We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small castle to visit, close to Frankfurt”

Schloss Mespelbrunn
Attraction details
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Schloss (castle) Mespelbrunn was an excellent example of a working castle. There was a moat and several towers. We did take the tour (5 Euros per adult). the tour guide only spoke German and unfortunately he spoke fast, so listening and translating was a bit tough for our group. But the rooms with their original furniture and decorations were interesting.

We enjoyed the walk from the parking lot to the castle and would suggest the castle to visitors to Germany

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Claudia10229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful castle"
in 5 reviews
"tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"interesting history"
in 2 reviews
"trout"
in 2 reviews
"apple cake"
in 2 reviews
"forest"
in 5 reviews
"frankfurt"
in 6 reviews
"schloss"
in 10 reviews
"moat"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 4 reviews
"language"
in 3 reviews
"german"
in 8 reviews
"coin"
in 2 reviews
"spessart"
in 4 reviews
"english"
in 5 reviews
"visitors"
in 3 reviews
"grounds"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018

The castle is at the end of the village, and the interior and exterior are really impressive. Only a limited number of rooms are available to visit with a guide (our spoke with strong dialect, hard to understand if you are not the native German speaker). The parking cost 2 euro (prepare a coin :), however, several people were parking around the village - and, it is quite acceptable. The castle is open till 5 pm, cost 5 euro, and you can feed the Forelle fish - 0,20 euro per bag full of the food. Around, there are several nice walking/biking roads, perfect mini-golf place, only 1 km from the castle, lots of restaurants and coffee and ice cream places around, worth for visit!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ElenaB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

So this was our first castle during our 3 week road trip around Germany. It is exquisitely beautiful and the backstory on this castle is what sold us to visit it. Once there, spoken English is a rarity. What cha' gonna do? It's our problem - not theirs. So you go with the flow. You can see one or two rooms without a guide. We took the tour - only offered in German. They gave us an English brochure. it would have been helpful if the guide would have announced the name of each room as we entered because the brochure, while supplying information in English, did not follow the tour, so I'm scrambling to find out which room we are in to read what is going on.

We found out that as we visited lesser known tourist stops, speaking English was rare. Again - our choice to visit more out-of-the way places.

By the way, taking pictures was not allowed inside the castle.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

The castle was already closed when we arrived but we walked in the castle area and took some pictures. There is a chapel on the hill, a Neo-Romanesque sepulchre chapel. From the chapel area you have a beautiful view of Mespelbrunn

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

What a wonderful experience to visit Schloss (castle) Mespelbrunn! Less than one hour by car from busy Frankfurt, you arrive at a place that seems like a different world. You find yourself stepping back 500 years and into a dream. Time travel has never been easier! All this at a bargain rate of 5 euros.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Lisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schloss Mespelbrunn also viewed

Miltenberg, Lower Franconia
Wertheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Aschaffenburg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Schloss Mespelbrunn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing