We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of KayaSol Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
KayaSol Surf Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Not being sure I want to expose the area to more travelers, I'm writing this review reluctantly. As with anything people need to gauge their expectations. If you need to be in the 4 seasons go there. If you want to surf every day, all day, relax eat good food and not experience harsh localism, it's hard to find a better place. I had been to the area 3 years earlier and opted to go to Nicaragua on the next trip which drove me back to Costa Rica. Just the fact that there is no military and you can drive from the Liberia airport to the cost without being shaken down or fearing for your life makes it a no-brainer. The hotel itself is so close to what some claim to be the most consistent beach in the country that it's only a two minute walk to the waves. The food (order the tuna carpaccio with sesame oil) and service at the restaurant had improved dramatically on my second trip which is really a bonus because if it hadn't I don't think I would have cared. The place is awesome! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    45
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
55
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed two nights and the place was great. Very clean rooms and cool place to hang out and drink a beer after a long session in the ocean. Off season (May - November) rates are pretty good, peak season rates (December - April) are not so good. Location can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed at Kaya Sol for 15 day in March 2012. I had a poolside room there. It was cleaned almost every day and had everything that I needed for my surf trip to Playa Guiones. The food at their restaurant was great and I highly recommend the salads with fresh fish on them. My favorite was seared Ahi salad. I will return to this establishment in the future and I've been there 3 thimes before and was more than satisfied each time. This is not the Hilton but a basic clean place to stay. Leave your valuables in the lobby as you should do everywhere in Costa Rica. Enjoy your stay and get some great waves. Alan Walti, a surfer for 57 years

Room Tip: I like the rooms near the pool where everyone congregates during the day to socialize. It is quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApeonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

So close to the beach, many good restaurants, the "mini-super" for groceries... the location is epic. Staff is friendly, the on site restaurant is very good, and there is a pool with a unique slate bottom that keeps it cool even in the mid day heat! They offer accommodations for all price ranges, from hostel beds to large private rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our room was pretty basic. Typical cheap room in a surf hotel. I thought we had A/C but only a fan - no biggie but pretty smoking hot during our stay. The restaurant was good and the pool area was nice but small with only a few loungers. Nice ambiance overall. Do not stay here if you need things to be sparkling clean. Housekeeping is every 2 days - we stayed 3 and didn't see a housekeeper at all. This was not a problem as we are neat and tidy low impact travellers. I recommend this hotel for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.8 km away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.4 km away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.2 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.0 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.5 km away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KayaSol Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KayaSol Surf Hotel

Property: KayaSol Surf Hotel
Address: Norte Hotel Guilded Iguana 100 M, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,658 - ₹ 10,213
Hotel Class:2 star — KayaSol Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint family owned and operated hotel is located on the 200M Maritime Protected Zone. A 2 minute walk takes you to the best surf Guiones has to offer. We boast great prices & location; clean, comfortable, simple rooms; and our service is excellent. We are located on the non-commercialized end of the beach which gives you the tranquility you deserve yet puts you within walking distance to shops, restaurants & yoga. Come and enjoy the good life. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your KayaSol Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing