We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
65
29
8
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
29
8
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bring your own beach towels costa rica private trail playa guiones plantains amazing beach pura vida great pool laid back rooms are clean short walk to the beach great hosts remo path surf yogis paradise
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We have now been to Costa Rica 9 times. Need I say more? Each time we spend at least a week at Casa Romantica and wish we could stay longer. It is all about long walks and sunsets on Playa Guiones – direct, private access from Casa Romantica. Many guests are regulars. Some prefer the second story, un-AC rooms to enjoy sleeping in the evening breezes. Others have their favorite garden rooms with AC. A large pool, several territorial iguanas, a Rancho with hammocks for reading (snoozing).
Remo is your Host. Maintaining a busy beach hotel on the edge of the jungle is challenging. He always has something going on. He also is active with the local Bomberos (Volonteer Firefighters).Gustavo is a great chef and his evening restaurant offerings are among the best in the area. Christian is your evening host. In the mornings, he takes folks out on his boat to swim with the turtles. NOTE to regulars: Mary Lou has retired and returned to San Jose to be closer to family.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Nosara at Casa Romantica in 2011, had such a magical time, that we have always wanted to come back and see if we could recreate that magic. Well we succeeded.

I am not sure what i can add that has not already been spoken about Remo and his staff, this lovel hotel with its humble rooms and refreshing pool.

What i remembered from our first stay was that the restaurant here has some of the best food we had in Costa Rica. Last Night we had a salad with fresh seabass and Ravioli with ricotta and spinach and a carbanara like sauce. Looking forward to trying the steak tonight.

There is an inviting jungle path to the beach that builds your anticipation with every step until you step onto the sand and climax into the warm Costa Rican ocean.

I planted a pineapple top along the path to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary (photo included). We look forward to seeing it's progress. If you happen to see it please post a photo. We hope to come back in 2 years and harvest the pineapple.

Pura Vida

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We are not the generic-resort loving travelers, which is why we fell in love with Casa Romantica. Our room was clean and simple, set amidst a beautiful pool, gorgeous flowers and an easy trail to the beach.
The food here is excellent as well. Our dinner at Casa Romantica was the best dinner we had in the country.
Christian makes a wonderful rum drink as well!
Thank you, Remos, for an excellent stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

This place is nothing to look at but you know The old saying location location location. Casa Romantica is located right in the center of the big beach in the Nosara Costa Rica. And the gift of this place is that it's been open a long time and it's filled with surfers that have been going there for 20 and 30 years. Everyone is super friendly. So if you're going to Nosara for the first time like I was - every guest provided guidance as to knowledge about the town, best places to eat, best place is to surf , do yoga etc. Had a blast! Made new friends. Felt like a local after a day.
They could use new towels and be more generous with them. And new pool chairs would be great. Go for the beach go for this or think over the yoga go for the people

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

My family had booked the cabina for 6 nights but had to leave due to an ant infestation. This is our 5th trip to Costa Rica and we are very aware that in a tropical country there will be bugs. Initially there were a few ants that we felt we could deal with. The owner quickly brought over a can of Raid and sprayed around the walls. The ants began to come out of the walls and when we left there were hundreds of them everywhere. The hotel quickly moved us to another room and we were not charged for the evening. The staff apologized and handled the situation well.

The hotel and grounds require updating. The lounge chairs were moldy, the hammocks old, the pool water was 'murky' and pool pumps were not turned on. Air conditioning did not work appropriately.

With that said, it is very close to a very beautiful beach. It had more of a 'hostel' feel to it and not really suited for a family.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews