We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
219
130
75
41
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
130
75
41
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews co op lobster pot swimming pool gold caravan entertainment staff mobile home evening entertainment rye harbour great fun a lovely holiday family holiday kids entertainment long weekend berth caravan half board out of season children and adults
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After 18months of planning and having to keep putting the date back due to pregnancy and my mothers cancer diagnosis/treatment we finally made it on our family holiday and boy are we glad we chose to come here. It was just the break/celebration we all needed.

Myself, my husband, mother, brother, grandfather and our 9 month old son booked a 10 berth silver+ caravan. It was compact but spacious enough for us. The kitchen was tiny and we all did wonder how it could comfortably serve 10 but our little group managed well.

We don't have many negatives about the caravan. The radiator in the living room was broken resulting in it being very cold in the morning, however my son is crawling/cruising/standing and would have burnt himself numerous times if it had been functional and we found that opening the bedroom doors allowed enough heat to warm the space. As expected the pressure in the shower was low. All the markings on the cooker had rubbed off, but that just created a fun game of "which ring is it?" and "how hot is the oven?" but that just adds to the charm of going on a caravan holiday.

The only real negative was a leak from under the caravan causing water to pool on the hardstanding/patio and waterlogged grass (due to weather) started to cause a problem to my 82year old granddad and we became concerned that he would fall/slip. We reported it to the front desk and requested a yard broom so that we could sweep off the excess water. Although the maintenance team came round very quickly and fixed the leak, a yard broom never appeared nor was it brushed off by the estate staff. In the end we resorted to using the provided indoor soft broom, and the patio was dry by the afternoon.

That aside we had a fantastic holiday. In terms of location the park is ideally situated with most major attractions being a (minimum) 20 minute drive on superb country lanes. The highlight of the holiday however were the staff. Despite coming in the off season and the park being extremely quiet, the entertainment team were quick to ensure that if you did appear at The Lobster Pot you were catered to. Including setting up a bouncy castle for just my son on one of their Toddler Time sessions. As a family we enjoyed taking part in the "Table Teasers", quiz and bingo. Being a diverse family with 4 different generations we are a hard crowd to please but the quiz was diverse enough that we all felt included. We really need to thank ParkStars Vicky, Paul & John who were so friendly, personable and welcoming, i was initially tentative taking my son on holiday who is only 9months but the ParkStars team were so amazing playing and talking to him, that he had a brilliant time. He thoroughly enjoyed meeting the life-sized characters of Loopy, Cyril & Penny which didn't frighten him as the approach was measured and gentle, something that i thoroughly appreciated as this was his first encounter with costumed characters.

The arcade is little but well stocked, if you want to win loads of tickets i suggest the jungle fruit machine. Any problems we had were sorted quickly and efficiently by the bar staff.

We ate dinner twice and dessert and few more times than that and had exceptional service every time from Matt and Vez who always took the time to talk to my son (and us). They went above and beyond including giving my son a ramekin of custard to eat because they had stopped serving main menu and he was still starving despite having a full dinner in the caravan, some pizza crust, baby snacks and mini cheddar's.

We really do have to commend Vez. On our last night there was an unexpected power cut due to the harsh wet weather. Over the course of holiday we amassed a small fortune of tickets to spend in the shop (which Vez runs) and two minutes before the shop was due to open the main fuse blew!!! We were devastated at the possibility of not getting any merch for the child, but armed with emergency lighting and a torch amongst all the chaos of trying to fix the problem she opened the shop and we ended our holiday extremely happy.

If nothing else the staff here will go above and beyond to ensure that you have the best time possible and that is really commendable.

Thank you all once again, your amazing hospitality, personalities and genuine affection gave us the family holiday we had been waiting so long for.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CouleTomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi, many thanks for your amazing review of winchelsea sands holiday park. we are delighted that you had a fantastic holiday in which sound like it was a very well deserved break for you all. its always great to read such positive reviews and i will be sure to pass on all your lovely comments to the team here at winchelsea. Dont forget we have some great offers available on second holidays this year or even if you wanted to come again next year, give us a call and speak to Danielle or rose on 01797-226-442.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Stay here from the 26th till 30th march very quiet park day and night,went to club house for meals a couple of time and must say very nice Expressionally the scampi and chips in a basket,the entertainment was not that good but as there was only a handful people they did try to get people doing quizzes and link up bingo which l won twice.outside of the park is a couple of pubs 31 bar and the ship,the ship was not only a pub but also had a butchers and a deli shop and the sausages was lovely.the co-op there is so expensive

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank winehousekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

thank you for your recent review of your holiday at winchelsea, we are delighted that you enjoyed our on park restaurant and the local amenities. we have lots of other places to visit with beautiful country pubs just a short drive away so if you decide to come back please ask at reception for local places of interest to visit and let us get your 4* review to a 5*.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the caravan park for a week. Didn’t pay much for the caravan for the week. However still had a lovely caravan to stay in! Very quiet at night and day. An ideal place to stay if you just want to relax.

Beautiful area. Went on many walks and we could see how stunning and wealthy the area is. Close to the beach and also very close to a co-op.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank becca234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Becca, thanks for your recent 5* review of your holiday at winchelsea. we are delighted that you found the holiday good value for money and you managed to get away to us for some peace and quite. Dont forget we have great offers on for 2nd holidays and it would be great to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We have just spent a long weekend at Winchelsea Sands and had the most amazing time ! John the entertainer was absolutely brilliant !! We even looking to coming back in August we have had the beat family weekend ! Thank you to all the staff for our brilliant stay and hopefully see you very soon ! Love from the crazy table

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank l0uisa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

hi John, thanks for you lovely review following on from your stay at winchelsea, i am delighted that you and your family had a brilliant stay and i will insure that your positive comments are passed to john. in regards to you possibly of bringing the crazy table back to winchelsea, we have some great repeat booking offers for 2nd holidays this year and also booking again for 2019 so why not give us a call on 01797-226-442 to get some prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Ohhh where do i start?!

We arrived on sat 17th march and we were welcomed by lovely friendly reception staff. We were provided with a clear map and instructions on how to find out caravan which we found with no problem. There is good car parking on this site and wasn't far from our caravan so carrying our luggage was no problem. We were super impressed with the caravan we were given! It was very clean and presented very well (we had a gold plus)

We have a 2 year old daughter so we went to the club house on sat evening. There was a 60th birthday party there which i think was for one of the owners but we felt more then comfortable and everyone was very nice!

On the sunday evening is when we got into the swing of things, we went to the club house for the childrens entertainment that evening and is was so empty, HOWEVER the entertainment team were absolutely fantastic, they still put on the whole show for my daughter and she was over the moon!

This happened every night, some evenings we were the only family there but the team still put on the show to a fantastic standard! Vicky is a lovely kind and brilliant lady who is fantastic with chlidren, my daughter absolutely loved her! Nothing seemed to much for her! Then we have paul, Paul is a very lovely man who is a pure gent, he always came out of his way to come and talk to us and ask how our day was and he was also fantastic with my daughter! Last but not least there was john, he is a cheeky chap who always seems to be smiling! He was a kind man wgo is very good at his job! We have been to many different park holidays and these guys absolutely smashed it by far the absolute best! I think its a lot garfer to entertain a small crowd then it is to entertain a big crowd and they did a fantastic job! They even made sure there was something for us adults, doing quizzes and bingo. I cannot thank these guys enough for giving us the best holiday we have ever had with park holidays!

We didnt eat a lot at the club house but when we did the food was really nice!! Thankyou vez for your fantastic cooking! Vez was also another lady eho always went out of her way to come and chat with us and was a truly lovely lady!

The var staff were lovely too especially reece! He is a lovely kind hearted man wgo always went above and beyond recommending new drinks to try ext which went down nicely.

I have never been to a park holidays where they have an all round good service like this! I cannot thank all of the staff enough for being so fabulous. We really haf ghe best time ever!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Amilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

wow!! thank you so much for your review, we are all delighted that you had an amazing holiday and i will insure that all your positive comments are fed back to the team especially to the entertainments team. as the general manager i'm elated that my staff made this a special holiday for you and your family and we would love to see you again soon. so why not give rose or Danielle a call and take us up on some of the great repeat booking offers we have available, the number is 01797-226-442.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews