We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous, what a wonderful holiday we had”

Review of Chalet Setanta

Chalet Setanta in the Grand Massif
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Setanta in the Grand Massif
Wakeup to the incredible view Open plan ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Chalet Setanta in the Grand Massif
Wakeup to the incredible view
Open plan ground floor
BBQs on the patio
Super kingsize beds
Dining room and lounge
Satellite TV and Wi-Fi included
Flooded with daylight
The little details
Family dining table
Or eat alfresco
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Library of books, games and DVDs
Soak up the sun
Satellie TV
Twin bedroom
Designer bathrooms
All rooms can be made with super-king or twin beds
3 ensuite bathrooms and 1 large family bathroom
Private parking
View of chalet with Grand Massif in background
View from rear of Chalet
Early morning
Looking up to rear of chalet
Sunset
Afternoon tea during catered winter season
Dinner table setting for catered winter season
Winter Catered Ski Holiday package menus tailored to your family
Gourmet dining with Winter Catered Ski Holiday package
Airport transfer and in-resort driver included in Winter Catered package
Icicles hanging from the eves
Imagine what the powder is like on the slopes!
Chalet Setanta: all you need and could ever want for a perfect holiday.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Morillon, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Melanie N
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Very disappointing and awful experience. Could only stay one night as smell of sewage, drains and the damp downstairs just awful. Most of the bedrooms locked on our arrival although had booked to use whole chalet and old car parked in drive so we couldn't access chalet properly. Beds not made up for us and old sheets and linen used with stains when eventually made up. Garden unkempt and whole place in dire need of maintenance - for example, infested with insects, tatty kitchen areas with chipped crockery/old grouting, bathroom fan stays on all night, garden area unkempt and not mowed, garden furniture all piled up, windows and inside surfaces and mirrors filthy and smeared, lots of lights not working, front door difficult to unlock.
In our opinion this chalet is not suitable for children under 5 as the stairs are extremely steep and especially upstairs where there is a very small landing area.
We even had to telephone the owners to see if they had made a mistake with our booking as the chalet was so unready for us, even the fridge wasn't switched on.
We couldn't stay another night here as it was just too unpleasant and had to cut our holiday short to come home which was very upsetting.
Really poor accomodation and certainly does not fit the luxury genre as advertised.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Dear Melanie N,

DISPUTED REVIEW

Many thanks for your review posted on trip advisor YESTERDAY.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any issues that you realistically feel are justifiable.

I note from our records that you actually stayed A YEAR ago

The records show also that the guests who stayed the weeks before and after you were extremely satisfied and indeed one family has rebooked and will be staying next week ( A YEAR LATER).

I have no wish to dispute your unfounded comments but note your previous negativity on trip advisor towards other family amenities.

Thank you again for posting the review

Sarah B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali O
Goodworth
2 reviews
“fabulous, what a wonderful holiday we had”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Chalet is beautifully decorated and maintained well. The roaring fire each evening was a lovely feature. The food was delicious and plentiful along with the wine and beer. We were looked after royally and nothing was too much trouble. The Chalet was within easy reach of several pretty villages and three ski lifts. Sarah was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was efficient at sorting out the different level of skiers and getting us to the right place to all enjoy our skiing. We all said we would return as we had a wonderful holiday, all thanks you Sarah and Katie. We highly recommend you try this one for yourselves.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Thank you so much you were a pleasure to look after.
We hope to see you again
Sarah and Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alipenfol...
Goodworth Clatford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It's a beautiful Chalet with a fab fire place. The hosts were just lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The food was all delicious and the wine was plentiful. Ski lifts no more then 10 minutes away and the area caterers for skiing at all levels, we had real beginners and advanced skiers and everyone enjoyed themselves. Highly recommend you get booked in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments we look forward to welcoming you to Chalet Setanta in the future
Sarah and Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
428nicr
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly professional and great food!”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great food, fabulous fire place. Only 10 mins from Samoens, Morillon and Verclud, so easy access to the slopes.
Wonderful view over the valley too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Hi Nicholas
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed waking up to the fabulous view and of course the good food!
We hope to welcome you again in the future
Sarah and team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryandown...
County Dublin, Ireland
3 reviews
“Another wonderful week in Chalet Setanta - sublime”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My third time to stay in Chalet Setanta and probably the best weather-wise. Wonderfully looked after by hosts Sarah and Peter, all aspects of our stay were exceptional

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thank you Bryan, we hope to welcome you for a fourth visit!
Kind regards
Sarah and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing