We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Awesome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

What a week...thank you to all the staff for accomodating two loud and happy Aussies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will visit again one day. Thanks must go to Hazel, Chanel, Heather, Ash and Chilli man, lol and a special thank you to Sean. So many laughs we shared and we are grateful you opened your arms to welcome us to Puka Park. I bet the bar will be quiet tonight . "What happens in the bushes, stays in the bushes"! Till next time. Cheers Kay and Scotty

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Kay and Scotty

Best review ever! the team will absolutely love reading this and yes the bar has been quite the last couple of nights!

I know we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

I took my partner here for his 21st to go somewhere abit different it was absolutely beautiful. Wasn't the best weather but that wont stop me going back it was still so amazing food at the restaurant was beautiful would recommend ill be going back that's for sure.

Room Tip: Amazing setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Jarnna

We are so please to be a part of the special occasion for you and your partner. We look forward to seeing you again for your next weekend of R&R!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This was our first visit to the resort but won't be the last. We stayed in the Rimu chalet. It was beautiful clean and comfortable. It had a huge deck facing the bush. There is a big bath perfect for a cold winter day. On entering our room whist outside was poring with rain and cold the room was warm, lights on and felt really homly. There is under heated floor in the bathroom and bed is super comfy. Breakfast and dinner perfect with very friendly staff. It's worth popping into the bar area late afternoon with the big couches and roaring fire after a big walk out. The parking was fine for us as you can drop your case and luggage off in the car and walk up. All in all lovely weekend with lots of memories.

Room Tip: Rimu room was really cosy and beautiful bush view with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Karen

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Spring is my favorite time of year here... cool mornings with plenty of sun during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay in the bush chalets. It was like staying in the treetops and so peaceful. Initially we thought it would be a bit inconvenient with the car parked down the hill, but it wasn't a bother at all. We liked the little bush walk from the chalet to the restaurant but we felt the lighting along the path could be better given the unevenness of the path. There were big gaps without sufficient lighting.
The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The warm bathroom floor was much appreciated. We weren't so keen on the shower over the bath and there was nowhere really to put soap, shampoo etc. Perhaps there are other chalets with flat entry showers, but these bathtubs have very high sides to climb over and could present difficulties for someone with hip or knee problems.
Staff in the restaurant and reception were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a GrabOne deal which included a full breakfast and we can't complain about the portions. We enjoyed our breakfast tho avoided pancakes as many previous reviewers had commented they weren't very well cooked. But the traditional bacon and eggs, muesli etc were good. Too much hollandaise sauce on the eggs benny which drowned them a bit.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Steep hill to the top chalets so ask about location when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kleonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thanks for coming to stay with us Kleonz

We are thrilled you got to experience the property on one of the very special Grabone deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Spent the night here, whilst visiting family in the area with my 83 year old father. Middle of Winter, so the weather wasn't our friend, but it only made the welcome from the staff feel all the more warmer.

The reception manager went out of his way to accommodate our last minute request for adjourning rooms with door, as I didn't want my Dad (or myself) out in the elements.

He also ferried us to and from our cabin for dinner that night so we didn't have to walk, given my Dads not that mobile.

Room was awesome - brand new and loaded with well thought out amenities, we also had dinner and breakfast at their restaurant and both were great, next to roaring log fires too.

The whole set up felt like you were you were immersed somewhere deep in the forrest, but with all the mod cons and services of the city.

Only inconvenience albeit slight, was that their was no carpark at our cabin, with the only car parking area down the hill a fair bit.

We were okay because the duty manager was picking us up in his golf cart each time, but this didn't look like the norm, so a continuous/on demand shuttle service for all would make this place perfect! Maybe it does already but in summer?

But regardless it was a great stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GdS-NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi GdS-NZL

Feedback regarding paring and the steep terrain is not a new one for us i'm afraid and not one we can overcome. Our solution to this is and has been for some time the full service of the golf buggys to shuffle guests around.

Part of the charm of our property is the chalets perched in the trees like tree huts, parking and a constant flow of traffic would hugely detract from this serenity in our opinion

thanks for staying and please all ways call for the buggy of staying with us in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
26.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
27.2 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
3.4 km away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
189 reviews
28.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
26.7 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: ₹ 9,681 - ₹ 18,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing