We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the BEST..5 star weekend..Everything thing...”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
155 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 155 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
melanie j
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the BEST..5 star weekend..Everything thing was PERFECT”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our weekend at Hagg Hill Hall was unforgettable. Every inch of the house is stunning and each room caters to your every need....and more! The owner Lord Humphrey has gone above and beyond the standard luxury holiday rental and ensures you have everything you need to enjoy your trip to the maximum.

Don't just enjoy the photos, the house itself is indescribable, I couldn't recommend a stay at Hagg Hill Hall anymore..please go and enjoy the greatest, most lavish trip of your lifetime.

Thank you Lord Humphrey for a hen do that all the girls still cant stop talking about! We'll be booking again ASAP.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding House, 5*, can't praise enough.”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a long weekend at Hagg Hill, our second weekend in 3 years & I cannot recommend it highly enough, it really is fabulous!!!
The facilities are incredible & Mel the owner is a true gentleman & couldn't have been more helpful. The kitchen is well stocked & the Aga kept as all warm & cosy!
The outside space is perfect for BBQs & games, with the great addition of the beautifully warm indoor pool we were well & truly spoilt!
Can't wait to visit again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseb1960
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2014

We have just spent 5 fantastic days at Hagg Hill Hall.There were 16 of us 8 adults and 8 kids.
Everyone had a fantastic time.The owner was there to meet and greet and give us the grand tour,I found that a lovely personal touch.All the rooms are spacious and welcoming.the pool and hot tub were an immediate hit with everyone and the water in both was always warm.There were lovely towels for pool use and pool toys provided for the kids.The owner Mel was round and about but not intrusive and kept us amused with his tales when we wanted him to,a fact that I found nice that he was a sociable sole.It is a beautiful house that we had pleasure in staying in and would have no hesitation in returning to.Thank you Mel for sharing a little bit of luxury with us and letting us stay in that beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing House and holiday home!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I visited Hagg Hill Hall with 16 friends for a long weekend in May 2015. The house is incredible and not to mention the indoor swimming pool and hot tub. As a group we planned a number of meals to cook over the weekend and the kitchen was kitted out with every appliance you could ever need. When we were given the grand tour of the house the owner Mel could not have been more welcoming. Although the house is full of antiques, we were told to have fun and call the house our home. Although Mel stays nearby we never felt intimidated by him being around as any time he visited to check the pool and hot tub he brought banter and lots of laughter with him. The house was very clean and i would highly recommend it to families who are looking for a quiet break or groups of friends who are looking to have a boozie fun weekend away. There's plenty of space outside to go for a walk or play outside activities. Mel also leaves complimentary wine in all of the bedrooms (which is a massive bonus) and there was plenty of towels and a laundry room if needed. Whilst visiting Hagg Hill Hall it was one of the girls birthday and Mel turned up at the house with a bunch of flowers for her which was so lovely. I could not fault Mel or the house and after retuning home we are now looking to book the house again for next year. This house is a gem of a find!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in beautiful house”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Hagg Hill Hall for a long weekend with 15 friends, and we all had a fantastic time. The house is huge and beautiful, comfortable, and traditionally decorated. It felt like being in a gorgeous but quirky old manor! The dining room is stunning, the bedrooms have very comfortable 4 poster beds and most of them are en-suite, the fireplace in the living room is great, and the kitchen was both beautiful and convenient. The conservatory is also great, with heaters built in. The indoor pool is huge, and gives onto the second living room. the hot tub is outside and was very easy to use as well. Towels (bath and pool) and bedding were provided. The owner was very helpful, and came by every day to check everything was ok. He has 3 very friendly dogs who came by as well! The garden is large and has a small field at the back that was great for ball games. We had a really enjoyable stay and really felt at home in this beautiful mansion, I would definitely recommend it for a holiday stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing