We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best of Both Worlds”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Riogordo, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sophie T
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best of Both Worlds”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We wanted to be in town, but also wanted a pool. The combination is not always easy to find, so we were delighted to find Salamanquesa.

The house is spacious, clean, well-equipped and comfortably furnished. It has details often absent in much more expensive places - like excellent pillows and above bed reading lights you can actually read by. With 4 proper sized double rooms this place is excellent value.

If you wanted a non-driving holiday, you could get from Malaga airport by bus. Good buses and a regular service - it takes about an hour. Once here, there is a huge choice of spectacular walking options accessible from the front door of Salamanquesa. There is something for everyone. We favour good tracks and quiet roads where you can look at the view while walking and not worry about placing your next step and there is plenty of that, but there are also more adventurous options taking you high into the mountains. See Wikiloc for more information.

There is a plentiful supply of bars and restaurants selling good food and there seems to be a small supermarket one every block. Fresh food market on Wednesday morning. The excellent info folder gives more detail.

I managed to make a bit of a mess of the booking, but the owner was very helpful and sorted out with good humour.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thanks for the lovely review.
We managed to get it all sorted in the end between us and I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay.
We look forward to welcoming you to Salamanquesa in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O3157PMjo...
Barnham Broom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a great house set in a lovely little genuine Spanish village”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house is really nice, we felt right at home straight away and the views from the rear balcony are amazing. The village is so nice and relaxed and the local people were so friendly. Loads of places to eat and drink and so cheap we couldn’t believe it, I could have spent the whole week just in the village. My only tip would be take a phrase book (or use an app as I did) as the locals English was worse than my Spanish and that’s saying something! It made it all the more fun. A great place to go to escape the tourists.

Date of stay: October 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Salamanquesa. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
videbæk
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen and barbeque
Liked least: The hills in Riogordo
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Hi Peter,
Thank you for the kind review.
Really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future. We give a discount to returning guests! ;)
Kind regards
Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
169Woody
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have visited this house on a number of occasions and my partner usually visits twice a year and has done for the last three years. The house is always spotlessly clean on arrival and the owner and his staff are very approachable, and if there are any problems there is a local contact who responds immediately.
We will continue to use this house on our visits to Riogordo it is excellent value and a good location, with everything you need for a holiday.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Hi Martyn,
Thanks for the kind review. Much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paugeo19
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Neither superb or luxurious!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I'm afraid I really don't think it's fair to let prospective renters of this property to not give an honest overview of our stay here in August 2016.. This property is incorrectly and unfairly described as superb and luxurious because it most definitely does not fit either of those descriptions. It has been economically or cheaply furnished and fitted out in the extreme! The furniture in the bedrooms for things like your clothes are so flimsy and cheap they could have been made from match wood and one was so rickety we had to move it to a corner of the room to support it just so that it wouldn't collapse! The tables on the balcony upstairs were filthy, and pillow cases had old stains on one or two. The TV didn't work neither did the radio and the old sofas have sheets thrown over them to hide stains and wear. The kitchen lacks little things like a pair of scissors, the toaster is so small and cheap we couldn't even fit standard size sliced bread in it. The clock in the kitchen doesn't work, the lights on the upper balcony didn't work so you were in the pitch black after the sun goes down ruining any chance of relaxing in that space on an evening and there was no proper parasol for use up there in the day. The ones we found in a cupboard downstairs were two small and flimsy or had a large hole in it! There is no air con and trust me you need it in August regardless of what the owner says! You can't open doors and windows in the evening because the cats can get in! Overall this property is very very basic but functional and largely clean but in NO WAY superb and luxurious! Basic requirements to enjoy things like a nice glass of cold white wine would be an ice jacket but none is provided. The door upstairs to the balcony is so warped it gets stuck halfway so you can't open it fully the list goes on and on and on.....the house severley lacks basic maintenance. We wouldn't recommend this house or return.

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Whilst we are aware of some items that need maintenance, like sticking doors, these are scheduled for repair when there is a suitable space in the calendar later in the year.

There are a number of comments that are basically incorrect. The toaster is a standard size toaster bought from the local electrical shop.
There is actually a stainless steel wine cooler in the kitchen cupboard to keep wine chilled.
There are scissors in a kitchen drawer, along with other things like needles and thread which we thought might be useful.
The ‘sheets’ over the sofas are actually termed ‘throws’ and are used to protect the furniture. They are replaced every year as is any stained linen.
The TV and all electrical equipment is checked regularly and we have not been made aware of any problems by other guests.

We have discussed the comments re dirty tables with the team that maintain the house for us and they dispute this. We have never had anyone say this before, in fact quite the opposite.

Sometimes people set out to find fault and whilst we are aware of some things that require maintenance and this is in hand, the fact is that we have a number of guests who return regularly and have had complimentary emails from most of the guests this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.