We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
401
402
155
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
402
155
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel private beach superior room nice pool pastries breakfast buffet old town poolside bar shuttle service to the beach large selection hire car other hotels main beach hotel staff walk up rooms are modern nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night. Rooms are below the ground floor, so our windows was facing another pipes of another building, perhaps if you pay more you get a better view. Breakfast was just ok, service average, we waiting 10 minutes forks... Overall hotel is clean, central, just a few minutes walking to the old city (uphill) but very basic.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stefano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Stefano,

We thank you for your review and for your beautiful words about the hotel and its location.
We're sorry for the inconvenience at our restaurant. Hoping to show that everything will be ok in your next stay and to guarantee you another room in an upper floor, we'll wait for you soon in Sperlonga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff particularly on reception. Nice clean rooms. Only disappointment with the room was lack of coffee and tea making facilities which would have been nice. The hotel beach was very nice , plenty of sun beds and shade and good facilities with nearby toilets and showers and beach cafe. Sperlonga is a beautiful town and the hotel is ideally located within a short walking distance of the beach and the town . Breakfast was nice , lots of cakes and pastries , a bit more fresh fruit would be nice. Would definitely chose this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Experience483687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Client,

We thank you for your review and for your beautiful words about your stay in Sperlonga. We're glad to read that the hotel has satisfied your expectations and that you have appreciated our services, like room, breakfast, our private beach.
The whole staff will wait for you again in Sperlonga and send you Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel was closed for two weeks at the beginning of june, which gave us some chills, when we discovered about it a day before arriving. But after confirmation by phone call we came and were not disappointed. Our kids really loved the pools. And the staff was friendly and really helped us a lot when son got some health problems and we had to go to hospital. Thanks a lot again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank AnatolP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Anatol,

We thank you for your special review.
We're glad to read that you have appreciated the hotel, its services and its outside swimmingpool.
Your words reward the staff's work done, which aims to make the client's holiday as pleasant as possible.

Waiting to have you again in Sperlonga, We send you our Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, everything looks new, pool area is nice and not too crowded. Beer and salads are reasonably priced at the pool bar. We had a very spacious room, not sure if all are like that. Breakfast is quite good, loads of sweet options, and includes scrambled eggs and bacon, which is unusual for Italy, but no vegies whatsoever. Simple tomatoes would be appreciated. The hotel has a private beach which is about 20 min walk, so not very close. However, this part of the beach is much less crowded, so it is actually worth going there. Also there is a shuttle if you dont mind waiting for it. All in all it is a very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Monika,

We thank you for your beautiful review. We're glad to read that the hotel has satisfied your expectations and that you have appreciated its services, like the outside swimmingpool, the international breakfast and the private beach.

Hoping to have you again in Sperlonga for an nother holiday and to show that we have added tomatoes in our Beakfast's service, we send you our Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

A friend and I were taking a trip to Rome and decided to extend our trip and head out to the coast for a few days of sunshine. After a lot of research, we found Sperlonga. A little, quiet town not too far from Rome where many Italians spend their weekend and summers. Plus it's beaches are beautiful. We decided to book the Virgilio Grand Hotel...and it is a great little hotel, just a few hundred yards from all the lovely restaurants in Sperlonga.
The hotel staff on arrival were very friendly and accommodating and the room was just what we needed for 4 days. The poolside area is nice with a pool perfect for chilling next to if you decide to. I struggled to find a hotel in Sperlonga with a pool! Although the main beach is just 5 minutes walk, the private beach for Virgilio is a 5/10 minute drive. There is a regular shuttle which takes you - I liked the bit of beach for the Virgilio, much nicer to chill on and a little quieter than the one just off the strip. The breakfast wasn't great to be honest, we thought we may have arrived a little late so went earlier the next day, but it's pretty basic. Sperlonga itself is lovely. As two 27 year olds, 4 nights was enough as there's not a lot going on here, but the restaurants are great and it's perfect for some downtime away from the city.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank KerryM749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your positive review concerning your stay in Sperlonga. We are very glade that our services have been appreciated.The target of our management and our staff is the " custumer's statisfaction". We have taken note of your comment about breakfast and we apologise for the inconvenient.

Looking forward to welcoming again at the VIRGILIO GRAND HOTEL we remain,
Yours truly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews