We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
keswick
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Group Getaway”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Buffet food excellent. Resort was fun, staff awesome, vendors they allow into resort very good prices. Loved how close to Bucerias market. Rooms comfortable with quick check in. Would definitely go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Loved Bldg 4. Far enough away from the entertainment venues if you wanted an early night, but close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    2,069
    700
    278
    147
See reviews for
1,253
1,811
111
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winkler, Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a great property. Beuatiful grounds. Friendly staff. Lots of things to do. Greta beach.
Lots of chairs and lounges. Great food. Always something for everyone.
Clean and well kept....good service.

Room Tip: You will have a great time here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dueck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okotoks
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First time to Royal Decameron just north of Puetro Vallarta. It was a great trip for our kids. the resort was very well kept food was alot better than we expected. Lots of pools so they were never really crowded even though it was easter break. The people at the resort were fabulous. They were friendly, helpful and would go out of thier way to make the kids feel at home. We hired a cab to take us to the market and through my broken english I managed to hire the cab driver (big bus style cab) for the day. For 120us he took us whever we wanted to go. We went to a small surfing village north of Royal decameron called Sayulita. It was a great day, the kids took a surf lesson from "captain Pablos fly fishing surfing and such". great people. Would have liked to go out for a days fishing with him but time didnt permit. If you are in this area make sure you visit this little village. We also took some excursions through "Peurto Vallatra Adventures". These I will review seperatly as one was fantastic, one was ok and one was terrible and I feel we had been fleeced. All in all a great family vacation if you just want ot go and chill out and watch the kids have fun. I would highly recomened the Royal Decameron to anyone going to this area.

Room Tip: If you are going with kids stay at block 6. It is right on the big pool. Very quite at night. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Get ready for a wordy review...

Check In-

We arrived via Calgary at 2am, we arrived to an organized check in system that took about 8 mins to complete, we had workers to greet us with our luggage, snacks awaiting and numerous cups of beers, wine, etc awaiting. They had line ups broken down by last names (ex, A-F, F-M, etc) so the line ups went super fast. We were with a group of 12 people and our requests were made for us to all be in the same area, that was met. The staff spoke excellent English...and were SO helpful. Our first impression of the grounds were made, and we we knew we were in for a great week!

Rooms- We made our way up to out room, I had read on here to stay in Block 4 (especially if you have children) we were SO happy with where we stayed...we were in 4323 and 4324. We were expecting to see 'dated' rooms as per Trip Advisors reviews that we read ahead of time. We were quite happy when we got into our room, we had a king bed and the kids rooms had 2 doubles (exactly what we had requested!). The room was very clean, we had bottled water there...forsure nothing 'fancy' but we were quite impressed with the room overall. The rooms were cleaned early each day (but not too early, we slept until 10am Mexico time each day and only once did the maid knock to wake us up!)...when we returned by 2pm our rooms were cleaned, and I mean clean-clean...not just a quick tidy. We wanted extra water one day, and we requested it in the halway and got it.

Pools-
We first hung out at pool by Block 4, but it was pretty calm and our children (11 and 15) loved the 'party pool' which is by block #1, where the music is going and water games take place with the entertainment team, so we enjoyed hanging there...and WE called it a party pool due to the music...it was not 'party' at all...it was just fun being there! They had water polo, volleyball, beach volleyball, etc going on a frequent basis. IF thats not your thing, there are 5 pools in total (even an adult only pool by block 5). The pools were NEVER too busy, it was well spread out. We always got a spot by shade after a little wait, but there were always sun chairs open. The pools are SO well maintained...they were cleaned often. A child had pooped in a pool, it was closed down immediately and treated for 24 hours-which shows me that they take it seriously. Pools were just excellent. The pool areas were SO clean, well kept with the chairs being washed down every night. We were amazed, NO bugs at all which we discovered they also bleach down the pool decks in the evenings too making it exceptionally clean. Each sitting area has an ashtray and garbage so no yuckiness around the pools.

Beach- We were SO happy to beable to sleep in until 10am each day, and STILL hangout on the beach in the mornings (pools in the afternoon)...always a spot. And again, like the pool area it is exceptionally clean. Raked each night/early morning, chairs wiped down each day and again ashtrays and garbages to reduce the junk laying around. Now, my only complaint about the beach were the peddlers...every 5-8 mins someone came around to sell you their stuff, it does get a bit annoying every few minutes to have to say 'no thank you'...when I am reading, listening to my iPod, etc...but the sunglass guy has knock off Raybans, Oakleys, etc if you want some cheap glasses for vacation (15.00). They will braid your hair there, children sell chicklets, breaclets, etc. but we kept in mind they are just trying to make some money...so we were pleasant and simply said 'no thank you' and they continued on their way-not pushy at all. Our children went parasailing, they LOVED it! We hit the beach every morning, then the pools in the afternoons. It wasn't a bad undertow at all...they were able to swim, boogie board, etc. It was great...

Nightly shows- We enjoyed the shows alot, we left early this past Saturday as it wasn't very good at all. But otherwise they were all really good, lots of seating-we sat up at the very top so we could lean up against the wall for back support. Our only complaint is, the show hosts often speak only in Spanish and has the audience laughing, etc and we (Engish speaking) had no clue what was being said...kinda was annoying but then others spoke in Spanish then translated it to English.

Food- this was the first resort that I ate meat. I am a pretty picky eater, as is our 11 year old daughter and we were both VERY happy with the food. The buffets serve different things each night, so we often walked through to check it out to see where we wanted to eat. We didn't want to do any Al La Cartes so we just stuck to the buffets. We did lunch at the snack bar (nachos and cheese, hot dogs, burgers, salads, etc). The food was really great, and our of a group of 12 of us-not one had stomach issues. I met a lady yesterday with a group of 10 who were there for the week and not one person with their group was sick either-which is HUGE for us...that alone makes this place the best we've been too (stayed at a 5 start last year and my husband and son were sick). The service was excellent...everywhere we ate. NO complaints about the food at all. They take alot of percautions...we seen tongs fall and the wait staff run out and take the basket away after the person who dropped the tongs picked them up and put it back into the bread basket-and the staff ran and took it away. The break is covered all the time with linens, the staff wear face masks, etc. Just really good to see the many percautions.

Service- Manuel, Alberto, Carla are a few who stand out. Alberta is in entertainment (aka-Micheal) he made my 15 year old son feel quite comfortable and encouraged him to take part in activities. Manuel is a waiter at the buffet by block 4 and Carla is the kids club girl.

Kids Club- For children aged 5-12 years old. Drop off at 10am-1pm then 3pm-5pm. Lots of fun activities...our daughter enjoyed it a few times but it forsure is great for smaller children!

We read to go for massage off the resort and we were SO happy we did! We put the kids in Kids Club, walked literally 2 minutues (to the right) and went to the 2nd tent and got an HOUR massage for 20.00!!!!! It was SO good, we went again. If we weren't with the kids-we seriously would have gone everyday...it was AWESOME! Met a lady who used the resort one, paid 65.00 for 1 hour...walk the 2 mins and save major money!!!!

We went into the village, it wasn't good for us but we weren't looking to buy stuff anyhow just wanted to see the village. I am an animal lover, and hated seeing stay dogs running around- some whom were hurt :( However, a couple I met on the beach yesterday said there is an orphanage blocks away from the resort that they took donations too and hung with the children. I wish we had known this, as I would have looooved to load up on Dollarama stuff and spend a few hours play with the kids there. So, if your interested in that you might want to consider it. When we go back, we will visit it forsure.

I was a bit worried about going to the RDC as some reviews were so bad...but honestly we LOVED our vacation. We already looked at rates to return...I'm sure we will within the next 6-10 months...for the value it was just amazing. This was the first time I stayed at a resort and after a week still wanted to stay longer. I would stay there for 2 weeks forsure!!!! I was NOT ready to go home, at all. I feel homesick, and am really missing it. Usually by day 5-6 I am ready to leave and miss home...but nope...I'm missing RDC forsure.

Our children loved it so much ... I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Block 1 is ocean front, which would be beautiful if higher up. Its a good location. Block 2, same th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cfmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC,
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have been to Decameron 3 times now. The staff is amazing & friendly & always smiling & joking with you. Food is ok, but I'm not going for 5 star food. You will NOT starve and there is something for everyone. The bar tending is generous. We had an amazing time at the bar by pool #1, with Victor & Fernando! They rock! The cups they use are small, so bring along or buy a travel mug and they will fill it gladly for you. They do not water down drinks here, as we can attest too! :)

The rooms are not glamorous, but they do the job. They are clean and all you should be spending time in there for is sleeping....get out and see the place. I love the amount of space this resort offers. I've been to a 5 star resorts in Cancun it had such a tiny beach. I've also done a 5 star in PV and wouldn't go back to it. Enough pools and lounge chairs for everyone. I didn't experience a problem with getting a lounge chair by the pool or on the beach at all, so no complaints from us.

Go kayaking in the morning, around 10 or so, and you may see the dolphins cruise by. The shows are amazing, great talent! You will want to bring air mattresses for the lounge chairs as they are pretty hard after a bit.

Walk to Bucerias, great shopping & no need to really go to PV for shopping. We never did go into PV, did all our shopping on the beach & in Bucerias. Stop at Fat Boy's on the beach of Bucerias and have amazing jumbo prawns, about 7" long and a great margarita. Sign your name on a wall. Listen to live music, they usually have someone there. David (guitar player) is great!

We will go again, hopefully soon. Talk to the staff, some have been there for 10 years or more! They like it there. Our friends that we went with, want to go back there for their honeymoon. They have travelled quite a bit and were surprised how great it was. We met people from W Virginia and they were going to leave, but stayed and ended up having a fantastic time.

Awesome experience overall.

Oh and just an FYI........ there is no one but yourself to move your lounge chair....get over it and deal with it! :)

Room Tip: Building 4 is a great place to be, central & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank javaheadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
1.1 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
2.5 km away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,129 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
1.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,717 - ₹ 22,882
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing