We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sport Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sport Hotel Alpina
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

In the midst of the hectic life of the ski resort, the Sport Hotel Alpina offered an oasis of calm and tranquility. The room was spacious, quiet and clean; the food and service impeccable (we loved the "tasters" with every meal); the swimming pool unique in its decor and perfect for soaking out the aches of muscles unused to ski-ing and the fitness room well furnished. We didn't try the Wellness Centre, so can't comment. And given that the hotel was just 5 mins from the slopes, it was just perfect. I know this sounds like I've been paid to write this, but really it was just a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispSacrofano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Near Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Spent a night there with my wife as part our "Via Spluga" hiking package. We were too tired to use the spa (after hiking 6 hrs or so) but hungry enough to tuck in haeartily at their absolutely fantastic 1-star Guide Michelin restaurant! Sadly enough for the owners we were the only customers that evening (it was still early season), so we enjoyed Raffaella's and her colleague's full attention (I'm sure it would not have been less with a full house). The food prepared by Raffaella's husband Stefano was delicious and the wine list is an aficionado's dream. The room was very clean and comfortable. Again any time!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

Very nice hotel in a small village.
Good place to go to the ski or to have beautifull hike.
The hotel is very well kept. Very clean, good reception, large rooms with balcon, nice small thermal center (sauna, turkish bath, swimming pool, jacuzzi, ...), good restaurant, etc.
The breakfast is generous, varied and fresh.
On negative point : the furniture in the room is "old" and has no "style".

  • Liked — Perfect service and cleanness
  • Disliked — The look of the rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

If you are looking for a romantic getaway or have well behaved children, this is your place. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the lifts, has a great pool and a tremendous restaurant. We traveled from the USA and were so happy with the Alpina that we plan on returning. The owners went to great lenghts to ensure that we had a memorable experience. I've been skiing the Alps for 20 years and the Alpina is in my top five.

  • Liked — Food and service
  • Disliked — zero
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madesimo hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#2 of 12 in Madesimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Arlecchino
Hotel Arlecchino
#12 of 12 in Madesimo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 km away
Albergo La Soldanella
Albergo La Soldanella
#1 of 12 in Madesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Andossi
Hotel Andossi
#5 of 12 in Madesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 km away
Albergo k2
Albergo k2
#4 of 12 in Madesimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Chalet Capriolo
Hotel Chalet Capriolo
#3 of 12 in Madesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Alpina

Property: Sport Hotel Alpina
Address: Via Antonio de Giacomi 39, 23024 Madesimo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Madesimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Madesimo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,603 - ₹ 11,607
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Hotel Alpina 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hotel of eight junior suite, gourmet restaurant (1 Michelin star), wellness center and swimming pool. Just 100 meters from the resort center, ski slopes and trekking trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Madesimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing