We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's Night Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Casa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Casa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Competa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Valentine's Night Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

After receiving good recommendations from friends about the restaurant I thought we'd give it a try for a special Valentine's Night dinner with my wife. The menu sounded good value at €22 per head for 3 courses and the menu looked good.
Booking was easy via email with no deposit required. On arriving after a few minutes we were greeted by a chap at reception and taken to our table. We were given a complimentary glass of cava whilst we browsed the menu.
First impressions were the restaurant was small and intimate with four tables set with a Valentine theme in what I would call the atrium or small internal 'courtyard'. The decor is contemporary and as it was Valentine's night there was a red carnation at each place setting and glass hearts in the middle. There was a small ante room off the courtyard with tables set and occupied but if you book I would suggest you make sure you avoid this. It's a bit out of the way and near the only toilet so you get "passing trade" so to speak.
We ordered Devilled Chicken Livers and Deep Fried Camembert as a starter, which was more than satisfactory and Beef Stroganoff with Rice and Goats Cheese and Onion Tart as main courses. The Stroganoff was creamy and tasty and my wife couldn't eat her main as it was a good portion and quite a 'heavy' dish. For sweet we both had Icky Sticky Pudding with more than enough caramel sauce. Lovely but very filling. The wine with the meal was very good and reasonably priced at €19.95 for a Reserva.
Overall the evening was pleasant and all the tables were filled with a total of 14 diners. I would say that it doesn't really have the feel of a restaurant and could lack atmosphere if all the tables weren't taken. This doesn't detract from the fact the food was very good, the service good (a little slow with the wine list, which we had to ask for) and overall a good evening and good value. We will return but maybe next time in the summer to try the outside dining.

Room Tip: Did not stay. Dined only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
150
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a lovely time the first few days of February in this charming inn. Sarah and Neil were wonderful hosts. We dined in the hotel one night and it was fantasic. The town of Torrox has many quaint places to visit, a wonderful pastry shop and local tapas bars. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Lovely little hotel hidden away up a narrow street in Torrox pueblo. Run by a friendly English couple and decorated to a high standard. Tasteful rooms with great views and a lovely terrace. Very peaceful but close to the main square and the bars and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DustDevil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

All the reviews are accurate and well deserved.
Perfect peace, tranquillity and hospitality.
Go and enjoy, we did.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have a great view of the valley and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at end of December/ beginning of January, and were so pleased we chose to stay at La Casa for New Year's Eve. The accommodation was lovely- so nice to be in a small, friendly hotel - and the party put on for the evening of 31st Dec was excellent. A superb buffet meal, a party of 35 friendly happy people, champagne in the square at midnight, followed by seeing the London fireworks on TV at 1am, and music and dancing. Many thanks to Sarah, Neil and Karen for all their hard work.
The hotel is in one of the narrow little streets of Torrox Pueblo, a lovely little village with restaurants and bars in the main square, not in the modern sprawl of Torrox Costa, so you have to load and unload quickly outside the hotel, and then drive up to the free public car park (about 5 - 10 minutes walk away). If you have a car, there is a lovely drive through the hills along the backroads to Frigiliana, another pretty village, which probably gets overcrowded with tourists in the summer, but was delightful on a sunny day in winter. We were lucky throughout our stay to have warm sunny weather, and also enjoyed a walk all along the promenade at Torrox Costa, and a paella lunch by the beach in Nerja. If you do not have a car, there are local bus timetables in the information folder in the rooms.
The wi-fi worked well in the public area downstairs, and we also got it to work in one area of our room.
I recommend eating in the restaurant at La Casa at least one evening of your stay - the food is excellent, especially the steaks, as others have already mentioned.
To sum up, La Casa is a delightful little hotel, with extremely pleasant and helpful staff, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
3.5 km away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
2.7 km away
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
4.4 km away
Costamar
Costamar
#5 of 6 in Torrox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.7 km away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
6.8 km away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa

Property: Hotel La Casa
Address: Plaza Barajas 3 | Calle Baja, 29770, Torrox, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,254 - ₹ 6,479
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Casa 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run boutique hotel offering 8 double/twin individually designed rooms ans one suite, The main terrace offers spectacular views to the mountains and valley. situated in a traditional white-washed Andalusian village just 40 minutes east of Malaga airport. Ideally located close to glorious beaches, bars, restaurants & places of interest. Hotel La Casa offers comfort in style with a commitment to high quality service in a relaxed & friendly environment. Bistro restaurant open most evenings serving freshly prepared international cuisine, menu changes seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Torrox, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing