We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
400
402
155
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
402
155
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel private beach superior room nice pool pastries breakfast buffet paid euros old town poolside bar shuttle service to the beach large selection hire car other hotels main beach hotel staff walk up large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The room was good (not that special, but ok), but the balcony was excellent! Large and sunny and with somewhat of a ocean view. The pool was nice, but it was to cold to swim in them when we visited (in may). Wouldn't mind if they heated them bit. Really liked the location on a calm backstreet, but really close to both the beach and the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The word 'mediocrity' is perfect to describe this hotel. There's nothing special about it. No memorable view, no great access to the beach, just average breakfast and shuttle service to the beach. The front desk staff was pleasant enough. The only memorable thing was the exorbitant amount of money I paid for the last-minute booking in the middle of August, but I suppose I only have the unavoidable circumstances to blame. The bottom line: Choose this hotel if it's offering a good price for a 3-star hotel with mediocre amenities and expect nothing more than mediocrity.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Booked at the last minute less than a week before after discovering the hotel I booked back in May had been closed by the police for suspicion of financial fraud.
Set back from the beach about a 5 minute walk. Modern hotel. We were given an 'upgrade' apparently. Large double room on second floor, spacious and with two separate balconies. Room smelt over powering of bleach when we initially entered, not sure if that was intentional or not. At least it was clean.
Usual amenities, air con, mini fridge, safe etc. Could see the sea just from one balcony. Think only the 2nd floor rooms offer these.
Hotel does have a pool which is small but perfectly adequate and never a lack of beds around it. Not too strong chlorinated either. Plus it has a cool water jacuzzi alongside. Small poolside bar which just serves drinks. Apparently the hotel has its own stretch of private beach 900 meters away serviced by a shuttle which we never used. You still pay €20 a day for a parasol and two beds - you can get this on the beach 5 mins walk away so what's the point of going in the shuttle where you're reliant on a lift back! Hotel Manager you should review how much you charge for this.
Gym doesn't open till 10am which was a disappointment to my daughter, especially as she was told it opened at 8am when we checked in and got up early the next morning especially.
Wifi unreliable too, little coverage in room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The public rooms in this sprawling 4-star hotel are promising, but the rooms are almost comically mediocre -- cheap furnishings, hard bed, and a general air of being left unfinished. The bathroom had a fine-looking shower, but they forgot to include a place to put the soap or shampoo which had therefore to go on the floor. The wifi was at best weak and out most of the time. The air conditioning was the only thing that worked well, and the staff was pleasant. But, for what it is, it was overpriced. Not to mention the fact that the beautiful part of Sperlonga is up in the medieval town, where there are much better hotels. This one is tolerable only if the others are sold out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in June, and had a great time.

It's a nice hotel, although it's getting a little tired when you get away from the main building. The room was great - spacious, clean, with a fantastic bathroom & shower.

The staff were helpful, friendly, and tolerant of our less than perfect Italian. It's also in a fantastic location, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach, although their beach section is quite far away and requires a minibus to get to (we instead went to somewhere nearby).

Overall it was a nice place, reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels nearby, and Sperlonga is a wonderful resort that I'd recommend to anybody.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrinkAllTheBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Sir,
we are very glad to read Your review about Your stay in Sperlonga.
We do always our best to make the stay of our clients the most comfortable possibile. Our goal is the customer's satisfaction.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Virgilio grand hotel, we remain, at your disposition and we cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews