We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Family Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Cuscurro

Stunning pool with pool and jacuzzi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning pool with pool and jacuzzi
Jaccuzi spa next to pool with amazing views and night lighting. Colour changing pool lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Stunning pool with pool and jacuzzi
Jaccuzi spa next to pool with amazing views and night lighting.
Colour changing pool lights
Refurbished farmhouse Kitchen
Master bedroom
Drinks in the jacuzzi
Double bedroom cottage
Courtyard dining
View of pool from farmhouse
Lounge area in courtyard with day bed
Master bedroom terrace and views
Poolside sun terrace
NEW ANNEXE GRANARY
Gated courtyard leading to outside kitchen and alfresco dining and chillout area
Farmhouse and cottage form Cortijo Cuscurro
Large dining room
Views from the patio and pool area.
Evening gatherings round the fire pit.
New Built Fire pit.
Nearby Village
Nearby lake Vinuela
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Riogordo, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
PJohn50
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We, (that's all 11 of our 3 generation family) really loved our week at Cortijo Cuscurro, it's so relaxing by the pool, with sun loungers and parasols for shade, not forgetting the hot tub!! Inside there is everything you need, a great kitchen with a large oven and massive fridge, ideal for chilling the beers!!

The Villa is about 5 clicks outside of the local town Riogordo, which is a traditional Spanish village, with a few bars where you can watch the world go by with the locals, for only 1 euro for a small beer!!

The village has two small supermarkets and a great butchers, bakers, fish mongers, fruit shop etc, where we got most of our provisions and food for the barbecue, it was so inexpensive, I didn't realise what good value Spain is!!

You will need a car (we had two 7 seaters), to explore the surrounding areas, including a great day at the beach at Torres del Mar, which was about 30 minutes away and Torremolinos/Benalmadena around an hour away, but both are well worth a visit.

Well, I can't say much more about Cortijo Cuscurro, except that if you are thinking of booking the property, don't hesitate, you'll kick yourself if you miss out on experiencing this beautiful place!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you Phil for a great review. The feedback is always appreciated and we love to hear from our guests experiences for future guests.
Thanks and hope to see you again some time.
Lisa and Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cortijo Cuscurro for a week with friends and family to celebrate Shaun's 50th Birthday (13 adults and one toddler). We had an amazing time. The farmhouse was so beautiful, oozing character, we felt as though we were staying in a National Trust property! It was well equipped with everything you could have needed, with quality furnishings and decor throughout, and beautifully spacious.
The cottage was smaller, but equally characterful.
The gardens were just lovely, with lilac and jasmin in bloom. The outdoor areas were brill, we enjoyed chillaxing by the pool and in the hot tub, and the courtyard and outdoor dining area was excellent for joining as a big group for evening meals and drinks, with the very convenient large gas barbeque. With swallows darting in and out, nesting above our heads, fairy lights strung around,this was an amazing space to gather together. We had 6 out of our 7 nights here, eating like kings, drinking, laughing, dancing, singing, clowning around, and then dozing off!
The Cortijo is remote, and car hire is recommended for shopping and trips out. We had a lovely day at the beach in Nerja, and a visit to Comares is highly recommended; amazing views and so tranquil. Local restaurant Casa Ortega - 8 minutes drive was great, lovely relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, delicious food and really cheap. Equally nice for lunch or evening meals.
Julian and Lisa were extremely helpful supporting us before and during our stay; organising a local lady to make us a birthday cake, booking the restaurant and organising transport, stocking up with groceries before we arrived, ordering a wood pile for the fire pit. They were really knowledgeable about local stuff and were really happy to advise us on a variety of things; where to visit, where to shop,
recommendations from the menu at Ortega's. The stars in the sky at night were incredible, and several nights we saw shooting stars, it felt magical.
Several members of our group went walking, the area is great for this, the scenery was lovely with lemons, oranges and almonds growing all around. Riogordo is lovely, so pretty, the locals so friendly and delighful. We all felt very sad when the time came to come home, we had all had a fantastic holiday, and felt priviledged to have stayed in this beautiful house in such an amazing part of the world, a very secial place.
Thank you Julian and Lisa and we hope to visit you again before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Cactus by the pool - steer clear of the prickles
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to review CORTIJO Cuscurro.
We hope to welcome you back one day. Lots of improvements fir 2015. New refurbished Annexe. New pool tiling. New bedroom in cottage. Thanks Lisa and Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pettsy201...
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Chillout”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic holiday. Wonderful villa, wonderful setting. Perfect for getting away from it all. Everything about the place is wonderful, from the setting to the villa itself. Lisa and Julian make sure everything is perfect for you and are wonderful hosts. Would highly recommend a stay here, will most certainly return soon !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: nothing, it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. So pleased you had a great time here at Cortijo Cuscurro, it means a lot to us that your stay here goes well.
Hope to see you again on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateSouth...
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa in rural Andalusia”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was a great holiday and the villa was everything we could have wished for. I would echo the sentiments of the other reviewers exactly. Lisa and Julian have got the balance just right in respect of being helpful and giving you plenty of space. I would query '20 minutes to the coast' as it took us nearer 40 minutes, but driving in such a stunning landscape and on good roads is a pleasure. Thanks for a brilliant, restful holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the villa
Liked least: the ants
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
HI
Thank you for your review on Cortijo Cuscurro. We are so pleased you had such a good stay here in Riogordo.
Yes, it can take a little longer to get to the coast, but there is a cut through that you can use, unfortunately it was cut off while you were here, so having to go through Riogordo to get to the Lake road does add 5 minutes to the journey. They have opened the road now, so it is a little quicker. Its a great drive though as you say. And a stop at the lake for a coffee on the way down to admire those stunning views is a must !!!! Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S
Congleton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous villa in perfect surroundings”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This well equipped villa was our home for three weeks with a group including a range of children from 1 to 14. A lot of care has been taken for those finishing touches to the furnishings and making it feel like a real home rather than a standard holiday let.
The location is very quiet and unspoilt with breathtaking views. It's a very rural Spanish experience and you quickly come to terms with the way of life, relaxing!
Any little wrinkles were quickly sorted by the owners. There are so many spaces that you can simply chill out, sunbathe, a dip in the warm swimming pool or relax in the hot tub whenever you fancy. The children loved swimming under the stars and the colourful well lit pool area.
The villa is very private with no immediate neighbours apart from the odd herd of goats that you can hear in the distance.
We loved the covered outside dining area which was a real focus in sharing our meals including the three baby swallows that nested close by.
The owners lived in the adjoining property but were very respectful of your privacy and were so helpful with lots of tips and kindly organised transport and the local restaurant to celebrate a 21st birthday. We seemed to spend most days celebrating birthdays from a first birthday to one that was well above 21!
You need to be prepared to travel to the larger supermarkets but the local shops and small restaurants are a real experience and very inexpensive. You don't get close to the usual 'Costa' prices as the shops serve the local Spanish community.
Thank you to Lisa and Julian (along with the loveable dogs, Henry and Elvis) for a memorable holiday (and the fresh vegetables from your garden) and I hope that you have continuing success with your properties . I hope we can come back at some point in the future but recommend your villa to larger groups and families for a great base for any holiday stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outside dining areas
Liked least: travelling to the supermarkets for the big shop
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Cortijo Cuscurro. We are very pleased you had a great stay here in Riogordo.
August is always a very exciting time with lots of local fiestas.

We were pleased that we were here to be on hand for your needs during your 3 week stay. As you found out, we are in a separate property down on the plot below, detatched completely from The Cortijo Cuscurro and Cottage , therefor we are always cautious to respect all our guests privacy during their stay., yet we are here should the need arise.

Some guests come and go, without us seeing them at all apart from when maintaining the large gardens, pool and spa. Others are happy to have us locally for any help or advise they may need during their stay.

3 birthday's all in 3 weeks was first for us, and we were so happy to be of assistance to make these occasions fun and easy for you all. It was a pleasure meeting you all, especially the youngest member of your group. Bless her.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing