We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
43
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
3
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I have been to this wonder haven 3 years in a row. Every year has continued to exceed my expectations -- from the lovely meals to the retreat space itself, every detail has been thoughtfully and carefully crafted. The owner and her staff are ever so friendly doing anything to contribute to the healing quality of the experience. Although excursions are offered, there is no need to ever leave. Everything you could want or need is here. -- Deepest Thanks to Karen and her team for creating this retreat experience!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegBarber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

I was here for a yoga retreat. What an amazing place - the food, the arrangements, the location..truly magical. The only thing I would warn on is that if you get car sick, take a Dramamine before the drive, it is unpaved.

Room Tip: This is a wellness retreat center - wifi in the rooms would make no sence
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank holeinone44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Ahki is not your run of the mill B&B, but a beautiful architecturally designed / landscaped property up in the hills behind Garza Beach, an easy 15 minute drive to Guiones Beach.

All buildings on the property showcase a sophisticated CR / Asian flair and the rooms are stylish, spacious and comfortable. Fantastic breakfasts, and dinners available as an extra (if you do not fancy the drive into town).

It would be very easy to not leave the property, and give into rest and relaxation - that said, there are many beautiful attractions near at hand. The pool area is spectacular and there is a beautiful Yoga space. No wifi in the rooms, but available poolside.

Wonderful tree specimens and landscaping abound, and yes, nature as well - that means the sound and occasionally sight of monkeys, hummingbirds, frogs and various critters who we share this space (the jungle) with. I appreciate the ethics of Ahki in not laying poisons out to eradicate these harmless indigenous locals, and accordingly its possible you may see a few critters around the property - but nothing of concern.

The only caution is for those with mobility issues. The rooms are a few minutes walk down stairs and terraces from the main house and this may not suit elderly or mobility impaired persons. You should also be prepared for a steep gravel driveway (but this is not uncommon in Costa Rica) - I would strongly recommend a car for independence - but its not absolutely necessary.

There were during my stay a range of couples coming through the property and a few single people as well. Everyone had space for privacy and the shared breakfast spaces etc allowed for gentle interactions.

Finally, no review of Ahki could be complete without recognising the great efforts and energy of the owner - Karen - who is a wonderful person and personality, ever present, always interested in the well being and enjoyment of guests.

This is very much Karens home and a testament to her taste and interest in the environment and sustainability.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great, those upstairs with the balconies might just have the edge.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulold09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

If you are looking for a BIG slice of heaven, in the middle of the most serene and beautiful rain forest, AHKi is for you. I hosted a yoga retreat at this wonderful sanctuary in Costa Rica. There were 16 of us, and everyone was "WOWED" from the second we arrived until our departure. From the amazing accommodations, to the incredible spa cuisine, to the scrumptious body work and helpful staff. We loved our experience at AKHi. You will not be disappointed in this special spot.

Room Tip: Beautiful accommodations.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Have to say that this is an amazing retreat for small groups 10-15 people as you have the whole retreat to yourselves which makes the experience even better. The food was okay. The facility was speculate and the owner Karen is an amazing woman. Our room was awesome especially the screened in shower in the bathroom. It was so breathtaking peaceful and beautiful. Lots to do in Costa Rica especially close to this retreat except the drive from the airport which is about 2-1/2 hours but so worth it.
Best experience and I would highly recommend it.
They have one of the most fabulous yogi studio as well.
Thank you Karen for making our trip special and one that we will always cherish.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Honest52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews