We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and yet inespensive”
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cenacolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

When I was looking for a hotel to stay in Assisi this one was not in my list because 1 thing: This is not located in Assisi, this is about 2 or 3 miles away (5 minutes car driving). After a more detailed look I choose this one (thanks God, I'll explain below). The hotel is the nicest I've stayed in Italy 'till now: nice Staff, nice and modern room, good price, good breakfast, free internet, calm, quiet and brand new -- seems like they just built it.

About the location: For the ones that does not know the place (just like me) we use to think that it is a plus to stay directly on the city of Assisi, this is very wrong. Assisi is a medieval city with small and very tiny streets among a lot of hills and very few (almost none) place to park in the middle of the city. All the hotels over there are really small and adapted to fit the buildings from 800 years ago (the whole city cannot be touched because this is a unesco world patrimonial). When arriving at the city, you can park at the entrance of it, just near the San Francesco Basilica for 10 Euros a day (or get a cab for around 6 euros) and start walking from there. There are lots of places to visit and 98% of them is just at walking distance. The only time I needed the car again was to go to the church of San Damiano (the original church of San Francesco) which is located a couple miles away from the city.

Pros: brand new, modern rooms, nice staff, good breakfast, free internet.

Cons: found none.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlosbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 104 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

10 min walk from train station & easy 15 ish min by bus to main Assisi town on the hill.
Hotel is clean, modern and spacious with good sized bathroom. Nice little inner courtyard & plenty of car parking if you're driving (which we weren't).
Breakfast was the best we'd had in our stay in Italy but felt the head guy at breakfast was always watching when we went up for seconds!!
Girls on reception we encountered were lovely but the guy was a little cold.
Check out the church on the other side of the train tracks, well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiHJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We booked this hotel not knowing that Santa Maria degli Angeli was such an important place for pilgrims (off course we could have known just looking at the name). But it wasn't a bad thing! The hotel is an old monastery completely renovated to high standards you expect nowadays from a 4* hotel. Room was of normal size and bathroom had an rain shower. You can see the hotel is still quite new, because of the nice design. Breakfast overall was nice, but on Sunday morning all the family that had stayed over from the wedding that night before, caused there was not so much left after they started eating. Later on the waiters luckily brought nice cakes & bread. Overall a nice stay in a lovely area with Assisi just "around the corner".

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is nicely designed with the exterior brick in keeping with the surrounding area and new/modern interiors without being too modern. The large courtyard in the center of the hotel is an inviting and nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. This hotel is a good option if you have a car since it is easily accessible and offers plenty of parking. It can be difficult to find hotels in Assisi or Perugia with easy access by car since they are hilltop towns and some areas in town are for pedestrians only.
The room at the hotel was impeccably clean, with a comfy bed & good size bathroom. Breakfast was generous with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee,etc.

The only small problem was that I had to keep asking the reception staff to turn on the AC in my room. There is a control in the room but the main power seems to be controlled by the front desk so the AC kept blowing hot air until I informed the reception desk and they then switched it on; I had to ask on 3 separate occasions. Also, the computer in the lobby offering free internet is very slow so couldnt even use it and the reception staff said they couldnt do anything about the connection.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourFriendInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here as a mid-point stop between Rome and Venice, and absolutely fell in love with the hotel which is at the bottom of the hill from Assisi, a charming little town I didn't want to leave! The hotel breakfast was superb, staff extremely accomodating, free internet, gorgeous courtyard area. I imagine it was low season because there were not alot of guests, to the point it felt a little creepy at times. We drove up the hill to the quaint town of Assisi where the locals were all very authentic, the roads steep and cobbled, but quite the fantastic Umbrian views and many beautiful churches to explore. The room at the hotel was impeccably clean, the bathroom felt luxurious and grand. We loved every second of it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belladolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
3.6 km away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
670 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 70 in Assisi
756 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
476 reviews
2.8 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
3.4 km away
Grand Hotel Assisi
Grand Hotel Assisi
#15 of 70 in Assisi
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Address: Via Patrono d'Italia 70, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range: ₹ 5,242 - ₹ 14,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first moment, entering the Hotel Cenacolo Assisi, the atmosphere is a world apart, made of simple and precious things, where hospitality meets the Franciscan tradition in this wonderful city of peace, Assisi, to experience strong emotions. The Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is the Franciscan Hotel of Santa Maria degli Angeli, where a skilful restoration has allowed us to maintain the original structure, respecting its suggestions and connotations as convent. The architectural elements and materials used, such as the stone of Assisi, along with steel and glass, are a masterful blend of ancient and modern. At Hotel Cenacolo Assisi you will enjoy some wonderful days in Assisi. Stay in one of our comfortable guestrooms including classic, superior rooms and junior suites, perfect for getaways with your partner or with friends. Likewise, you will enjoy great moments with yours in our beautiful cloister, a very special venue to celebrate your wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing