We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Dusk, the villa and pool lit up beautifully
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dusk, the villa and pool lit up beautifully
High quality villa with stunning mountain views Enjoy a late evening dip?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Dusk, the villa and pool lit up beautifully
High quality villa with stunning mountain views
Enjoy a late evening dip?
Starlit skies and twinkly villages in the mountains
A pool with a view, fancy a dip?
Sunbathe watching the ever changing mountian view
BBQ big enough for a party
A little romance perhaps....
Wake up to that view from your bed
Traditional with a little touch of the exotic
Ensuite bathroom with scented candles and bath salts
Egyptian cotton linen ensuring a good nights sleep
Calming and relaxing double ensuite room
Both double rooms have balconies
Ensuite wetroom, towls, soap and even pool towels provided
Twin beds with mountain craft 100% pure wool throws for extra comfort
Spacious wetroom style bathroom, great for the children
Sleep well in these cool comfy beds
Triple bedroom with mountain craft 100% wool throws
Our little Romeo and Juliet balcony
Spacious hall and landings in the centre of the villa
Finished your book? Borrow one of ours
All the olives are long eaten from this jar
Spacious open plan living area
Picture windows make the room feel as though you are outside when you are inside
High quality furnishings for your comfort
Oh clever camera man
Finding it difficult to watch the film?
Winter brings sunny days, snow capped mountains and cosy evenings with a log fire
The log fire makes the whole house cosy for a winter stay
Exotic hardwood dining table and chairs so you can dine in style.
The kitchen is well appointed and stocked with herbs and spices.
A welcome basket of wine, local cheese and bread awaits you
Avô our local village, with it's award winning river beach.
Portugal's only ski resort is simply 50 minutes away
Sit in the sun and enjoy the winter snow capped mountians
Breathtaking
Sunbathing and snow - yes it is possible here
Winter scenary can be magical
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Oliveira do Hospital, Coimbra District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Ferdi R
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Amazing location, beautiful views and the most helpful hosts a guest could hope for.
The house has everything needed.
Most grateful to Elizabeth and Stephen for the loan of the GPS and for having met us in the village to show the way on the first day.
We had an unforgettable stay in a great part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The access road - which is being upgraded
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge F
Dronten
1 review
“Privacy and magnificent views”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with four adults in the villa for approximately two weeks in the summer. The villa itself was tasteful and practically furnished and contained virtually everything we could wish for. The location of the villa, halfway down the hillside, gave us very much privacy in combination with spectacular views. The access road was adventurous for us, coming from a flat country (the Netherlands), but we got used to it. Early in the morning we enjoyed the sunrise above the Serra da Estrela, thanks to the magnificent panoramic doors we could even view it and feel it from the living room sofa. In the evening we could view the moon rising above the same mountains. We used the pool every day, even on the few days the weather was a bit grey. The owners, who also lives in a separate house on the property were always helpful when we needed them or had any questions about anything, but they always respected our privacy. The really made an effort to make our stay comfortable and relaxing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Access road
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M
Bedale, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A peaceful, beautifully set up Villa with tremendous views and stunning pool”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The villa has everything you need to bed on down and relax by the pool or return to after a fun day exploring. It is immaculately laid out, recently decorated and has a fresh, spacious feel. We BBQed most nights whilst watching the sun go down over the Serra de Estrela mountain range which the pool and house look out towards, close enough to touch!. The meat, veg, bread was sourced in the local village supermarket who know the owners of the villa and which caters for all your needs and is conveniently located next to a café/bar where children are very much welcome.
Within walking distance from the villa (30mins) along a goat track is a magical river beach where the kids can eat ice creams and adults enjoy a beer. There are also plenty of other river beach's to explore near by.

The English owners couldn't be more helpful and ensured we had a worry, stress free holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An easy villa to live, in perfect location
Liked least: Too much excellent cheap local red wine!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L
2 reviews
“A perfect villa, stunning views, eagles. Best of all - no people!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for six nights at the start of September 2014 and had the most memorable holiday of our lives. Once we arrived, we did not use our car again until we left to go home. The villa itself is beautifully designed,decorated and furnished and is in immaculate condition.

Outside there are plenty of sun beds, and the owners have provided outdoor games such as badminton just in case you feel the need for some exercise, other than swimming in the beautiful pool, reading and just watching the ever changing views of the mountains from the pool, the terrace or one of the balconies.

The seclusion is almost total. Although the owners are on hand to offer advice and help, they are totally discrete and did not intrude on our privacy during our stay.

The village of Avo is a 30 minute walk away and is worth a visit, if only to swim from the river beach there.

Quinta da Madrugada offers one of the best getaway-from-it all destinations available..However, there is good wifi in case you need to keep up to date with some work.

Cannot recommend highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne S
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, Privacy, Paradise!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We don’t normally bother with reviews but felt compelled to share our impressions of this wonderful holiday accommodation so that others may benefit. It’s difficult to know where to start on our amazing stay at Quinta da Madrugada. From our arrival to our reluctant departure we were blown away by the stunning views, peace and privacy of this lovely villa - every possible ingredient for a really relaxing holiday. We saw eagles, a small snake, a newt and lizards without even setting foot out of the 12 acres of the land around Q da M so it’s ideal for those who love nature.

Stephen and Elizabeth who live just a few minutes walk away were the perfect hosts – very friendly, extremely knowledgeable about the area and there if we needed them but otherwise left us to do our own thing. They have created a piece of paradise for guests to enjoy whilst on holiday. The quinta is very comfortable and very tastefully furnished in a way that is modern but appropriate for the house and its setting. It includes every amenity we could have wanted and the Wi-Fi was a great bonus.

Views from each room are breathtaking – stretching over the valley to the high mountains in the distance. We later discovered these were the Sierra de Estrela – about an hours drive away, where we drove to the top of the highest peak in Portugal!
There is plenty to do in this location which was a new part of Portugal for us. Details of activities and places to go are included in the information pack – be sure to read it! The couple of cooler days we had allowed us to take advantage of two of the very recently developed walking trails which are signposted and allow you to get into the heart of the fabulous countryside whilst barely seeing anyone. We did see plenty of cyclists on our travels around the area and wish we’d had our bikes with us to further explore the region. Rides up to the mountains seem to be very popular with the road cyclists and the trails would be ideal for mountain bikers.There are plenty of places to eat a short drive away in Oliveira or also a short (10 mins) drive to supermarkets to shop for your own food if you prefer to self-cater.

We will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing