We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
18
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
8
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Sophia, her husband (and extended family - try Alexis Zorbas in Matala) could not have been more helpful, attentive or kind. Each apartment has a private sitting out area and it was clean and practical and only minutes from Matala centre it has both the peace away from the summer throng (we went in April) as well as the convenience of being only a ten minute stroll away. Sophia is very efficient and speaks several languages well, so the service is great and very helpful tips made when requested. You can have breakfast if you ask the day before or a morning delivery of honey, eggs and bread, which was great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to be back.

Room Tip: They are all quiet and on different levels. All have a private sitting out place but some have a larger terraced area than others.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Twig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We rented an apartment for 4 persons on the top floor in August 2016 and were very pleased. The rooms were very clean and cleaned every day. We enjoyed a lot the large private balcony with a view on the countryside. Sophia, the landlady, was always very helpful and smiling. Fresh bread, eggs, and water bottles were delivered directly to the apartments every day. We stayed for 9 days and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The apartment for 4 persons on the top floor has a large private balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We have stayed at Xenophon twice and look forward to our third visit next year.
The apartments are run by Sophia who is always helpful , making our stay enjoyable and stress free which is exactly what we want.

Room Tip: we have a studio which although basic is very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Sophia runs this apartments for rent located just outside the centre of the village of Matala. The apartments (we have changed room twice because we decided to stay longer) are all new, well equipped, clean, nice refurbished and believe it's not easy to find a place so professionally run. Once you get in you can be sure you don't need anything...just look for what you need you'll find it...and the rooms are cleaned every single day even if these are apartments. Sophia is nice, sweet and of great help. Stay here when in Matala and you will come back.

Room Tip: ask Sophia if you have any request about rooms...she'll find out
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxmilanoportanuova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XenophonMatala, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apartments Xenophon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dear Max and Guiseppe,
Thank you very much for your nice words!
It was very nice to have you here and I would be very happy to see you again.
I wish you a nice summer & all the best for the futur.
Sunny regards,
Sophia, Nikos & Irini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

My wife,14yr-old daughter and I totally loved our time at Xenophon apartments. We had a top floor apartment (2nd floor) which was spacious, well equipped and the balcony was like having our own taverna - large area with clothed table and ample beer + wine on tap from the kitchen! Great view over the nearby mountains too. A 10 minute walk to the centre of Matala meant we were also away from any noise late at night but Matala on the whole is not a nightclubbers resort anyway. The hippy feel still prevails today.
Everyone working at Xenophon was friendly and the free wi-fi, mozzie devices, books, help on places to visit etc was over and above what we normally experience in Crete. First Class!

Room Tip: The 2nd (highest) floor seems to have more spacious & private balconies if you are not too keen with interacting with your temporary neighbours,
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sawfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews