We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lovely hotel. Had a nice room with a balcony. Nice breakfast, nice pool,very friendly but internet was weak and kept dropping.

Quiet and clean. Staff weee very helpful.
They do charge for pool towels and for the indoor jacuzzi

Room Tip: Recommend it. Very central and 4.5 stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Kevin,

We thank you very much for your positive review about your stay in Sperlonga.
We take note of the wifi problem and we apologize.
Hoping to see you again at Virgilio Grand Hotel,
we send you our sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

The room was good (not that special, but ok), but the balcony was excellent! Large and sunny and with somewhat of a ocean view. The pool was nice, but it was to cold to swim in them when we visited (in may). Wouldn't mind if they heated them bit. Really liked the location on a calm backstreet, but really close to both the beach and the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The word 'mediocrity' is perfect to describe this hotel. There's nothing special about it. No memorable view, no great access to the beach, just average breakfast and shuttle service to the beach. The front desk staff was pleasant enough. The only memorable thing was the exorbitant amount of money I paid for the last-minute booking in the middle of August, but I suppose I only have the unavoidable circumstances to blame. The bottom line: Choose this hotel if it's offering a good price for a 3-star hotel with mediocre amenities and expect nothing more than mediocrity.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Booked at the last minute less than a week before after discovering the hotel I booked back in May had been closed by the police for suspicion of financial fraud.
Set back from the beach about a 5 minute walk. Modern hotel. We were given an 'upgrade' apparently. Large double room on second floor, spacious and with two separate balconies. Room smelt over powering of bleach when we initially entered, not sure if that was intentional or not. At least it was clean.
Usual amenities, air con, mini fridge, safe etc. Could see the sea just from one balcony. Think only the 2nd floor rooms offer these.
Hotel does have a pool which is small but perfectly adequate and never a lack of beds around it. Not too strong chlorinated either. Plus it has a cool water jacuzzi alongside. Small poolside bar which just serves drinks. Apparently the hotel has its own stretch of private beach 900 meters away serviced by a shuttle which we never used. You still pay €20 a day for a parasol and two beds - you can get this on the beach 5 mins walk away so what's the point of going in the shuttle where you're reliant on a lift back! Hotel Manager you should review how much you charge for this.
Gym doesn't open till 10am which was a disappointment to my daughter, especially as she was told it opened at 8am when we checked in and got up early the next morning especially.
Wifi unreliable too, little coverage in room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The public rooms in this sprawling 4-star hotel are promising, but the rooms are almost comically mediocre -- cheap furnishings, hard bed, and a general air of being left unfinished. The bathroom had a fine-looking shower, but they forgot to include a place to put the soap or shampoo which had therefore to go on the floor. The wifi was at best weak and out most of the time. The air conditioning was the only thing that worked well, and the staff was pleasant. But, for what it is, it was overpriced. Not to mention the fact that the beautiful part of Sperlonga is up in the medieval town, where there are much better hotels. This one is tolerable only if the others are sold out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Q9669LLsteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperlonga
0.3 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#1 of 15 in Sperlonga
432 reviews
0.6 km away
La Playa Grand Hotel
La Playa Grand Hotel
#13 of 15 in Sperlonga
285 reviews
12.1 km away
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#6 of 15 in Sperlonga
194 reviews
13 km away
Hotel Gajeta
Hotel Gajeta
#4 of 11 in Gaeta
400 reviews
0.9 km away
Moresco Park Hotel
Moresco Park Hotel
#2 of 15 in Sperlonga
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgilio Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgilio Grand Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Romita 262, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sperlonga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sperlonga
Price Range: ₹ 4,748 - ₹ 20,940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Virgilio Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virgilio Grand Hotel, Sperlonga's modern and welcoming 4-star hotel, is situated in the heart of one of the most exclusive and attractive villages in Italy, very close to the historical centre and just a few steps away from the sea.Our hotel provides the warmth and care of the best Italian hospitality along with comfort, functionality, relaxation, quality, wide and well-lit open spaces, blended together to create an elegant atmosphere, enriched by carefully chosen details.The hotel has 72 finely appointed rooms with innumerable services of the highest quality, carefully prepared to meet all sorts of requirements and to offer a pleasant stay to all our guests. It boasts the largest and most modern Congress Centre in Sperlonga and a wellness centre, for a marvellous experience in the world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Virgilio Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Grand Sperlonga
Hotel Virgilio Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing