We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous villa in perfect surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Cuscurro

Pool by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool by night
Refurbished farmhouse Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Pool by night
Refurbished farmhouse Kitchen
Jaccuzi spa next to pool with amazing views and night lighting.
Master bedroom
Drinks in the jacuzzi
View of pool from farmhouse
Colour changing saline pool
Courtyard dining
Lounge area in courtyard with day bed
Master bedroom terrace and views
Poolside sun terrace
NEW ANNEXE GRANARY
Gated courtyard leading to outside kitchen and alfresco dining and chillout area
Farmhouse and cottage form Cortijo Cuscurro
Evening gatherings round the fire pit.
New Built Fire pit.
Nearby Village
Nearby lake Vinuela
Views from the patio and pool area.
Large dining room
Double bedroom cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Riogordo, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Keith S
Congleton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous villa in perfect surroundings”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This well equipped villa was our home for three weeks with a group including a range of children from 1 to 14. A lot of care has been taken for those finishing touches to the furnishings and making it feel like a real home rather than a standard holiday let.
The location is very quiet and unspoilt with breathtaking views. It's a very rural Spanish experience and you quickly come to terms with the way of life, relaxing!
Any little wrinkles were quickly sorted by the owners. There are so many spaces that you can simply chill out, sunbathe, a dip in the warm swimming pool or relax in the hot tub whenever you fancy. The children loved swimming under the stars and the colourful well lit pool area.
The villa is very private with no immediate neighbours apart from the odd herd of goats that you can hear in the distance.
We loved the covered outside dining area which was a real focus in sharing our meals including the three baby swallows that nested close by.
The owners lived in the adjoining property but were very respectful of your privacy and were so helpful with lots of tips and kindly organised transport and the local restaurant to celebrate a 21st birthday. We seemed to spend most days celebrating birthdays from a first birthday to one that was well above 21!
You need to be prepared to travel to the larger supermarkets but the local shops and small restaurants are a real experience and very inexpensive. You don't get close to the usual 'Costa' prices as the shops serve the local Spanish community.
Thank you to Lisa and Julian (along with the loveable dogs, Henry and Elvis) for a memorable holiday (and the fresh vegetables from your garden) and I hope that you have continuing success with your properties . I hope we can come back at some point in the future but recommend your villa to larger groups and families for a great base for any holiday stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outside dining areas
Liked least: travelling to the supermarkets for the big shop
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Cortijo Cuscurro. We are very pleased you had a great stay here in Riogordo.
August is always a very exciting time with lots of local fiestas.

We were pleased that we were here to be on hand for your needs during your 3 week stay. As you found out, we are in a separate property down on the plot below, detatched completely from The Cortijo Cuscurro and Cottage , therefor we are always cautious to respect all our guests privacy during their stay., yet we are here should the need arise.

Some guests come and go, without us seeing them at all apart from when maintaining the large gardens, pool and spa. Others are happy to have us locally for any help or advise they may need during their stay.

3 birthday's all in 3 weeks was first for us, and we were so happy to be of assistance to make these occasions fun and easy for you all. It was a pleasure meeting you all, especially the youngest member of your group. Bless her.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always love to have repeat guests. We have several repeat guests this year, which is very encouraging.
Elvis and Henry do love to make an appearance., especially when guests like giving tit bits!! Having said this, if guests do not like animals, they are always kept away from The Cortijo !! Respect for privacy is top of the list and as you know, this is what most people love about The Cortijo. Privacy, seclusion, views and Chillaxing!!
Look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Lisa and Julian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PubVisito...
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, beautiful, perfect.”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Wonderful location, in the mountains a few farmhouses and villas dotted about, but within easy reach of Riogordo, a lovely little village where you can stock up on groceries the people are very friendly and if like us you only have a spattering of Spanish they are happy to help you.

The farmhouse is beautiful, very rustic but with all the mod cons, large flat screen TVs in the lounge, kitchen and bedroom also DVD players and a Jacuzzi bath to name but a few. The view from the master bedroom is quiet breathtaking, nice for having your morning coffee on. When we looked at the photographs on the website we thought that Cortijo Cuscurro looked very nice, but in fact the photographs do not do the house justice it is beautiful, very well finished with so many tasteful touches. As for the outside space, the terraces, pool and hot tub are perfect and all set in lovely gardens. It is an experience not to be missed to sit in the hot tub at night and watch the sun set or have a glass of wine under the stars. Many thanks to Lisa and Julian we hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: There was nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2012
Hi Ladies,
Thank you for taking the time to review Cortijo Cuscurro and we are so pleased you enjoyed the house and facilities. Thank you for leaving the house so nice. We hope to welcome you back to The Cortijo some day.
We have since you visited painted throughout, as we try hard to keep the house to a good standard for a guests to enjoy.
Many thanks Lisa and Julian and co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terri c
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday yet.”
Reviewed 28 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I traveled with a group of 14 and stayed for 4 nights in celebration of my 21st birthday.

Upon arrival we were all thoroughly impressed. The villa itself is stunning and the views are marvelous.

We spent every evening in drinking and dancing, there is plenty of room to do so as there is an impressive courtyard with a fabulous seating area.

The first day we woke up to do a food and drink shop, 5 trollies and 20 shopping bags later... We decided we deserved a break and took to one of the local bars.

We spent one day down at Torre del Mar, a beach located 30 minutes away, which was unspoiled by tourists and all had a great day drinking cocktails in the beach bar. The weather is still sunbathing worthy in September as it was 26oC!!

All in all we are all incredibly gutted to be home as it was by far one of the best holidays any of us have ever had. Would Def go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself - so lush
Liked least: Pool wasn't cleaned whilst we were there
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2011
Thank you for your review of Cortijo Cuscurro. We are very pleased that you enjoyed celebrating your 21st here with friends and family. The courtyard is ideal for coming together, yet all having your own space to escape during the day.!! Hope to see you agin in Riogordo. Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plzen
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2011
Glad you all enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing