We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Plenty of character, plenty of beds.”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
171 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 171 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LewisGate...
2 reviews
“Plenty of character, plenty of beds.”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A group of 17 friends were able to make good use of Hagg Hill Hall, having a pool party and taking the ancient copper jelly moulds from the kitchen walls to craft some decent cuisine. A really unique and quirky property an easy drive from some great Peak District towns and walks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
700roxann...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous place very comfortable”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a long weekend to celebrate several 50th birthdays.there were 5 families with children of ages varying from 8 to 16,there was something to suit everyone.Each room is special in its own individual way and it feels homely with a touch of luxury.The owner was very welcoming and friendly.There were enough rooms for us to spread out to have a quiet read if we wanted.The pool was lovely and warm and the children liked the fact that they could listen to their music while playing in the water.The stairs and low beams on the second floor are a bit precarious at first but we soon got used to them,it was all part of the character of the old house.Everyone of the party was impressed and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynn b
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this was perfect for our January birthday celebration”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was perfect for our long weekend away to celebrate my mum's birthday. There were lots of tenagers and we were going to be away in January so having the indoor pool and outdoor hot tub kept everyone amused all weekend. We didn't really need to go anywhere. The house is an amazing warren of stairs beams and corridors, amazing old wooden furniture including four poster beds and there was even a chandalier in one of the bathrooms!
The beds and towels were all fresh white and clean and there was everything we needed to feed a large group for a weekend.
On leaving I was presented with a lovely bunch of flowers from the owner to say thank you for booking - quite unexpected and very lovely
We would definately go back with a large group again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and hot tub
Liked least: themusty smell in the dinng room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B
Oundle
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay at Hagg Hill Hall”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Mel the owner with his very own white Father Christmas beard and curled moustache gave us a terrific welcome.From the front door onwards there was a warm feeling of Christmas approaching with a decorated tree in nearly every downstairs room.We had an indepth tour of the house by Mel in his humerous,jolly and slightly risque but harmless manner.There is a hot tub and swimming pool to be enjoyed and the largest dinning table Ive seen which enabled all our family group to enjoy dinner together.
Mel is on hand to help with any problems such as the important replenishment of logs for the old large fire place.
Mel is very proud of his detailed research into the history of Hagg Hill Hall and he will keep you entertained as he describes it in minute detail (if you let him ). The present stone building was erected around 1600 using wooden beams from a previous medieval building.
Hagg Hill Hall is very convenient for Chatsworth House,Hardwick Hall, Hadden Hall and the lovely little market town of Bakewell.All well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca15...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous long weekend spent at Hagg Hill Hall x”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

19 of us have just got back from a long family weekend at hagg hill hall, we had the most amazing time! The house was stunning in every way and very clean. You don't have to worry about towels as there are plenty! The pool was a huge bonus...kept the children entertained all weekend. We all enjoyed relaxing in the fabulous hot tub.
The house is very cosy and boasts lots of quirky traditional features. We enjoyed a family roast dinner around the large dining table and went for a lovely long walk around the area (five pits trail).
Mr Humphreys was very friendly and was always happy to help. He left us little bottles of wine in each bedroom and also bought us a lovely bouquet of flowers to thank us for our stay.
We absolutely fell in love with the dogs, Deano and Tyson.
We would highly recomened this property it provides the perfect getaway for families or large parties.
Thank-you for letting us use your fabulous property.

Rebecca & Family xxxxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing