We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other traveller has booked this property
Peel Forest Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peel Forest Lodge
Relax by the open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Peel Forest Lodge
Relax by the open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Geraldine, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

M7473DEro...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 20 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

The former home of Penny and Bert is a specious and cosy log cabin. The kitchen is well equipped and the house is needly clean. The outdoors is well maintained end very private. The horse riding is amazing! (For all ages and experience levels). The real gem of peel forest lodge is Penny herself. She makes us feel like home and is in for a good conversation and really goes the full length to make our stay special.

I would certainly recommend peel forest lodge!

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Nov 2018
What a pleasure it is to be able to share our property with such a lovely family. Travelling is about experiences, meeting new friends and so for us being able to share our piece of New Zealand is why we do what we do. We thank you for sharing your family with us. Safe travels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonie E
Bangalee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay in Peel Forest”
Reviewed 22 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Extremely comfortable, delicious meals, a beautiful open fire, idyllic surrounds and private. Wonderful hospitality! We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and would love to return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2018
Was wonderful to meet you both, thoroughly enjoyed your company and would love to see you both again. All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermanvdH...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay and delicious food”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in the Peel forestlodge. A lodge with space for more people, but we were with 2. Wonderful beds, shower and food made by Pennie. She was very much helpful and that’s what we call excellent service! Although we didn’t ride the horses, if you like it, it’s possible. We went to Earth and Sky in Lake Tekapo, 1 hour and 15 min. So an activity to be done staying in the lodge. Also walks or a drive through the Peel Forest area.

We highly recommend the lodge. Also for compleet families with kids. And Penny thanks for the visit to the deer farm. We liked it!‍♂️‍♀️

Herman & Irene

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2018
Was great to meet you both and be able to share our piece of paradise!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granlie
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM - you wont be disappointed”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Located in a small rural setting, Peel Forest which is surrounded in bush walks and farming eg deer, sheep and cows, not far from Geraldine.
A group of us went for a girls weekend.
The lodge can be described as a large log cabin - the open shist fireplace did it for me as the ambiance and heat from it was amazing, completing the scene. The bedrooms were spacious with doors onto the deck. The lounges and kitchen was spacious ideal for entertaining. The view from the windows was Mt Peel with the snow and the Canterbury green grass farming paddocks. The deer fence was near.
We had a wedding all planned here for a daughter, trouble is she now needs to find the man of her dreams - lovely tranquil spot. Quiet with only the birdsong is this paradise, Ill leave that for you to decide. Also the optional evening dinner 3 courses could' have been from a master chef wild venison and blueberry tart overflowing with these little fruits. Will return. So go off the state highway and venue inland you wont be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
So happy that we are able to share our piece of 'Paradise' with you! It is always a pleasure to meet new people, we look forward to your return.
Pennie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blewis44
Lander, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Peel forest lodge is one of the mist beautiful places in the world to stay, you'll enjoy the gorgeous log lodge sitting by the fire at night and then having coffee looking at the mountain in the mornings, it just pure bliss staying there.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.