We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
401
402
156
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
402
156
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel private beach superior room nice pool pastries breakfast buffet other hotels wifi access shuttle service to the beach large selection hire car old town short walk booked this hotel main beach hotel staff rooms are modern
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Came here for 4 nights to celebrate a very special occasion, paid upfront- only to be told that after one night we needed to move out due to some 'works'. We're not offered anything- even a bottle of vine for the trouble, were made to pay for the first night and moved to the inferior hotel. Spoiled holiday and terrible customer care from owners- the reception staff were perfectly nice and apologetic, not their fault . Would not recommend this place.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Client,

We thank you for having choosen our hotel for you stay in Sperlonga.
We're very sorry that the hotel's situation caused you some problems.
We apologize about this inconvenience and hope to see you again at Virgilio Grand Hotel for offering you the best accomodation.

Sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Conference feeling of this hotel makes it soulless. Reception poorly greeted us, not explaining any of the hotel services ( parking, breakfast, gym- closed at the time). Lack of character and oldish rooms. Fridge and balcony in the room. Rude and not caring staff at the breakfast, one had to chase for a warm drink. Now the disappointment: calling yourself a grand hotel but no options for vegans! No soy/ almond milk for cereal, no healthy porridge or weetabix, no fresh veggies and the only fresh fruit was kiwi way too hard to eat and apples. No whole grain bread. Clearly Italian, discriminating people that want to eat healthy hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank diorstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Client,
We thank you for your review concerning your stay in Sperlonga.
We're very sorry about what happened at Virgilio.
We are disappointed, because everything has been negative, altough we do our best to make the stay of our Clients the most agreable possible. We apologize sincerly for not having noticed your unsatisfaction.

Anyway, we have taken note of your comments about the staff's behaviour and we will talk about this matter during our briefing.

Hoping to welcome you again in Sperlonga, We remain yours truly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

It´s more like a 2 or 3 star place with bad staff. We were there for a week and the staff at the reception keep changing through the day. After something expensive got away from our room this same people keep telling different stories till the day we checked out. Proposed financial compensation by receptionists which were never seen again. This really spoiled our great time in this town. Email conversation not there.

Avoid this place.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artur_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

My wife and I booked in on the afternoon of the 22nd march 2016 for two nights to take in our 46th wedding anniverary.We chose the virgilio grand(nothing grand about it)because of its facilities,restaurants and going by the pictures a sumptous spread for breakfast.After we had booked in they informed us that the restaurants,fitness centre,beauty salon were all closed for maintenance and we would have to have breakfast in our room and go out to eat.Believe it or not initially they offered us a free aperitif.Knowing it was our anniversay ,and our dissapointment they didnt even put a bottle of prosecco in the room as a gesture.what would that have cost them.,.a couple of euros.As we didnt fancy hiking around sperlonga tryin to get another hotel we felt we had to stay.Next morning the pathetic breakfast was delivered to our room,nothing compared to what should have been on offer.After getting very angry they RELUCTANLY gave us one night free.We didnt even bother telling them the disgusting condition of the WC rim.How this is a 4 star hotel is beyond me.Bad service,bad staff and a very bad attitude........AVOID

Room tip: Just avoid it
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scozia_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We spent a weekend at the hotel, we will probably return and we will definitely recommend it to others. The room was comfortable and very clean. The entire hotel was very well maintained and the staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was ample. There seemed to be a problem with the wi-fi but that didn't affect our stay at all.

Room tip: Choose standard room. None of the rooms have beach view. Several blocks from beach.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Heather,

We thank you for your beautiful review.
We're glad to read that you have appreciated our services and that the hotel has respected and satisfied your expectations.

Waiting for you again in Sperlonga, We send you our Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews