We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A guest at this hotel currently...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Malaga Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tecumseh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A guest at this hotel currently...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Beautiful place! Most workers friendly, however...the hotel is a rip-off. You have to pay 1.50 per 10 mins of internet use just to use their wi-fi. We paid for half-board, which says it includes breakfast and dinner. Problem is that drinks are not free. I understand the alchololic drinks shouldnt be free unless you pay for all inclusive...but the waiter tonight tried charging us for a glass of water...not even out of a bottle. When we went and complained, ¨"Pablo" at the front desk rudely told us that their policy is that you cant even get water to drink at breakfast or dinner if you dont pay the all inclusive price. Too bad, a pretty place but I feel as if this hotel tries every corner to get your money from you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar. Please receive our most sincere apologies for mailing to meet your expectations.

Concerning the half-board, we would like to remark that we dispose of different meal options corresponding to different ranges and prices. We are sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations about the cost-value ratio.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take in our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    486
    136
    38
    19
See reviews for
611
396
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

As said earlier the hotel could not be faulted the food was good, facilities pool and grounds in a good clean condition. Shame about the location as its miles from anywhere, if you want a decent night out you have to travel to Nerja. I had a good holiday although if I have to be honest having a teenage son he was bored out of his tree, great for a young family who dont want to be out all evening. Even if it was a last minute hol i should have checked the location, but overall it was a good break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wobblybob001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

In the first place we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Hotel Málaga Playa and for your write a friendly comment. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for describing in just a few strong words our complete and exclusive service and facilities.

Our guest has different possibilities to enjoy outside the hotel. There is a public bus which stops directly in front of the hotel which goes a bus to the town (about 10km). Other possibilities are taking a taxi (12€) or rent a car.

The hotel has s special areas for children and a very good entertainment program. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome, especially the children. Please receive our most sincere apologies for mailing to meet your teenage soon expectations.

Comments like yours keeps motivating us to keep improving our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotels.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

As a Travel agent we have sent many clients to this hotel when a RIU. We e.mailed the hotel some weeks ago regards a client arriving for the new year. NO reply ever received. Then the day bfore departure received a call from tour operator who had just beed told hotel closing find other accommodation. Clearly standards are going down be warned, staff fel able to ignor e.mails or just cant be bothered to reply. NOT A HAPPY AGNT WILL THINK TWIC BFOR RCCOMMNDING AGAIN, Your loss Iberostar.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear client,
Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Malaga Playa.

We check daily our e-mails and we reply them. We know how important is the communications with our clients and guest. Something must happen with that e-mail. Please receive our more sincere apologies for this embarrassing situation.

Sincerely yours,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I've benn in the Hotell of Malaga Playa in july and really liked it. stayed with my family for 10 days. the most iliked is SPA and girls there are just great!!! One spanish and the other girl is not. so I and my wife spend in the lovely SPA a lot of time. Thanks !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valeru s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager, Iberostar at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear valeru,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Iberostar Málaga Playawith us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services, especially the SPA.
We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.
Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

After reading reviews I booked with some caution. However, the hotel is excellent, the staff do speak English, the food was very very good and the drinks list on the all inclusive was excellent. The location however may not be to everyone's taste particularly I suspect if choosing half board or room and breakfast. The beach in this area is dark sand and stone and the area is starting to look a bit tired, though the restaurants/ cafes / bars on the promenade look fine though the self catering appartment blocks are looking dated. I think I would stay in Nerja a 4 mile bus trip away. But on ther all uinclusive - marvelous and a good base from which to explore, that is, between meals and drinkies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Allinclusive_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
6.4 km away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
3.5 km away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 6 in Torrox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.0 km away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
8.0 km away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
2.1 km away
Costamar
Costamar
#5 of 6 in Torrox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Property: Iberostar Malaga Playa
Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,970 - ₹ 17,587
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE: The IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa hotel will re-open next April after a major refurbishment which is being carried out mainly to upgrade the rooms and the buffet restaurant. It will also have a new water park for children where the little ones will be able to thoroughly enjoy themselves without needing to leave the hotel. The recently refurbished IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa beach hotel is an expert at creating the best conditions to make you happy during your days of rest. The warmth of the rooms, the fun atmosphere of the entertainment activities, the pools for families, the cosy feeling of its restaurants... and, as you would expect, the best temperature in all of Europe. Discover 7 more reasons why you should choose this hotel on the Costa del Sol for your holidays. Distinctive rooms for distinctive travellers. From the most romantic Suites to enjoy a couples getaway to apartments with a kitchen. And, of course, the best views of the sea or the hotel gardens make for the best backdrop when waking up in Malaga. And recently refurbished! A few steps from the beach. The IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa enjoys direct access to over a kilometre of beach at Playa Ferrara. So you can lie down on your sun lounger and bathe in the sun's rays while sensing the Mediterranean breeze on your skin. Flavours of the world.At this hotel for children on the Costa del Sol, you not only have the best local cuisine, but you can also travel the world every evening with the themed dinners. In addition, there's a surprise for those with a sweet tooth: the wonderful desserts buffet. It’s impossible to resist the temptation of something sweet! Totally refreshing. The huge pool at this hotel in Malaga Playa will entice the whole family in for a dip. The kids can pretend to be sharks while the grownups take advantage to swim a few lengths. There's also a pool with never-ending slides so that your kids can make a splash, and another indoor pool with views of the outdoors, and a special baby pool. Non-stop activities. In the evening, the little ones can't wait for Starky and Stella to arrive at the minidisco. During the day, your kids will never get bored at the Miniclub. They will play in the pool, dress up or do handcrafts. And for you? Magic shows, dance performances, live music, and much more. Enviable temperatures. The best climate in Europe is here! The average of 18º C throughout the year and the mild summers make Torrox the best place to spend your holidays. In fact, you are likely to come across inhabitants that are proud to boast about the kind of climate they enjoy. The charm of Torrox. You can't leave without being captivated by the pristine white of its houses. A stroll around its stairways and precipitous streets will invite you to disconnect and spend the afternoon trying tapas in Constitution square, or to enjoy a few laughs with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing