We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rathmullan Heritage Tour

An excellent, highly informative and entertaining tour of Rathmullan that brings the rich history... read more

Reviewed yesterday
J9946TFjamesg
Great tour

We had a thoroughly enjoyable and very interesting tour of Ramelton with Deirdre . The weather was... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2020
Magscamino
,
Castrojeriz, Spain
via mobile
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
49
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
49
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour great tour rich history ramelton information imparted windy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2019

We took the Donegal Heritage tours of Ramelton a few years ago with Deirdre and really enjoyed it. Today, we took our visitors from San Antonio, Texas, to the Rathmullan Heritage tour. Deirdre was welcoming and a very experienced and informative guide. Rathmullan is rich in history that she explains very well. It’s a nice well paced tour that should not be missed. There are corners of Rathmullan that I didn’t know existed! Our visitors enjoyed it very much and were impressed! We all highly recommend her tour and will be taking our next visitors on this walking tour.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdre f, Owner at Donegal Heritage Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Hi Kathleen,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of my Rathmullan Walking Tour. It was lovely meeting you again and your visitors from Texas. I am delighted that you saw corners of Rathmullan that you didn't know existed and I was particulary pleased to be able to share some Rathmullan/Texas connections with your friends.

I look forward to seeing you again with your next visitors.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Kind Regards
Deirdra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

We participated in the first tour of the season yesterday. Having passed through Ramelton since the 1970’s I can’t believe the history of the town which I was totally unaware of. Deirdra is a fantastic tour guide and very knowledgeable. One of the best events I have participated in Donegal. Hopefully we will bump into Deirdra tomorrow at the Ramelton Festival to thank her again.

Michael Bradley

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank mikey_b_693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdre f, Owner at Donegal Heritage Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2019

Hi Michael,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the tour and rate it highly among Donegal events. It was my pleasure showing you around the beautiful town of Ramelton and Thank you for sharing your expertise on the architecture of the buildings.

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards
Deirdra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2019

We visited Rathmullan and Ramelton, where our ancestors, the Lockharts, emigrated from in the 1840s. Deirdre provided a wonderful overview of Irish history and the local area, giving us a very personal background for our visit with possible Irish cousins. She was an energetic and engaging guide for the five of us, covering architecture, history, culture, economics, and so much more. We thoroughly enjoyed our day with her and highly recommend her walking tours.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank mcmmcm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdre f, Owner at Donegal Heritage Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Hi Mary,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

It was a real pleasure meeting you and your family and bringing you around Rathmullan and Ramelton. It's great that you got the opportunity to visit the land of your ancestors and I hope all the information will be of use to you in your family research.

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards
Deirdra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

We had such a great afternoon with Deirdra in Ramelton, our tour was so relaxed, with so much information packed in. This town has real history. I would thoroughly recommend this walking tour. Thanks to our wonderful guide!

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Sazbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdre f, Owner at Donegal Heritage Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2019

Thank You for your very positive review of my Ramelton Walking Tour.
It was my pleasure showing you around Ramelton on such a lovely sunny afternoon.
I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed the tour.

Kind Regards
Deirdra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

Just completed a walking tour on a windy February Day. Have been in Rathmullan many times but never looked at the headstones, plaques or ventured through the gates and pathways...to do all this with all the guiding stories and history was great. To get inside the buildings and churches was a good experience. Time well spent. Thanks.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank CommodoreM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deirdre f, Owner at Donegal Heritage Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Thank you for your very positive review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the "insider" tour of Rathmullan and Thank You for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards
Deirdra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews