We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful heritage buildings”
Review of Olappamanna Mana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vellinezhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olappamanna Mana
Ranked #1 of 2 Vellinezhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I visited Olappamanna this summer while on vacation from school. We drove from Palakkad. The drive itself is beautiful and breath taking. The manna is very well preserved and Mrs Sridevi did a great job of explaining the functions of each room and article. The woodwork inside the manna is exquisite. The rooms at the home stay are clean and airy. Mr Damodaran is very knowledgeable and is a walking encyclopaedia of information about the manna and Namboothiris in general. Mrs Sridevis is an excellent cook. The couple is very hospitable and warm and you'll never want to leave Olappamanna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajeswariAdvaithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

There is a real surprise, pleassant and relaxing home stay in interior Palghat district of Kerala. In the middle of woods, forest and adjacent to river Kunthi, lies Olappamanna Home. If you are looking for a home stay with everything taken care, away from urbanized sounds and sites, you must find time to go to Olappamanna. It is easily reachable from Tamil Nadu and Kerala towns. Mr Damodaran's family welcomes you with a hospitable touch, provides the warmth and comfort of your own home there, inside their home which is centuries old. With the comforts of modern days and the taste of the last century, the home is a real treat to look around, walk around, relax, listen to the original sounds of forest and eat very tasty South Indian Brahmin food that is unique to Kerala and Tamil Nadu. Living close to the nature recharges us and nothing else could do that as well as that. Being with a family is very unique and no comparison could exist. Walking, hiking and climbing the steps gives natural exercise that people had for ages in India. I would visit there again whenever there is a chance.

Sivakumar

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SivakumarN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Olappamanna mana. An amazing stay with such gracious hospitality.
It was a home away from home. I was made feel most welcomed. Rustic and charming. Very clean and comfortable. Many little touches left a big impression, the little soaps, and toothpaste, to the numerous bottles of water (without even having to ask). You are well fed and looked after while still having your privacy. The home cooking will be the best food you will ever taste. Time & Care put into every dish. You feel part of the family rather than a paying guest. I had stayed in a few homtestays in Kerela, and this was the best of them all. I look forward to my next trip back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishDub30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed there during our honeymoon for two days. The stay there was a totally different experience.There is kundipuzha near by where u can take bath in morning.its truly a unique experience. The kalamezhuttum pattum conducted was also a nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharathChandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

As a European Indologist and linguist, I had the privilege to stay at Olappamanna Mana together with my colleague Professor Christophe Vielle from Louvain (Belgium) who had discovered the address through a laudatory report in a Kerala magazine a while ago. It was a true highlight of our 2-week-long expedition through Kerala, looking for traces of the German Jesuit Johann Ernest Hanxleden (1681-1732) who is known in South India as Arnos Padiri.
Between watching a movie being shot on the premises, the (almost) untouched natural setting, the brahmanical mana of the 17th-18th century and its amazing library, the tantric religious ceremony with the creation and destruction of a mandala image of the Goddess, the excellent vegetarian meals offered by our hosts, the insightful conversations on the porch, among other things about the old caturanga game… all these impressions are deeply buried in my memory.
On a more mundane level: excellent value for your money, and absolute calm if that is needed e.g. for a writing project or meditation.
Jean-Claude MULLER, First Government Councillor at the Luxembourg Prime Minister's Office and former Director of the National Library of Luxembourg

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MULLER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Olappamanna Mana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olappamanna Mana

Address: Main Road, Vellinezhi 679504, India
Region: India > Kerala > Palakkad District > Vellinezhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Vellinezhi
Price Range: ₹ 6,409 - ₹ 11,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olappamanna Mana is a 300year old home. It has unique architectureIt contributed to the development of the most popular form of Kathakali. It also gave birth to a lot of literary people, vedic scholars and snaskrit scholars.Finally it is a well known Cultural Center in Kerala ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olappamanna Mana Vellinezhi, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing