great customers and we hope you will come back again. You left the room very tidy which we always appreciate.

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews