We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star experience...couldn't fault anything at...”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael S
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star experience...couldn't fault anything at all!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing weekend with friends in the most stunning house. Owners made sure it was very special with little extra touches (who was readily available if any problems). Beautiful period features and plenty of space for 18. Extremely clean and beds were very comfortable. The hot tub made the experience even better. Huge pool allowed all 18 of us to be together for fun and laughter. Certainly felt like our home for the weekend. A house for everyone!!
Amazing value for money and we will definitely be returning again...:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: That we had to come home!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa81co...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family get together, fantastic memorable weekend!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just had a wonderful weekend with the family at Hagg Hill Hall. Completely agree with the majority of the comments on here. We called in the night before as we wanted to put up some decorations as the stay was a surprise for the father in laws 60th, Mel the owner was very accommodating even though we were interrupting his evening and his tea! he was friendly and left us to it and even let us have a nosey around at the rooms. We had 10 adults and 5 children in our party and on the Sunday were joined by 4 more adults and 4 children, we made a Sunday roast which we enjoyed around the gorgeous pine dining table that Mel told us that him and his son had made, weighing 1/2 tonne! The kitchen had everything we needed to manage the big meal times. The amenities were perfect for our family, the younger children rangeing between 18 months and 4 years old. Mel was a great host, he wandered around a few times, it was nice to know he was on hand if we needed anything, but he wasn't intrusive in the slightest. He even popped in on the morning of our departure with a bunch of flowers for my mother in law. The only minor thing was it could have been cleaner and the rooms a bit brighter, however this did not detract from the overall stay, Hagg Hill Hall needs to be appreciated for what it is, historic and beautiful. The hot tub and swimming pool were great too. Overall it was a wonderful weekend and we would love to return some time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Return visit to HHH”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This is the second year running we have stayed at HHH. We are a party of 17 from Harrogate, Taunton, Norwich and St Albans, so a perfect middle spot. We love the old creaky floorboards and the quirky furnishings which give the place a fabulous character. It ticks all our boxes in terms of entertainment for 9 children - pool, hot tub, board games, lots of rooms to hide in, tvs in most rooms, a field for rounders and cricket, a country park just 15 mins walk away, and don't forget the horseriding which can be pre-arranged with the neighbour! Also bring your bike and running gear as this countryside is amazing!! Next year there will be even more bedrooms built in the loft and even a restored boat in the back garden - can't wait!! Oh, and Sainsburys delivers along with the local curry, pizza and fish and chip shops. Can't think of anywhere more perfect, thank you Mr Humphreys or should we call you Noah? Hope to see you again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charislc
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish I could live there.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What an amazing house! Hagg Hill Hall is beautiful, interesting and has everything you need. The pool and hot tub are amazing, and Mel was a great host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend in an amazing house.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were given a very warm welcome by the owner on our arrival & a comprehensive guided tour. My dog was made very welcome too. Hagg Hill Hall is impressive but not intimidating. We immediately felt at home in the cosy surroundings. We were blown away by the size of the dining table. Our teenage guest said it was bigger than her bedroom. It was perfect for our posh dinner with 17 guests, which was catered for superbly by Sloan'sCatering (I would definitely recommend them). We loved the quirkiness & the four poster beds. Everyone appreciated the swimming pool and there were lots of early morning swimmers. The hot tub was the piece de resistance for a small number of our party! We appreciated that Mr Humphreys knows his guests &provides plastic champagne glasses for the poolside. The children in our party had a fabulous time exploring the toy cupboard & watching the enormous Tv. All in all, this house has everything you need for a special occasion. There are some nice walks from the house too: we walked to Grasmoor Country Park.
Go to Hagg Hill Hall if you want cosy, quirky charm but not if you want chrome, modern & contemporary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: definitely the hot tub
Liked least: the twin bedroom that you have to walk through to get to another bedroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing