We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge(Pauanui)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveller rating
336
287
133
55
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
287
133
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartpuka park resortmain buildingsteep hillmiha restaurantrestaurant staffunderfloor heatingtree housebreakfast and dinnernative bushsurrounded by treesbush settingtennis courtsbird lifenew zealandcoromandel peninsulaspa pool
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 841 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I took my partner here for his 21st to go somewhere abit different it was absolutely beautiful. Wasn't the best weather but that wont stop me going back it was still so amazing food at the restaurant was beautiful would recommend ill be going back that's for sure.

Room Tip: Amazing setting
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Jarnna

We are so please to be a part of the special occasion for you and your partner. We look forward to seeing you again for your next weekend of R&R!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This was our first visit to the resort but won't be the last. We stayed in the Rimu chalet. It was beautiful clean and comfortable. It had a huge deck facing the bush. There is a big bath perfect for a cold winter day. On entering our room whist outside was poring with rain and cold the room was warm, lights on and felt really homly. There is under heated floor in the bathroom and bed is super comfy. Breakfast and dinner perfect with very friendly staff. It's worth popping into the bar area late afternoon with the big couches and roaring fire after a big walk out. The parking was fine for us as you can drop your case and luggage off in the car and walk up. All in all lovely weekend with lots of memories.

Room Tip: Rimu room was really cosy and beautiful bush view with private balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Karen

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Spring is my favorite time of year here... cool mornings with plenty of sun during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay in the bush chalets. It was like staying in the treetops and so peaceful. Initially we thought it would be a bit inconvenient with the car parked down the hill, but it wasn't a bother at all. We liked the little bush walk from the chalet to the restaurant but we felt the lighting along the path could be better given the unevenness of the path. There were big gaps without sufficient lighting.
The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The warm bathroom floor was much appreciated. We weren't so keen on the shower over the bath and there was nowhere really to put soap, shampoo etc. Perhaps there are other chalets with flat entry showers, but these bathtubs have very high sides to climb over and could present difficulties for someone with hip or knee problems.
Staff in the restaurant and reception were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a GrabOne deal which included a full breakfast and we can't complain about the portions. We enjoyed our breakfast tho avoided pancakes as many previous reviewers had commented they weren't very well cooked. But the traditional bacon and eggs, muesli etc were good. Too much hollandaise sauce on the eggs benny which drowned them a bit.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Steep hill to the top chalets so ask about location when booking.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kleonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thanks for coming to stay with us Kleonz

We are thrilled you got to experience the property on one of the very special Grabone deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Spent the night here, whilst visiting family in the area with my 83 year old father. Middle of Winter, so the weather wasn't our friend, but it only made the welcome from the staff feel all the more warmer.

The reception manager went out of his way to accommodate our last minute request for adjourning rooms with door, as I didn't want my Dad (or myself) out in the elements.

He also ferried us to and from our cabin for dinner that night so we didn't have to walk, given my Dads not that mobile.

Room was awesome - brand new and loaded with well thought out amenities, we also had dinner and breakfast at their restaurant and both were great, next to roaring log fires too.

The whole set up felt like you were you were immersed somewhere deep in the forrest, but with all the mod cons and services of the city.

Only inconvenience albeit slight, was that their was no carpark at our cabin, with the only car parking area down the hill a fair bit.

We were okay because the duty manager was picking us up in his golf cart each time, but this didn't look like the norm, so a continuous/on demand shuttle service for all would make this place perfect! Maybe it does already but in summer?

But regardless it was a great stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GdS-NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi GdS-NZL

Feedback regarding paring and the steep terrain is not a new one for us i'm afraid and not one we can overcome. Our solution to this is and has been for some time the full service of the golf buggys to shuffle guests around.

Part of the charm of our property is the chalets perched in the trees like tree huts, parking and a constant flow of traffic would hugely detract from this serenity in our opinion

thanks for staying and please all ways call for the buggy of staying with us in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Clean and tidy with a huge deck, All the staff were great. Only downside is there isn't any parking close to the chalet and there is a steep hill to walk up. The parking spots were very narrow so much that one of our younger adults had to climb over the passenger side to get in to the drivers side to reserve the car out. The restaurant was ok. I think this resort would be better for a summer holiday as we did so much driving to get to the places we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjjaa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hello jjjaa5

Great to hear the staff were so good during your stay, all the best until next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews