We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
30
11
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
11
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toilet and shower block reception shop flamingo land pitch sizes basic necessities superb site clean site tent area lovely little village night stay the pub well worth a visit touring pitches central heating local attractions malton facilities
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

The caravan we stayed in was lovely. It was filled with everything we needed in the kit hen and was clean. The shower was one of the best I have tried in any caravan.
The site is immaculate and very well tended by staff. It is quiet and it suited us that there was very little on the site.
There is a cafe selling home baking and a pub doing meals nearby as well as a small shop. The reception shop has a few things but the site is central to larger market towns for supermarkets.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki-Damian, Manager at Robin Hood Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review the park for us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Beki & Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the site for 5 nights in order to be near Castle Howard and other local attractions. The site is very well kept, with superb facilities; virtually all touring pitches are fully serviced (EHU, fresh water and grey waste). The owner, Beki, is very helpful, even finding and printing walking routes for us when we casually mentioned walking/cycling in the area.

One thing to note is that the entrance to the site is on the Malton to Helmsley road (B1257), and not in Green Dyke Lane (don't follow Satnav)!

The village of Slingsby is picturesque, with many Yorkshire stone cottages. It has limited facilities - a village store, The Grapes Inn (excellent food) and two churches; there are a few more facilities in nearby Hovingham. There is a bus service every two hours from the village Green to Malton, from where you can get either buses to other locations or trains to Scarborough/York-Leeds.

Nearby Castle Howard (3m / 5km from the site) is well worth a visit. Tip: book online at least a day before your visit to save 10% on the admission price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gammon_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki-Damian, Manager at Robin Hood Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you so much for posting your review of the park. It was a pleasure to have you stay and I'm pleased you were able enjoy the walks around our area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Beki & Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We have just camped in our tent over the recent bank holiday weekend and would not recommend this campsite due to a few reasons.......1. toilet block was much too far away from the tent field. In fact the tent field was the furthest away from the toilets, a good 5+ mins walk, yet we were the campers that needed them the closest and the customers who were staying in statics (who didn’t require use of them were in close vicinity!). I feel for families with children, it must have been very awkward. 2. For the size of the campsite the facilities were too few e.g. only 2 showers and 4 toilets that when frequented were never clean and to a reasonable standard. Stains were there on toilets when we arrived and still there when we left. 3. Also the owner (man) dealt with our camping neighbours poorly and refused their reasonable requests. He needs some customer care training we feel. 4. The facilities & cleanliness did not warrant the price we paid. 5.The pub in Slingsby called ‘The Grapes’ is great, excellent food, service and very hospitable to both us & our dog. We would highly recommend the pub but stay at another campsite!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki-Damian, Manager at Robin Hood Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review. I'm only sorry - and surprised - that you didn't mention any of these comments during your stay with us. The toilet block - which is cleaned at regular intervals both day and night - is a 3 minute walk away from the camping area - something that we freely admit and other people have commented on in reviews.

With regards your camping neighbours, we have rules on the park for the health and safety of all our guests. These can be found on our website and our the maps given to guests. When guests repeatedly breach those rules, we have a duty of care to enforce them and I make no apology for that. You may feel it is a "reasonable request" to light a fire within touching distance of a neighbouring tent and touring caravan but I, and the owners of those tents and caravan, disagree.

Regards,
Beki & Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Booked last minuet & arrived early so we got to chose where to pitch. We pitched right next to the park. It was a fab play area for our older kids 5+ but climbing frame isn’t accessible for our toddler so she was only able to use the swing. The facilities were clean and well maintained although the showers didn’t always run hot. The toilet block was a long walk from our pitch but we didn’t mind because we had glorious weather. The managers were very helpful, gave us lots of information of where to find things & recommended places to visit. The shop was small but well stocked with the typical things you forget to pack, so was very handy!
We were also able to have a late checkout so we could enjoy the weather on our last day.

Lovely little site & we will be returning soon.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Khowell1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki-Damian, Manager at Robin Hood Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review the park. Your positive comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Robin Hood Caravan Park again in the future.

Beki & Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Stay over may bank hol for 3 night , the whole family came long in 2 of the lovely caravans we rented, no complaints no were everthing was brill and the local social club more than happy to serve us . We will be definitely going back next year. Lovely little area within distant of Bridlington, Scarborough and york . Thank you to the staff for making it a great birthday weekend

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki-Damian, Manager at Robin Hood Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Many thanks for your positive comments. Your family were a joy to have staying here and I'm glad that you all enjoyed your weekend.

Beki & Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews