We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauritius service levels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Went there and felt was not in Tanzania, the whole time. It is an excellent place to relax. I would rate it an excellent hotel . Very similar service like mauritius.

Although the menu prices should be avoided for customers who pay for full board.

Room Tip: I would recommend the ones with the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvindmittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 564 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

So let me start with the basics. The Residence is just about 1 year old. They have three other hotels and have brought several senior managers from their resort in Mauritius. There are 66 individual villas, each of which is essentially a house with two massive rooms and a gigantic bathroom. Gorgeous furnishings and linens all the way around and your own private pool. We had three villas door-to-door which worked out brilliantly and made good use of their kids' club which was superb and included baking activities, face painting, visits with their bunnies, etc. The highlights were probably the big pool with its tempered glass end and initially, the extraordinary food. We spent a total of seven nights. The first night, they were full but you wouldn't know it. Room service is allowed for breakfast or for dinner so many people stay in their villas. Even at its height, no area ever felt crowded. Snorkel trips and water sports are all complimentary and we made use of both by the dock area. In the interest only of making the Residence perfect, here's our all-time shortest list of complaints: 1) inconsistent water policy. You get free water in your room or by the pool, but then have to pay through the nose for it at dinner or lunch. They should have a purifier and get rid of the ecologically unsound bottles and have water for free (especially in a tropical environment). 2) during our seven nights, we were offered the same menu twice. We complained to the chef and he apologized explaining that he would have made us whatever we wanted (had we complained earlier) and that because the average stay was 3-4 days, the menu ordinarily wouldn't repeat. 3) the guys working the water sports area are a step below in professionalism. One of them flirted with my wife asking if we lived in Dar and giving her a conch shell. Serious no-no. 4) The tiles in the bathroom and bedroom etc. are really, really slippery. Come out of your gorgeous pool with wet feet and seriously, you'll slip. There should be warnings and mats and perhaps full honing of the bathroom tiles (they're honed in the shower). 5) Outdoor shower is beautiful but it's cold water only. Come on -- add the hot, then people will use it. 6) There's a noticeable drop in service levels when the Mauritian management isn't around. Keep them there until the locals up their game. We noticed -- so minor -- that everyone was more likely to do the Residence arm-across-the-heart greeting when managers were around than when they weren't. Not that we cared, but it's all about consistency. 7) For all sorts of reasons, our checkout literally took hours. 8) No tv screens on the machines in the gym (we're gym rats!) I don't want to end on negative notes, just want the management to heed the advice herein -- nice note to end on: did I mention the fabulous afternoon tea infusions delivered to your room, the gorgeous spa and ice cream at the dock?

Room Tip: They're all good! Beach rooms with pools on the beach may actually be slightly less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jayinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Most amazing experience of my life- I spent 5 nights here with my family- husband and 9 y/o and 12 y/o - My brother and his family in the neighboring villa. They give each person in the villa a bicycle to use to get around - so fun!! We all biked to dinner every night. Hard to know where to even begin- staff was amazingly attentive. The villas are outstanding- bathrooms absolutely stunning w/ indoor /outdoor shower- the villa pools and the main pool stunningly beautiful.
The food overall was excellent- we were there for a great easter buffet and the food was over the top. The views and the beach gorgeous-
Can't say enough- oh yes and they had a great gym- I guess the only annoying thing was the power kept going off during my run on the treadmill- and at one point power never went back on. oh well-
Great room service also at no extra charge
Yummy afternoon tea sent to your room every afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have never ever been in a place so amazing like that!! I was so amazed by every thing!!!! Every thing is so amazing from child care to the pools to the rooms! It is worth every penny I used!!!

Room Tip: Any rooms is AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avery23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Residence, ive stayed in many Beach Resorts in Znz - but this is by far the best resort, just amazing, the rooms - mind blowing, the private deck and pool :) the main attraction of this hotel must be - the very polite and amazing always smiling staff (apart from one at the restaurant). just great - was there for 2 nights, (very short period of time - need to stay more :).
JUST GREAT...

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms have the best view of the beach/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnwerDhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
51.8 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,630 reviews
48.7 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
504 reviews
78.5 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.6 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,680 reviews
78.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
17.3 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range: ₹ 13,194 - ₹ 84,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing